Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

  • Karma
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2017
One of the best albums ever,superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2000
Delerium have been around for so long, it's a shame that people have only noticed them because of the dance re-mixes. Yes they are gothic, it's a bit of a culture shock for the dance fans when they buy this album thinking it's all dance! But for all the other goths and industrial dance fans - if you haven't bought it, why not?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
I consider myself lucky that I discovered Delerium; from what I have heard thus far, I find their music to be very touching, soulful and pleasantly weird. "Wisdom", sparked the fire for me - that song is just beautiful.
I think every track on Karma has it's own unique, subtle magic... which leads to a quietly stirring experience overall. The vocals, where used, are excellent, and the occasional 'chanting' fits nicely once you eventually adopt the idea.
This quaint style of music is unlikely to be fully appreciated by all, but to the deep and thoughtful (and tasteful) among us it should be well received and liked - perhaps even loved.
Karma is definitely strange in nature, but truly beautiful in spirit.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2004
I don't do reviews ... at least not until now. If ever an album forced you to put pen to paper, then this is it.

Imagine a fusion of the very best of Enigma and Deep Forest blended with female vocals that rival even those of Lisa Gerrard. Now consider it done with the artistic integrity and creative identity that is the hallmark of any Delerium album and you're getting close to the rare beauty of this cd. It's dreamier than other recent works by Leeb and Fulber; more beautifully crafted than Poem and less glossy and rigidly song-based than the nevertheless gifted Chimera. Rhys Fulber's Conjure One album also bears comparison ... but I digress.
Karma's keyboard rhythms are to die for. Simple yet unfamiliar, they supply layer upon layer of evocative, ethereal landscape. Add some ethnic chants and a range of other sounds and you end up with a production blessed with more than a hint of other-worldly mysticism and Middle-Eastern charm. All in all it's the perfect backdrop for accomplished chanteuses/songwriters to display their wares and we are not disappointed.

Singling out individual tracks would be pointless as they all shine and every listener will have their favourites, but the album versions of 'Heaven's Earth' and 'Silence' are exquisite and so much better than the many remixes available. Incidentally, if you collected some of the albums mentioned above and their respective bonus discs you will by now have enough material for a home-made compilation of dance mixes. It adds another dimension to Delerium's work and plays well on the car hi-fi, but it does seem slightly sacrilegious to put such earthy and ambient masterpieces to a techno beat.

If they're listening, I'll finish with a plea to the creators. Please work with Lisa Gerrard and Liz Fraser on the next album. A couple of tracks from each in a Karma-esque setting will do very nicely for starters.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2002
If I was told I could only listen to one CD for the rest of my life, this would be it. I bought this CD 3 years ago and I still love it. If you're into sculpture, art, writing -anything creative- get this disc. Every track is journey, every track is picture in music, a scene from a book waiting to be written ... I'm sure you get the idea. I disagree with the reviewer who said that the Enigma and Deep Forest sound quality/production was better. Perhaps you got some gunk on your CD lens! Karma is much, much better than Viva le Roi (etc) by Enigma; and on par with Screen Behind the Mirror. It's as good as Deep Forest's first self titled offering (which my entire family has played to death). At any rate, Karma opened the whole Dark Ambient world to me and I have now supported other artists less well known (and some very well known) by buying their music. I've also bought Semantic Spaces and Poem. Thank you Delerium you've given inspiration to many days of soon to be published work. I can't wait for your next disc.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2000
This would get five stars but for a few weak tracks which let this otherwise outstanding album down. Its worth buying for tracks twelve to seventeen alone and includes the pimping Sanctuary mix of Silence which was written and performed by the brilliant Sarah McLachlan, and the powerfull track Incantation. Admittedly this is a weird collection of music with gothic chanting on most tracks, but this merly takes a little more getting used to and the album really grows after a few runs through. This is a quality different sound for trance fans, which would stand out in any music collection. Top drawer of the tree quality wise!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2000
After hearing the sanctuary mix of SILENCE in Cream and an old ministry mag cd i knew i had to buy the album.This is chilled,ambient trance at its best,although the slightly gothic chanting in some of the tracks were a bit un-nerving at first compared to the majority of trance tracks i liston to.However the albums quality certainly shines through and is perfect for any of those wanting to buy a dance album different than the compilation albums carried from Ibiza.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2000
Every thing about this album is great. It has an excelent sound quality to it and is very well produced. The music itself is outstanding. It has an excellent vibe to it and it is very moving. my parents like this, my friends into drum 'n' bass like it etc. There is just nothing not to like about it. No matter what your into it will just make your ears orgasm. I can not belive that this (these) artists have gone so unnoticed, but o well thats just how it goes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2008
Superb. If you enjoyed this and enigma & deep forest which are among my favourites check out the band Tryad especially the Listen album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)