Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 14 August 2017
Used to own this years ago - glad to have it back. Love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2000
One of Steeleye Span's most accessible and enjoyable albums, this rocks out promisingly with "One Misty Moisty Morning" complete with elegant wah-wah guitar from Bob Johnson. Other highlights include the crunching yet articulate "Alison Gross" and a scorching version of "Cam Ye o'er Frae France". "Weaver and the Factory Maid" is a vocal tour de force from Maddy, who has seldom been in better form. The album has its delicate hues as well, in "The Bold Poachers" and "Hares on the Mountain", but mostly this is a fine example of Folk Rock with the emphasis very much on Rock. Play it LOUD and enjoy!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Good condition, plays well. Was brilliant to be able to give my father a gift of something he never thought he'd own again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
This was the first Steeleye Span album that I ever bought. Along with Below the Salt, it has remained a personal favourite. A Parcel of Rogues is powerful, raw and passionate electric folk.

The musicianship is superb and Maddy Prior was never in better voice. Highlights are Cam ye oer frae France and Alison Gross. These two tracks are unsurpassed in the history of electric folk. The line up is, perhaps, classic Steeleye Span, Maddy Prior and Tim Hart, Bob Johnson, Peter Knight and Rick Kemp.

There is not a weak track here although Robbery With Violins can make you wince - but only for the title as the music itself is a Peter Knight showcase.

Treat yourself to a good dose of 70's Steeleye. You know it makes sense.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2007
All the lads were listening to Black Sabbath... but one of the GIRLS kept inflicting this album upon us- and I became encaptivated. What an absolutely fabulous discovery! I'd never heard anything quite like it before and I know for many it is Steeleye's finest album. The musical balance, recording quality and vocal harmonies are absolutely RIGHT.

"Misty Moisty Morning" has always seemed feeble in concert compared to this tight and melodic original version. Same with "Alison Gross" Sharp and disciplined. Elsewhere, Tim Hart's tremendous and unique vocal style on "Bold Poachers"

There simply isn't anything poor on the album. If you think "Bloody Men" is a five star album.. go listen to this and then write your review.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2009
In my opinion, Parcel of Rogues achieved the near impossible - it was even better than it's predecessor, the excellent "Below the Salt". From the uplifting "Misty Moisty Morning" to the dark, spooky "Alison Gross" via the pugnacious "Cam Ye O'er Frae France", this album showcases Steeleye at their very best. In my opinion, the standout track is "The Weaver and the Factory Maid", a haunting, hypnotic rhythm telling a tale of forbidden love in the dark days of the industrial revolution.

This was Steeleye Span at their very peak of performance, with Peter Knight's virtuoso fiddling, Bob Johnston's rocking guitar riffs, Maddy's soaring vocals perfectly complemented by Tim Hart's harmonies, and Rick Kemp's rich bass underpinning the whole show. Wonderful songs from history transposed into a modern rock setting by masters of their craft.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
First class early album brings back many an emotional memory,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2016
Pity the CD was not cheaper. Great album though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
I had this on vinyl from several years ago and remember it as a discovery at the time. Electric folk was a new concept, but the thing that sticks with me is the title track. Sung with a bit of passion. It wasn't quite the same as the original visit, but hardly anything is. I'll play it to my sons and see what they think. Maybe some of the tracks should come up as inheritance tracks on Radio 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
Here in this great collection, we are saturated with traditional folk material, with sailors, maids and maidenheads at every turn. The entire collection is very pleasing, and is worth striving to obtain, as I find that it is becoming a little difficult to get hold of, and is never cheap. However, a fine product is worth the outlay, wouldn't you say?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)