Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
130
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.67+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I have always been a fan of alternative rock, The Smashing Pumpkins are one of my favourite bands that fit into that category, their first two albums were good, but their third: 'Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness' is an absolute masterpiece.

It is not an easy task to put together a quality double album and pull it off, more often or not it is a even mixture of good songs and filler (sometimes consisting more of the latter), but this is one of those rare exceptions. As soon as I started playing this album, I was blown away from the start. Perhaps the best known songs are the wonderful, orchestral 'Tonight, Tonight', and the hard rock gem 'Bullet With Butterfly Wings'. There is something for everyone, there are some many different styles to choose from, from heavy rock to mellower tracks and gorgeous ballads. There is a perfect balance of styles and the lyrics by the singer Billy Corgan, who can sing such a variety of songs effortlessly, have so much meaning and depth. The album spawned hit singles (including the aforementioned) and a Grammy win to boot.

With a total of 28 songs, to say that this was an ambitious project was an understatement, but The Smashing Pumpkins released their greatest, never-to-be beaten work with 'Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness'. Buy it immediately for it is truly an amazing album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
I won't comment on the music itself only the audio quality and the recording itself. It's great, as good as the original copy I had almost 20 years ago. Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Poor quality of the record. Various instruments and vocals seem to recorded be with different level of loudness. Terrible to listen to. Dropped to the bottom of my drawer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
This is one of my favourite smashing pumpkins albums. Mine is damaged so I got this to replace it. Perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Dispatch arrived far before EDT, cass, cds, inlays in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Grreat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2005
This has become a very personal album to me. I can remember the day i bought it and coming home and playing it for the first time and being blown away. I'd never heard an album like it and i don't think i have since.
The first song (the title track)is a gorgeous opener and will seduce you right away with its beautiful piano melody. It's then followed by tonight, tonight, again a beautiful song and then just as you've started getting comfortable you're greeted with the crushing heaviness of the opening riff from jellybelly.Of course Corgan never just relies on heavy riffage alone, the chorus in jellybelly (particularly the last one) soars and confirms what a brilliant and ambitious songwriter he is. Probably the best of his generation at the time he wrote this album.
This whole album is about balance, for every hard riff there is a beautiful melody. There is so much depth to this album, no emotion seems to be left out and it really is a journey of many ups and downs. I personally love the way that at the end of the album as the dying chords of the last song begin to melt away you hear a similar piano melody to the one at the beginning of the album so that you feel you've come full circle, only this time you have this whole journey behind you, and all the emotions you have felt from listening to these songs, from this journey. Somehow it all sounds different now.
This is truly an album, rather than a collection of songs. Although each song is individually enjoyable it is the overall impression this album leaves you with. Every track is very different, varying in pace, style and sound and yet there seems to be a common thread that links them all. a common message. what that is I dont know. The only think i can link it to is life itself, all the different moods and the journey that this album seems to evoke only to end up at the beginning again. but thats just me. I get the feeling that billy corgan would want this album to mean something specific to whoever hears it as i'm sure it all means something specific to him.
I love this album and it astounds me everytime i think about it and everytime i hear it. This is what music is supposed to do, tap into your soul and make you feel something beautiful inside of yourself, something thats too wonderul to describe in this review but i hope i have at least given you a glimpse.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
I adore Mellon Collie. It's utterly bonkers, especially in today's sanitised modern download age. The Smashing Pumpkins' finest hour, Mellon Collie shows the talent of Billy Corgan at it's creative peak, churning out brilliant alternative rock songs for fun. Most of the Pumpkins' classics are to be found on this album, showcasing their vast range of stylistic talents. "Bullet With Butterfly Wings", "Tonight, Tonight", "Jellybelly", "Zero", "Bodies", "1979", "Stumbleine", "Here is No Why" all of them are crammed onto the two discs of Mellon Collie.

It's 28 tracks aren't all perfect, as you'd have to expect with an album of this size. If anything, this adds to the character of the album. There isn't much filler, but what filler there is generally showcases over-ambition, a character trait that is rare in today's rock scene (or the entire music world in my opinion.) Personally, I find the second disc (Twilight to Starlight) to be marginally stronger than the first, feeling more focused but the more famous songs, by and large are to be found on disc one (Dawn to Dusk).

Albums like this prove the naysayers that the 90's were a Limp Bizkit filled dirge, awash with boybands, girlbands and shiny, autotuned pop. Along with Nirvana's "Nevermind", "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness" is the joint finest rock album of the 1990's and one of the very greatest ever produced. It's ambition should be applauded, the guts of including acoustic ballads alongside piano led instrumentals to fit around the blistering riff driven rock. The artwork and inserts are beautifully unique in their softly painted style, as is the designs adorning each disc.

Perhaps when those who decide trends set upon a nineties revival, this album will be elevated to the status it deserves. It should be in the top ten of any magazine or website's best album lists. Sadly I've yet to see it mentioned. Embrace ambition, embrace talent at it's most precocious, bombastic and gutsy. Buy and love Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2001
I stumbled across the Smashing Pumpkins. I was at Reading Festival in 1995 the year that this album was released. Seeing a band live without knowing a single bar of any song has the potential to be taxing but I was amazed by them
I brought this CD on my return and it has not been far from my CD player since over the next six years. I have since added just about every song they have ever released but this double album stands out for me as defining what makes them what they are....and that is impossible to label !
It is impossible to pin the Smashing Pumpkins down and this album shows why. The range of songs is incredible. From the twinkling piano that opens the album into the soaring "Tonight Tonight" complete with string orchestra you are off and running on a musical journey that will include just about anything.
To comment on every song becomes impossible. The contradictions and ironies abound - every song is so different yet each compliments the next so perfectly. Huge choruses as in "Here is no why", powerful guitars in "Zero", haunting melodies in "To Forgive", you live each track, almost impossible to pick a favourite or to skip a track.
Where I disagree slightly with some of the other reviews is over the second CD. While some feel it is not as strong, I think it is if anything even stronger.
The tracks "Bodies" which will unfortunately leaving you singing "love is suicide", "33" , In the arms of sleep" and "1979" follow, one gem after the other. Again all are so different, with "33" and in the arms of sleep" combining beautiful lyrics and haunting vocals into simply wonderful songs, while 1979 is as close as the Pumpkins come to writing a pop song !
After those four your mellowness is blown away by a beast of a track "Tales of a scorched earth" which sounds as angry and desparate as anything I've heard.
The album never settles into a rut or a pattern. The waves roll you on through the whimsical "We only come out at night" to the touching and aptly named "Beautiful".
Into the close of the album you can start to relax....."Lily", "By Starlight" and "Farewell and Goodnight" wind down the album, being as far removed from some of the hard rock songs as you could imagine.
Corgan was called many unpleasant things for putting out an album with 28 songs that stretch over two hours. Quite simply though there is no such thing as a filler on this, from track one to track 28 you will be delighted.
If you want a place to start with the Pumpkins I suggest this.....then if you prefer the melodies head in Adore's direction.....if you prefer the rock head for Siamese Dream and Machina. You like all of it as I do and you'll buy the lot !
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
The genius of Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness is its sheer scope. It establishes the Pumpkins as a genre in their own right and, thus is like no other album. The name of the album and tracks and the sleeve artwork set the tone for what I've always considered a melodrama in musical form. The songs deal with love, despair and anger in equal measures, whilst there are enough life-affirming moments ("you're not same you're different tonight/and you can make it last forever") to ensure that not everything is doom and gloom.
By and large however, Mellon Collie is a dark album - either it breaks your heart - e.g. the beautiful Stumbleine or desparate In the Arms of Sleep; or it tears it out in a maelstrom of raging distortion (this album is at times the sonic representation of the brutality of warfare) - e.g. Tales of a Scorched Earth or XYU - sometimes it does both at the same time - e.g. Bodies.
The lyrics are some of the greatest ever to have been written, proof of that fact evident in the evocative 1979, Muzzle and Thirty three - there's even some dark humour in the quirky Lily (my one and only) Incidentally, I've read a lot of reviews that regard the first disc to be superior to the second. In my opinion this is not the case - Bodies, Thirty-three, Arms of sleep, 1979 - and I could go on - combined with the subtle Beautiful and delicate Farewell and Goodnight make Twighlight to Starlight a superb album in its own right.
If you like intelligent, skillfully performed rock, Mellon Collie is for you. It is music for the soul, an album that transports you to its own world and sets you adrift in a sea of raw emotion. Buy it now, avail yourself of everything else the Pumpkins have produced, and keep an eye out for Billy Corgan's new solo album in the hopefully not too distant future.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.90
£8.26

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)