Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2012
An extremely enjoyable if at times slightly self-indulgent live album.

Bloomfield and Kooper compliment each other superbly as many years later did Clapton and Winwood.

Mike Bloomfield is simply the gutsiest and soulful of all the non African American guitarists.He enhances the great tradition of BB and Freddie King,Buddy Guy et al,adding a Jewish soul to the Blues.

Al Kopper has been the catalyst for many Rock movements incuding Jazz Rock with Blood Sweat and Tears,and is of course most famous for his organ part on Bob Dylan's Like A Rolling Stone amongst many other Dylan tracks of the period.

There is length to this album,giving time for the solos to gestate that only Jazz albums usually have.

If you enjoy great playing ,marvelous interplay backed up by a superb rhythm section,this will not disappoint !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Got this on vinyl a million years ago but alas nothing to play it on, so reliving my younger days with this and other classics on CD. Great atmosphere with this live recording, and yes they really did speak like that back then.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
This is an excellent record of 3 nights of jamming at the Fillmore, with Carlos Santana and Elvin Bishop replacing Mike Bloomfield, who was taken ill after the first night.

I guess rehearsals for the first night were few, and for the subsequent ones, non-existent! However, the musicians know each other well, and are obviously familiar with the songs, so it's a case of "hold tight, and we'll meet at the end"!

Quite a range of material in the Bloomfield section (which is most of the album), which perhaps you wouldn't expect from a man with such a strong blues background (although he had, of course, worked with Dylan as well). Some nice guitar solos, and some very sensitive rhythm playing. Al Kooper has a great Hammond organ sound, although in one or two places he experiments with what sounds like a Moog Synthesizer, which I'm not sure works too well! The rhythm section are well up to the job, and hold things together nicely.

Interesting to hear Santana on the track "Sonny Boy Williamson" (which was the b-side of a Paul Jones single!). He plays some nice blues, but it's unmistakeably Santana!

Elvin Bishop doesn't do it for me, so it's just as well he's only on 1 track (as is Santana). His lead playing for me is nothing special, and there are some rather horrible bum notes!He replaced Bloomfield in the Butterfield band, but is not in the same class.

Overall, however, I think it is a really enjoyable album, and a great document of it's time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These 2 CDs cover exactly what it was like in the 'live' music scene in the late 1960s.
Musicians were open to new ideas, they cared about each other and even shared their women and guitars.

Even the sound and general sloppiness give it an authentic feel.
Mike Bloomfield is the star of the shows and his amazing guitar playing flows and fills in the spaces of the music.
I loved Super Sessions and I love this Live document.
It is a shame the master tapes appear to be lost forever so there is no new music here.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
It is nice to hear a pair of professionals who just start playing and instinctively know where to go next, I wish there were more like them on the go nowadays. thanks
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
The Live Adventures of Mike Bloomfield and Al Kooper is one of the most enjoyable albums of the 20th Century! I first heard it in 1970 and just had to hear this album again. It is even better than their super session recordings in the studio.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
Okay, today this still stands out as one of the great live albums from the 1960s. I am 60 years old and believe me when I say that Mike Bloomfield was second only to Hendrix! Yes Eric Clapton couldn't touch mike, The sweetest guitar ever. He did plY on the entire Dylan Highway 61 Album. His runs are wonderful. Mr Kooper is the guy who brought the whole Super Session thing
together. Played organ on Like A Rolling Stone, so another Dylan guy. Kooper also was the main force in The Blurs Project. This album needs to be played in it's entiire lenght at all times. Enjoy
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Good example - excellent quality to sound considering some live tracks. Compilation of well chosen tracks demonstrating their strong bond.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
A great album that I first heard many years ago in vinyl form. One that I have wanted for some time now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
This was a 'vinyl replacement' item so I already knew (and liked) the music. Great nostalgia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)