Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2015
I never listened to Elastica till 2007...I knew the band name from here and there, but wasn't really aware of what they were all about.

Their first album, 5 years before their second is a much more song based affair where as their second is mostly sounds and less about the songs.

I think both are just as strong but there is something about this one which has those guitar riffs and songs that match well.
Its a shame the band didn't follow it up sooner in 96 or 97 or even 98...they took their time and lost the plot.

Its a good record, and the b sides are great too and probably might of made better tunes actually such as See that animal, Spastica and Rock Un Roll.

Justine decided fame was not her thing and disappeared to become a painting artist...however and confirming nothing of course, there is evidence that the band themselves may indeed be returning with the original line up from this album in 2017...whether this means a new record, touring, some shows who knows...but its good news anyway.

Its a shame they only did two records but it seems they ran out of energy ideas and drugs ruined the group and made them lazy.
So don't do drugs...and keep writing those songs lads...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Classic album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Arrived in a couple of days. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like this record! I know everyone goes on about how Justine only got signed because she was dating Damon... but I have no way of assessing the truth of that, so instead - here's a thought - let's just listen to the record and see whether it's any good! That said - it's not as good as I remember it being first time around. I got it again in a fit of nostalgia and I think it will probably stay something I listen to now and then...
For me there are some weak songs on here but there are also some really good tracks ( I really like 'S.O.F.T' and 'Stutter') - and some really funny lyrics - I still love the 'in every little Honda, there may lurk a Peter Fonda' line - tee hee! As an album - it's not on my Desert Island list but it's definitely one I'd listen to again if I got rescued.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2004
Elastica's debut album is one of the most underrated albums of the Britpop era. They were written off because Justine was dating Damon, so everybody saw them as nothing but a bunch of cash in chancers.
From the opening track, Line Up to the brilliant final song Stutter, this album simply roars past you at real speed. 15 Songs in 38 minutes, and they manaqe to go from all out pop rock like Waking Uo and Blue, to beautifully written atmospheric tracks like Never Here and Hold Me Now.
Its sad that Justine is still seen as "Blur Indoors" by many, but this debut album is simply too good to ignore. The lyrics range from flirtatious humour like in Car Song, to the lonliness of Never Here. The songs are catchy pop/rock tracks, but unlike most Britpop it doesn't sound like yesterdays news.
Its a shame Elastica never really followed this album up, but there is enough to enjoy on this debut album to allow us to forgive them for that. Nine years on and this is still a real favourite of mine, and if you can ignore all the media snipings at Justine for having a famous boyfriend at the time the album was released then you will be listening to a seriously underrated and quite brilliant album.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Elastica were Britpop's first female fronted band, and along with the pioneering Blur and Seude, were part of the very small few to have emerged from the very birth of the era. Justine Frischmann, a former member of Suede who then became Blur's Damon Albarn's former girlfriend was the group's lead singer, and quickly hailed as Britpop royalty,

Whereas a lot of groups from the Britpop movement were influenced by the English bands who made their name in the Sixties, Elastic were inspired by the punk-rock sound from late-Seventies, and wore such influences on their sleeves. Two studio albums were released, and their eponymous debut, released in 1995, remains an essential work from the era, and still sounds great today. 'Elastica' became the fastest-selling debut in UK chart history, and contains 15 fast-paced, punchy and hectic punk tracks, tolling up to just under 40 minutes in length.

Elastica's winning formula was really very simple, consisting of catchy guitar hooks and singalong choruses, with the song's lyrics generally, like Blur, describing the feelings towards modern life, drinking, drugs, sex, and other relatable personal thoughts both good and bad. The great Damon Albarn plays keyboards on the record, and his presence can be felt throughout this which spawned the band's biggest hit singles, 'Line Up', 'Connection', and the irresistible 'Waking Up, which remains their most popular song, distend to have played frequently on radio stations.Other highlights for myself include 'Blue', 'All-Nighter', and the closing 'Stutter', which was also the first single, but there isn't a track that I'd deliberately skip past.

The 'Elastica' album is an important part in the history of Britpop, and although it's rather underrated now, deserves to be heard by anyone who enjoys this sound, which was particularly similar to contemporary bands like Sleeper and Echobelly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Well, being a 60's person I've owned a large number of great albums but this is one of the best and I listen to it very, very often. It's the musical equivalent of the Himalayas, a series of high points with a some extremely high. Waking Up and Stutter are superb. I never tire of this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2003
I would give this album 10 stars if i could. It's hard to express how many times i have listened to it since i bought it when i was 12 i think, now im 21 and this album still kicks ass. Almost 10 years old and however dated the whole new wave of new wave debate was, this band, and this album can never sound dated.
Punky-fast and fun(vaseline, blue) but still raw and beautiful (smile/hold me now)my fave song on this album is stutter, as i never listened to it as it was the last sonmg on the slbum until i was 15, i was soooo angry that i had missed years of loving the best song on the album.
It sounds like nothing and everything, blondie and wire are obvious comparisons, but the humour is fantastic (car song/waking up) and heartbreak is traumatic (never here/2:1).
The only thing i regret is that there is no more elastica.
But this album and remember that britpop was a media created farce, the decent bands shone!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2000
This is very good indeed. "Never here" is one of the best songs I ever heard. At the first the I heard it, I kept listening to it for 45 minutes straight. And even now if I hear it, I'm hardly ever able to hear it just once. I just have to hit repeat. There are many classic songs on this albums, like "Stutter" and "Waking up". Short and powerful songs. Yes this is definitely one of the best albums I own.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.63

Need customer service? Click here