Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2007
Contrary to another review, this is manifestly not Billy Joel's best CD yet. Far from it, and if you are looking to start in on the Billy Joel catalogue, go to The Stranger and An Innocent Man first.

That said, it's still got some excellent stuff on it.

The core of the album is the triptych of songs that kick off the second half: All About Soul, Goodnight My Angel and River of Dreams. This is rock but with the cares and perspectives of middle-age.

All About Soul is that rare thing, a love song not about falling in love but about marriage. It's lyrically moving, while musically it really rocks. The only tragedy for Joel is that Christie Brinkley was just about to dump him for a better looking model.

(But he didn't know that at the time.)

Then there's Goodnight My Angel, a quiet piano lullaby from a father's perspective about how to answer his young child when she asks about what happens when people seem to die. The next song, River of Dreams, completes his answer, with Gospel backing while the lyrics explore what it means to be sort of agnostically spiritual. How music helps you to live on.

Otherwise, nothing really stands out and the first half in particular lacks the melodies that cover so much else in his back catalogue. Still, it's never less than respectable and 2000 years is a good finisher, albeit lacks contemporary reference as it's dated itself to the Millenium.

For fans, there's definitely enough to enjoy. For fringers, go elsewhere first, or just download the core three songs from i-tunes.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Fantastic CD with the Joel at his best. Classy singer with heart and soul in abundance. Check out "two thousand years"-typical Billy Joel master-class.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
A more thoughtful serious album presents Joel's adaptation to 90's music
without changing his unique smooth and funky Billy Joel style.

Most famous for the transcendental combination of transcendental spirituality and rock -River of Dreams, the beautiful tender lullaby "Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)" dedicated to his daughter Alexa and the earthy All About Soul.
Again Joel never fails to impress.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Well, I guess I'm in a class of my own here with just two stars. Let me start by saying I absolutely love Billy Joel, but to me he is The Piano Man and I love to hear him play and sing. On this CD there is only one song where he is playing the piano, Lullabye. The only reason I bought this CD was because in an interview he said he considered River of Dreams one of his best two CDs (the other one being the Nylon Curtains). Maybe I am a cynic, but perhaps they weren't selling and he needed to put in a plug....
Very disappointing.. Good thing he makes up for it with all the brilliant music he is capable of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
A brilliant music collection from beginning to end...well worth it....Joel is probably at the peak of his writing career on this C.D. you won't be disappointed...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
It cost next to nothing - not bad for an album that went to NO.1 in the USA. Delivery was fine and on time. No problems whatsoever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Very good condition. I like Billy Joel and have several of his vinyl LPs. Backing them up with CDs when I can.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2002
This album is definitely worth a look. Although a little drab in some of the backing tunes, the voice of Mr. Joel still carries the songs. The masterful lyrics and sweet sweet harmonies of "All About Soul" and "Lullabye" alone make this album a must. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I brought this CD because it had got my favorite track on it ie The Lullabye I didnt know any of the other tracks but I was very pleased with them all. So at a great price I have a great disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Other than River of Dreams this is a rather disappointing collection. Admittedly, it is hard to top that song but the others just seem to be add ons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)