Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Contains all the B-sides and other live tracks, as well as the original album, which makes me so happy to have :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Heard a part of 'Great Things' on Never Mind the Buzzcocks, where Debbie briefly appeared. Got to know more. Grabbed this and the 'On' albumn. Fantastic. Very rare I encounter an albumn that's a treat to listen to from beginning to end. Rare mix of great art and entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
yay!! :LOve it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 September 2017
Listening again to Echobelly’s 1994 debut album more than 20 years down the line I find there is still a good deal to recommend it. OK, so the album does sound somewhat derivative, but which bands in the Britpop era didn’t? Interestingly, one of the influences here appears to have been fellow Britpoppers Suede – well, at least their guitarist Bernard Butler, if the power riffs on songs such as Insomniac, Call Me Names, Today Tomorrow Sometime Never and Father, Ruler, King Computer are anything to go by. Perhaps more unusually, the latter two songs focused on the constraining influence of lead singer Sonya Madan’s Indian cultural heritage and Madan stamps a defiantly individualist authority on these songs, rather like band-influencer (and fan), Morrissey. Indeed, two of the strongest songs here, the singles I Can’t Imagine The World Without Me and Bellyache, are stylistically similar to The Smiths – with the former being right up Mozzer’s street, subject-wise, of course, whilst the latter could almost be taken as Madan’s equivalent of How Soon Is Now, such is the song’s level of rhythmical complexity and invention (and Madan’s singing style, something of an acquired taste, I’ll admit, has similar intonations to that of the Manc son). Overall, therefore, for me, not in the same league as (from the period) the likes of Suede, The Auteurs or Pulp, but nevertheless still a worthy (and rocking) album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2004
Echobelly's first, and best, album is a little known gem. This album may not have the well known singles of On but it is a far more complete album. It starts with the raucous, triumphant Generations and is filled with classic Brit Pop melodies - some of which are real "growers". It ends with the glorious final track, Scream, which is Champagne Supernova-esque. To anyone with a love of mid-90s indie or just great guitar pop songs this is a real treat, especially if you can give it a bit of time.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
What more could you want...
One of the best albums of the past few decades in my book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
Great album of the Britpop era - and in response to the previous reviewer, they are still together and have produced 5 albums to date..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2007
I remember seeing this band at The Reading Festival way back in the early 90's and thinking how great they were. And have had the album ever since then, and still play it on and off, basically a great and non dated album by a group who should have gone on further than 2 albums.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
fabulous cd . after finding the cd ON at a friends house and listening to that , had to find out what else they have . Not dissapointed .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)