Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
26
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2000
Released in 1970, this album is the most accessible of Syd's solo efforts. His fluid electric guitar style is a lot more prominent here than on "Madcap Laughs," The best track is the superb "Gigolo Aunt" which hasn't dated a day since it was first released. A must have for any music collection.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2003
This album is pleasant to listen to, but I would not buy it as your only barrett album. Barret does not attack the songs and they are generally less good than in The Madcap Laughs. I would only buy this album after getting Barrett's other solo and pink floyd stuff.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2003
Overall, more together than "Madcap" production-wise, but the songs pretty much the same quality. "Dominoes" perhaps the saddest song Barrett has ever written, alongside gems such as "Baby Lemonade", "Gigolo Aunt", "Wined and Dined" and "Effervescing Elephant". It is such a pity that Syd never continued, but it simply didn't interest him anymore. Therefore you have to respect the man for it. Shine on Roger - we will always miss you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2001
I think it's a strong album. I havent heard Opel which are outtakes that was released in 1988 but Barrett is great music. After the quiet (madcap laughed) barrett is a strong, fun album to listen to. From "efervescent elephant" to "love song", it's 5 stars for me.
Thank you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
It's Barrett's legacy, a superb collection of great songs, from the melodic fantasies of Baby Lemonade and Love Song to the blues of Rats and Maisie.
This is a good reissue, included of bonus tracks. A precious gift from the unforgettable co-founder of Pink Floyd.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
i Bought this for my wife even though this is her account, i was disappointed by the quality of the vinyl, this was badly pressed it has a lot of surface noise even scratches, even looks like it been played before, my wife is a big Floyd Fan and as me (her husband) and my wife prefer vinyl as we are old enough to remember the 1st time this album was released.

I Should have sent it back as soon as i could have but we still own it, thats the only thing with buying vinyl on line you don't know what condition it's in, you can't check it like the good old days in a record shop, but we've bought quite a bit of vinyl off Amazon and this is the first bad quality lp we've received.
We'll keep buying vinyl of the internet as this the way to go these days...i prefer going to the (2nd hand) record shop at lease then if it's damaged when you play it you can take it back a get another one (if in stock) or your money back straight away or your not waiting for the post man... i bet there's lots of record collector miss them days of routing through the record racks.
The album as it is is a great album, just i've received a bad pressing the 2 stars are for the poor quality it was in (manufactured) otherwise it would have been 5 stars i not blaming the seller its the manufactures im blaming.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Syd Barrett's sparkle and freshness is stodgily produced here. Everything he does here is fine, but producer Dave Gilmour's commitments to his Pink Floyd dates meant that he was obliged to treat this record as of secondary importance. Most of the tracks have the group sound overdubbed on to a backing track featuring Barrett's acoustic guitar and song, with the resulting track being turgid and thick. Pink Floyd's piano doesn't suit him either except on Love Song where it sounds like a harpsichord. The best tracks are the ones in which the track is created from the start with the group present (Maisie, Gigolo Aunt, both of which are essential).

I was disappointed that the song Wolfpack did not end with the sound of nocturnal wolves howling back at the singer as the mists of organ faded away, and instead we get elephant noises at each end of Effervescing Elephant which doesn't add to that song (nor does the tuba overdubbed on it) and the production misses the wit of the song, which is in the contrast between its lightweight brevity and the massive bulk of its subject. The bonus track acoustic guitar version works better.

Dave Gilmour's overdubbed bass often sounds self-conscious and stilted and usually doesn't work well except in Rats and the two tracks in which the whole group is present at the start. I wish EMI would attempt a remixed, cleaned up version.

This album has some essential things on it but it often feels like listening to Barrett through a muddy windscreen. I would recommend Madcap and Opel first.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2000
THE LAST UTTERANCES OF SYD BARRETT IN THE MUSIC WORLD. CREATED WHEN HE WAS AT HIS MOST DYSFUNCTIONAL, THIS ALBUM BOASTS DAVID GILMOUR AS PRODUCER COAXING THE LAST OF SYDS CREATIVE FIRE BEFORE IT BURNT OUT. HOWEVER IT CONTAINS SOME OF HIS MOST COMPREHENSIVE WORK: GIGOLO AUNT WITH HIS BEST SOLO GUITAR WORK, HIS OWN TAKE ON BELLOCS CAUTIONARY VERSES WITH AN EFFERVESCING ELEPHANT, AND THE SUBLIME DOMINOES. THE ONLY POINTER TO SYDS PERSONAL COLLAPSE COMING IN WOLFPACK, HIS PERSONAL FAVOURITE ON THE ALBUM. MADNESS NEVER SOUNDED SO APPEALING.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 October 2005
If "The Madcap Laughs" is Barrett's night on the booze, "Barrett" is the morning after. The upside is that on some tracks he sounds as if he's drunk enough coffee to give a coherent, if fragile performance. This is so on "Dominoes", "Gigolo Aunt" and "Wined And Dined". What he's short on are the transcending moments of beauty that flit in and out of the previous album. Not that they're totally absent: the opening guitar on "Baby Lemonade" is lovely, while his eccentric lyrical style occasionally throws up vivid images.
The overall band sound is similar to "The Madcap Laughs". But where there was lightness there is now much darkness, no more so than on "Rats" and the disturbing vocal delivery on "Maisie". The one light-hearted moment is provided by "Effervescing Elephant", but as Barrett wrote it years before fame chewed him up, you can discount it as a sign of hope.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
I find the Barrett stuff fun but a bit more psychedelic than is my usual preference. However, still a necessary part of any Pink Floyd fan's collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)