Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
39
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
Excellent will use this seller again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
crap apart from Jagger's version of Long Black Veil. Strange but true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
What I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
The chieftains were way too nice letting their muso mates play with them. They turned the chieftains from potcheen into bland blended own brand whisky.
I've deleated this album from my chieftains collective..wish I could the same with my memory!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a terrific CD, with its wild meld of celtic, pop, folk, and country strains. The Chieftains, accompanied by such music greats as Sting, Mick Jagger, Sinead O'Connor, The Rolling Stones, Marianne Faithfull, Tom Jones, Van Morrison, among others...who would have thought such an assemblage would result in such a cohesive recording of such wildly divergent music? Of particular note are Sting's mournful rendition of "Mo Ghile Mear" and Sinead O'Connor's stylization of "The Foggy Dew" and "He Moved Through The Fair". Mick Jagger also does justice to "A Long Black Veil". This CD is simply a great recording overall!
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
I love Celtic music and have been thinking of buying the Chieftain's music for years. Well I finally got around to it and believe me it was well worth it. I enjoyed every minute of this album, favourite tracks are, 'Have I told you that I love you' and 'The Lily of the West'. I also bought 'Santiago' and 'The Wide World Over'. All three albums are a good buy. The title song on this album 'The Long Black Veil is one that I have known for years as it was one of my favourite songs sung by Johnny Cash and that is what attracted me to this album in the first place.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2001
This CD certainly proves that The Chieftains have friends in high places! This album is packed full of rock stars (Mick Jagger, Sting, Sinead O' Connor, Van Morrison, Mark Knopfler, Tom Jones and Marianne Faithfull) singing traditional Irish songs. This is an interesting album and the songs do work better than I expected them too. This is a lively collection of songs and none of the artists sound out of place, but I think I would still prefer hearing these songs sung by folk singers. Nonetheless this is a good introduction to The Chieftain's style of music and an essential buy if you are a fan of the artists involved.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Chieftens good as always but some of the guest perfomances could be better.
Will not be playing this very often
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Long Black Veil CD. The Chieftains. Six time Grammy Award winners, the Chieftains, boast a career of more than 50 years as of 2012, and more than 100 albums. The Irish musical group has been widely recognized for reinventing Irish music on a contemporary and international scale. Their ability to transcend musical boundaries, to blend tradition with modern music has been recognized internationally. Although their early following was purely a folk audience, the range and variation of their music and accompanying musicians quickly captured a much broader audience. As cultural ambassadors, their performances have been linked with great historic events. They were the first western musicians to perform on the Great Wall of China; participated in “The Wall” concert in Berlin in 1990, and were the first ensemble to perform a concert in the Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. In 2010, their experimental questing extended out of this world, when Cady Coleman, NASA astronaut, took Paddy Moloney’s whistle and Matt Molloy’s flute with her on a trip to the International Space Station, recorded herself playing these instruments as she floated weightless around her spacecraft. The musicians also have been active in their home base. In 1979, they performed for Pope John Paul II during his visit to Ireland, before an audience of over 1.3 million.

Paddy Moloney, the group’s founder and front man, first brought together a group of local musicians in Dublin in 1962. Their sound, which was almost entirely instrumental and largely built around uilleann pipes, became synonymous with traditional Irish music.

Personnel on The Long Black Veil CD are: Martin Fay, fiddle; Sean Keane, fiddle; Kevin Conneff, bodhran, vocals; Matt Malloy, flute; Derek Bell, harp, tiompan, keyboards and Moloney, uilleann pipes, tin whistle. The album was produced by Moloney. Top flight musicianship, tight harmonies and timing, and tiptop star power. The cuts are: Mo Ghile Mear (“Our Hero”), with Sting; The Long Black Veil, with Mick Jagger; The Foggy Dew, with Sinead O’Connor; Have I Told You Lately that I Love You, with Van Morrison; Changing Your Demeanour; The Lily of the West, with Mark Knopfler; Coast of Malabar, with Ry Cooder; Dunmore Lassies, with Ry Cooder; Love is Teasin’, with Marianne Faithfull; He Moved Through the Fair, with Sinead O’Connor; Ferny Hill; Tennessee Waltz/Mazurka, with Tom Jones, and The Rocky Road to Dublin, with the Rolling Stones.

It being that time of year, I just had the privilege of seeing them live down here, in Wilmington, North Carolina, and what a concert it was. Exciting. Superb musicianship, tight harmonies, perfect timing. With Moloney, Malloy and Conneff from the Long Black Veil players, plus harp, percussion, guitar, sax, mandolin. Alyth Mc Cormack, a sultry Scotswoman, on vocals, some in Gaelic; six dancers: two men, two young women, two young girls. And the choir of the University of North Carolina Wilmington, eight voices that sounded like 18. And the pipes and drums from Scotland’s prestigious Saint Andrews University: Moloney explained that they’d run into the Scottish group while touring in Mexico, and invited them to come north with them. And the Scots came. The concert was sensational; if you have a chance to see them, grab it. Meanwhile, you can’t go wrong with the album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)