Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2000
In any event, this first M+Mechanics album is as well crafted a piece of guitar/synth confection as you could hope for; the excellent 'Silent Running' starting up like a space-craft and soon followed by the keen but anodyne 'All I need is a Miracle'. More anthems than you can shake a stick at, most of them good, all professionally delivered - a minor classic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2003
The best album they did. full of classic songs. Not quite as commercial as some of the later albums and as a result is is more like Genesis and less pop rubbish.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
This album is a complete puzzle to me. Anyone who knows Mike and the Mechanics knows they have two fantastic lead vocalists. Carrack and the late, great Young. They are fantastic on this album, with Carrack shining on 'Silent running' and Young on 'all I need is a miracle' and especially the last mellow masterpiece 'taken in'. There is a selection of upbeat tracks and nice ballads.
The reason for my puzzlement is the lead vocalists on the album's two most spectacular tracks ever. 'par avalon' and 'you are the one' are two of the most beautiful ballads I have ever heard. They are by far the best tracks ever by Mike and the Mechanics and they are not even by the two lead vocalists! Upon doing some research I think the vocalist is John Kirby. I have no idea who he is, but think of the beautiful smooth vocals of Johnny hates jazz of Freiheit. Why he wasn't kept as a lead vocalist is unknown, these are two amazing tracks. Also, another standout track is 'a call to arms' and, while Carrack is singing some of the song, the opening is by another lead vocalist. Again, not sure who this is, but looking at the liner notes, I would have to assume it is 'Gene Stashuck'. I wish there was more in the liner notes about this!
Anyhow, this is their best album, mainly for 'par avalon', 'you are the one', 'silent running', 'call to arms' and 'taken in'. Heck, 'hanging by a thread is great also! And 'all I need is a miracle'. Oh, all of it! Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Silent Running is, of course, a tremendously powerful mid 80s synth song, beautifully sung by Paul Carrack. It is the one, real stand out track as the others really fail to become anything more than 'background rock music'. Some fine musicians and great vocals, let down by mediocre songwriting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
For A Debut Album - This album is a great piece for any genesis / mechanics fan...all their debut hits plus some really good side tracks to boot....Carrack / Young on "Call to Arms" is well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
Always enjoyed this one from the first time I heard it in the mid 1980's.

An excellent range of tracks, great vocalists and some real stand out songs in all I need is a miracle, silent running, and hanging by a thread.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Mike and the Mechanics debut album was at first considered a side project, but i'm glad the side project developed into a much larger than life band. This first album by M+TM (1986) saw the memorable hits such as 'Silent Running' and 'All I Need Is A Miracle' become the success they are today. Though the album is slightly short with only 9 songs, the sound and rhythm with that 80s rock/pop vibe is very much present. The album sees its softer sides with songs like 'Par Avion' and 'Taken In' to the more heavier songs such as 'Hanging by a Thread'. No song sounds the same on this album and that's what makes this a classic and the reason the Mechanics went on to become a great success. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
my dad loves this, every now and again he comes out with random lyrics that have no context to the conversation as the songs are still playing in his head long after the cd has finished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
This is a brilliant album. Haven't heard it for about 30 years! but it's every bit as good as I remembered it. Great sound quality and all the tracks are good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Item arrived within time scale stated and in good condition. Great listen. Just been to a Mike & the Mechanics concert & this CD revives good memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.75
£5.60

Need customer service? Click here