Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2015
Fantastic album. However not in as good condition as I expected with a cracked case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2003
Having bought this album on the basis or rather the strength of Fourth of July and Black Hole Sun, I was more than pleased to find every single track an absolute anger/thought provoking or mind boggling drug induced fiasco of lyrics and guitar work.
Chris Cornell's lyrics are deep at the best of times, it seems only understandable sometimes if you're as depressed or permenatley intoxicated as he was at this time. Black Hole Sun is a mesh of words that are sadistic as well as some hidden sexual innuendos....... She Likes Suprises (one of my favourites) is a complete stand against fame and fortune, and the explioting of people "Lips and thighs abused by our eyes, acting suprised that she likes it".
The Day I Tried To Live is an absolute marvel. "The day I tried to Live, I stole a thousand beggars' change and I gave it to the rich"......Perhaps Cornell envisaged himself as a modern day grungey typo anti - hero/ after Cobains' untimely death.
I could honestly write masses on this album, which I consider an absolute masterpiece of music. It's a shame the band split three short years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2000
This is one great rock album that proves just how unrecognised Soungarden were. Sure they were succesfull, but they were never the biggest band in the world. This is a shame because they have made some simply superb songs. Afew of those songs are on this album, such as "Fell on Black Days", "The Day I Tried to Live" and many others. Its hard to have a favourate song because the're all so good. Even the ethnic sounding and frankly wierd "Half" has its charms. Oh, and of course, the epic "Black Hole Sun".
I'm not going to try and describe the bands sound by just clashing together a load of other bands names. Although Black Sabbath was a big influence on them in there early days, this album shows Soundgarden escaping the realm of sludge-metal and into more melodic rock teritories
I'm going to agree with the official review at the top. This is a very good example of 90's alt rock at its best. So if that's your bag, then go ahead and buy. If you don't like it, listen to it afew more times and belive me, it will grow on you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2005
soundgarden's most commercial album that has dark depressing songs that lift you down to the deepest hell of one man's mind
chris cornell another one of them underrated songwriting genius's who talented went unnoticed in the pop world what a shame this album features great good and awful songs well any band that brings out a album with 16 tracks of course there's gonna be some duds but half of this album is pure gold and the band seem happy and energetic even though there's a darker edge to the songs that still seem uplifting i know it sounds strange but it's true..
best tracks are as follows
Let me Drown 10/10...great oener great lyrics as usual
My Wave 10/10 my favorite song on this album
Fell on black days 8/10 another strong song
Mailman 7/10 weak point nothing special
Superunknown another great track dark man..really dark
Head down 7/10 weak point again
Black hole Sun 10/10 there most comerical song Great
Spoonman 8/10 You go man...
Limo wreck 7.10 good but not great
the day I tried to live 9/10 great track..what a subject
Kickstand 5/10 another low point
Fresh tendrils 9/10 Class
4th of July 10/10 another great song
half 6/10 low point
Like Suicide 8/10 great track
she likes surpirises great ending to a good album
this album has great High points and a few low points to make things even..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
If you love rock music, you must have this album. Simply fundamental
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
I enjoy listening to this entire album, no filler in my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Soundgarden album which was their peak, its a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Soundgardens best in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
All ok so far but not yet used
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2006
If u were to buy one 'grunge' album buy this one! Even though 'Ten' by Pearl jam and 'Nevermind' by Nirvana are better, this album is so long and diverse it just tops them. There are two bad songs on this album, kickstand and half. The best songs are Superunknown(obviously) limo wreck and the 4th of July. These will have u head banging and singing along constantly.

Great album, actually get this and 'Ten' and you are set for life!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here