Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Not bad but not a patch on Mk1 and 2 Rainbow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
being a big fan of dio era rainbow,read some reviews of this album and took a chance on it,glad i did,it is superb,if like me your a dio fan then you will love this album,forget since "you've been gone" "i surrender" etc,this is the buisiness,"hall of the mountain king" and the reworking of "still i'm sad" are the gems,excellent.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Rainbow best era will always be the first four album and especially the three classic with Ronnie James Dio, but this album is a great one too, that some fans may overlooked it because they think it is bad.
It always a pleasure to listen to Ritchie Blackmore's material, and i must say this album can be heard in loop.
There are many good songs, no fillers at all, and it highly recommended for all rock n' roll fans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Good to hear Ritchie paying well on this. I first saw Richie play live in Deep Purple mark 2, time and again - Albert Hall, Festival Hall, city gigs and many more. I have never seen, nor will I ever see again, a more original and gifted guitarist. His playing is outstanding, dazzling even. Live, he leaves you in a thrall. He is the greatest guitarist I have ever known, and I have seen some good ones. Good CD.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
i love all rainbow but have only recently heard about this cd, which is the i think the last rainbow ever made. it was featured on the showcase channel on sky in the heyday series when they did a full review of rainbow's music. the singer is dougie white who has a rougher rock voice than joe lynn turner or dio but the songs are more dioesque in style and lyrically. i really enjoyed it although it was a bit derivative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
classic 80s rainbow
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Bought on the strength of other reviews. My question is have these reviewers listened to the earlier Rainbow albums? There really is no contest. This really is not very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 years after 'Bent Out of Shape' Blackmore revived Rainbow with a cast of 'nobodys'? certainly i'd never heard of any of them but what a band, especially singer Doogie White,easily the best vocalist after Dio that the bands had.I have no hesitation in stating that this is the best Rainbow album since the heady days of 'Rising' and 'Long Live Rock N Roll',yes its that good.

The album bursts into life from the moment 'Wolf To The Moon' charges from the speakers quickly followed by the thundering 'Cold Hearted Woman',2 tracks which easily could have been from the Dio era,up next the fantastic 'Hunting Humans' another which could easily have come from Dio's fantasy lyric book,'Stand and Fight' drags us back to the best of the J L Turner days before 'Ariel' swaggers out of the speakers with its Zeppelin riff and a first glimpse at the vocal prowess of Candice Night,a magnificent piece of music which is a definite highpoint,'Too Late For Tears' (a dig at Gillan and Purple? perhaps)whisks you back to the 'Down to Earth' days and you realise that in Doogie White Blackmore had unearthed a vocalist that could convincingly cover all era's.
The pace is unrelenting and 'Black Masquerade' reminds all Purple fans what the band was lacking and once 'Silence' has strutted it stuff you could die happy knowing the Blackmore and Rainbow were back on form,with the exception of 'Perfect Strangers' this was the best work Blackmore had done in the last 15 years or so,could it get any beter,well actually it could because the last 2 tracks are on a par with anything he'd recorded with Rainbow in the past,namely the outstanding 'Hall of the Mountain King',i defy anyone not to like that track and headbang as it speeds up while the final track ,a reworking of 'Still Im Sad', just blows the original from the debut album out of the water,simply superb guitar playing,phew,i've waited a long time to write this review,sadly not many people/fans/critics agreed and the album was roundly panned,Blackmore took his guitar and headed off into the hills with future wife in tow and formed the excellent Blackmores Night,great band,great music, but i long for him to return to the rock world and release another classic album,if it happens Doogie White must be the first band member rehired,take a chance buy this,its excellent
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2007
It's difficult to believe this album was not critically acclaimed, I could only give it 5 stars but it's worth 10.

I would suggest that the reviewer named A Customer treats him/herself to a new sound system

In my opinion it's the best Rainbow album since Rising.. Doogie White is like a cross between Graham Bonnet and Joe Lynn Turner..another example of Ritchie's ability to spot great talent.

This is just a brilliant rock album..what are you waiting for?
Order it now, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)