Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
142
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2015
Stunning album. Reveals the inept, vacuous , zero musianship of modern day celebrity driven obsessives and puerile media. Have some of that!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Quality album decent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Best live album ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2002
Recorded at a time when The Who had just trawled "Tommy" around the US for a year, "Live at Leeds" was a homecoming, an enjoyable one judging by the passion, humour and downright showmanship displayed by the band that Valentine's night in 1970.
After dumping 80 hours of live US concert material (by bonfire) from the previous year, the Pye Mobile studio was duly booked to record The Who at their peak in Leeds and Hull University with a view to releasing a live album as a filler between "Tommy" and Townshend's next project "Lifehouse" (which was eventually partly scrapped to become "Who's Next"); only Leeds was used for the live album though as the title suggests. The original 30-odd minute LP release deliberately overlooked the "Tommy" segment of the performance to show there was more to the band; "There's people out there who think there's a band called Tommy who have an album called The Who" bemoaned Townshend.
The 25th Anniversary release of Live at Leeds gave us a taster of what else went on that night with two excerpts from the rock opera (although a bootleg version has been around for some time) and we had to wait for this 30th Anniversary edition to hear the rest. Alright, purists may argue that putting the Tommy segment onto it's own CD denies the listener the chance to hear the correct running order of the concert, but it really is a fabulous audio experience and you better make sure that not only your family, but your entire street is outa the way before playing this at full tilt!
From the opening Entwistle thrasher "Heaven and Hell" to the closing bar of "See Me, Fell Me" you can't help wishing that you were there, and you're as exhausted as the band when it's all over.
Comes complete with booklet detailing the background to the concert as well as an excellent narrative of each track from Richard Evans.
Buy and enjoy the moment.
22 Comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2002
I borrowed an old vinyl copy of this album some time ago; I felt that whilst it represented the best live Who I had heard from a band performance aspect, the paltry 6 track/38 minute running order left a bit to be desired, especially when 3 of the titles were old rock'n'roll covers (not a genre I'm particularly in to). This release has answered the criticisms and then some, with the addition of some cracking renditions of other original and cover material, the mini-opera "A Quick One..." and of course a complete "Tommy", all with upgraded sound (well done John Astley). Two things struck me about the performances here; firstly how I had previously undervalued John Entwhistle's bass playing, and how, at the end of the gig, Keith Moon could still be drumming in such a ferocious style after nigh-on 2 hours of playing. The tightness of the whole band is fantastic throughout (save for Roger's voice sounding a little bit worn-out in the closing stages) and the extra flair compared to the studio cuts adds enormously in all instances. I would urge anyone who enjoys rock music to buy this CD and play it loud. ESSENTIAL!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2007
There has never been anything to compare to the original 4-piece Who from 1968 to 1978, particularly live on stage. This is the greatest live album of all time, bar none.

They absolutely wipe the floor with The Stones and Led Zeppelin and any of the "legendary" bands which have appeared since, such as Queen, Police, U2. The only act which could rival them for live presence, power and musicianship was Hendrix.

This sheer power and energy, coupled with superlative instrumental and vocal ability (from all four members) and superb songs is, in a nutshell, what sets The Who apart. Add in incredible charisma and a dose of humour (so sadly lacking in today's music scene) and you have all the ingredients needed to make the greatest rock band of all time.

To the previous reviewer who said Pete Townshend's solos were a series of "bum notes", he must be listening to a different guitarist. I have played guitar for 30 years and, take it from me, the guy is incredible. Of course, he's very different to Hendrix and Clapton, who are both technically better players, and a host of heavy metal idiots who play millions of unnecessary notes to distract from their useless songs.

If you haven't heard Live At Leeds, you haven't yet heard what live rock is/was capable of. Thank God the tapes were rolling on that night in 1970. GO AND BUY IT.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2007
As a long time owner of the original 6 track album (with all that nice packaging) I stumbled across this double CD of the full concert by accident. I have to say that I have been totally blown away by this set, the energy and quality of the music is just incredible. The Who the best live band ever? I probably wouldn't have said so before hearing this but now I'd have to say that they must have taken some beating back in the 70s, and this is by far the best live rock album I've heard. I saw them last year and they are still brilliant, and unlike many of their peers I didn't sense any easing back and polishing off of any of the sharp corners.

On this album Moon and Entwistle are just relentless in their driving of the rhythm, and Townsend effortlessly flits between powerhouse and playing with tenderness, and both his and Daltrey's voices are at the top of their game. Tommy (in its entirety) is great, and a wonderful achievement. Definitely one of the best tenners I have spent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
avoid the over-processed butchered 2001 "deluxe" reissue and go for this.

the tommy tracks on the 2001 edition are unlistenable anyway (out of phase and smothered in noise reduction) so you won't be missing anything
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Bought this at the bargain price of £12.99 + p&p , now see it selling at £116 ! I had no idea that buying brand-new vinyl could be a major investment ( wish I bought 10 copies , sell 8 in a few years time & pay off the mortgage !) However , my one is for keeps , and what a superb package this is .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)