Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
Tragic Kingdom
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2017
Haven't stopped playing this album since I got it. Great to sing along to in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2017
Great album and a nice vinyl pressing. Comes with a black and white lyric sheet which is a nice addition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2004
well what can I say, this album is certainly catchy. At first when I got the album I never listened to it properly and just skipped from one track to the next, as you usually do when you get a new album... eager to hear a bit of each tracks, or to get to the most popular, as with this album it was "Don't Speak" ... which I don't think is the best, but its certainly fantastic! Gwen's voice is just splendid, she can really sing! She really shows this in songs such as "Don't Speak", "Different People", "Just a Girl" and "Tragic Kingdom"... My favourite being "Different People"... mainly because it has such a fabulous rhythem, as do all the songs on this album. The instrumental work in this album is certainly all talent, because they use the instruments so beautifully, the wide variety of instruments used just give the music a totally different, refreshing, catchy sound, which I think makes the band what they are.
Other songs to take note of are "Just a girl", which was another popular song of this album, I would call it exceptional. They have managed to use alernative rock in a way that doesn't sound annoying or irratating. The Chorus is very catchy and the use of electronic keyboard in this album is very smart!
"Sunday Morning" is also a very catchy song, isn't it ironic how the catchy songs are always the most popular? hehe, well this has a very smooth rhythem, the chorus is very catchy with Gwen certainly expelling and expressing her voice in a fantastic way!
"Don't speak" seems like it shouldn't be on this album, because its quite different from the rest of the songs on this album... its got a slower beat, but the lyrics are beautiful and Gwens voice is just gorgious in this song, so silky and soft.
"Tragic Kingdom" is an unusual song; starts off like the voice which comes through the speakers on fair ground rides "Please don't stand up, the ride is about to begin"... and the song starts... a very wonky song, with a dramatic, suprised beat.
To sum up the whole album, its absolutely fantastic, some songs are far better than others, but what else can I say, not many bands can achieve every song to be absolutely perfect... A definate for any No Doubt fans, this album is a sign post of this bands uprisal into fame, some great classics!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2001
No Doubt..Oh it's just another ska/punk band..err..wrong. No Doubt are one of the best kept secrets from the later 80's and through the 90's. Tragic Kingdom has just gotta be one of the best albums ever made. It's just packed full of energy with every song, all of which are completley different to each other. From Spidersweb..a really get up and dance till you drop kinda song to Just A Girl to my personal favoruite Different People..To the fantastic Sixteen and Sunday morning to Don't Speak finishing off with Tragic Kingdom..It's full of power and emmotion. With Gwen..using her voice which is amazing to win over me at least, Tony is a fantastic bassits, and being one myself i love playing the songs live it's such a joy. The keyboardist is fantastic and i love playing the parts as well as the guitar. With break beats, interesting rhythms. This isn't Ska Punk this is Punk even this is No Doubt..they have their own style, I've looked high and low for another band like em..but I guess Less Than Jake will have to do.Return of Saturn is a fantastic follow up, but Tragic Kingdom holds a very special place in my heart and stis pride of place next to my Chili Pepppers, Rage and NIN albums..buy it now you just have to and clear your room so you can dance the nite away...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2017
I’ve always regarded ‘Tragic Kingdom’ as a great album, but after listening to it again; I think this is up there with the greatest Ska-Punk albums. Gwen Stefani’s overblown vocals are great, but not to everyone’s tastes. The variety across the album is great too, with various tempos and emphasis on the ska or punk elements. “Spiderwebs” opens the album and has the right combination of tempo, funk and catchiness. You have the massive hits “Just A Girl”, and “Don’t Speak” which are true 90’s classics. “Different People” has a great bass groove; which is ska through and through. “Sunday Morning” has you nodding your head; I love the chorus - great backing vocals. It’s a really long album too, just shy of an hour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2000
I bought this CD when I heard Don't Speak because that song alone was a good enough reason for me to buy it. To my surprise, every other song on this album was equally as good. The tracks are all excellent and different from each other. I just can't believe that they don't get much recognision over here. Since I bought this album, I have bought all of No Doubt's albums and they are all brilliant, although Tragic Kingdom is my favourite. Anyone who buys this album will be putting in orders for the others soon after because it's just that good!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2000
This is such an awesome album! I bought the cassette 3 years ago and I played It so much, I wore it out. Gwen Stefani has a unique voice that's perfect for both high energy lyrics ("Just a Girl", "Spiderwebs") and ballads(Don't Speak). If you loved this cd, definitely check out Beacon St. Collection. You may wanna check out their self-titled debut, but only if you seriously love their other music
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2002
if you haven't already got this album i advise you to buy it as soon as possible. it is really worth owning and you will not be dissapointed. Sureley you people remember how No doubt exploded on to the music scene with Don't speak, Just a girl and Spiderwebs. This album has those songs plus 11 more. The music is exceptional. Gwens voice is fantastic, and this album is a complete classic, and it is officially a classic judging by the number of copies it has sold (something like 17 million worldwide). This album boasts a rock vibe with wicked guitars and gwens screaming voice, a ska horn section, and pop hooks. Since buying this album, no other albums have had such an effect on me
Standout tracks are Spiderwebs, Just a girl, Different people, Don't speak and Sunday morning.
Buy this album now!
and maybe think about buying another No doubt album. They are really worth the money (apart from maybe their first self titled one). But start off with this one.
Buy it! It is rare to find an album as epic and classic as this.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Golden (Deluxe Edition)
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)