Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Jurassic 5
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 August 2017
Such a great hip hop crew, a couple of DJs with bags of decknology and MCs who can really rap. Each MC is distinctive, dropping great lyrics and rhyming to create a flow. If there is common ground it's that they all have warmth and wit. This is timeless, classic hip hop that sounds like it could have been made anytime from '80 onwards. If an alien landed on Earth and asked, 'what is hip hop?', I'd send them off in their spaceship with a copy of this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2007
I've heard a lot about 'production' and how lyrics being negative doesn't matter but this LP proves how good the original ideas behind hip-hop still are and also that you don't need to rhyme negatively to be relevant. This is all about fitting each beat with each word, still not having to be too serious about yourself and just loving the sounds which we can create and doing it all for the enjoyment, the idea behind hip-hop for me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2003
It was a great week for Hip Hop when Jurassic 5 blasted back on the scene with their self titled LP. Bridging the gap between the long standing east coast/west coast conflict, Hip Hop fans found an album that didn't discriminate - and at long last, was 'all about the music'.
Vaguely reminiscent of the 'good time' feeling that came with groups such as De La Soul & Tribe Called Quest in the early 90's, Jurassic 5 made their mark in the penultimate year of the century by returning to the old school vibe with some seriously new school ideas an lyrics. Intellectual ryhmes merged with funky downtown beats made this the Hip Hop buy of '98.... and '99....and if you haven't got it yet - well then......
The only thing that I would put forward as a down point is that J5 isn't long enough, and at times you feel that they may be 'filling in' between the really outstanding tunes such as "Concrete Schoolyard", "Jayou" and "In The Flesh". Still you have to take the view that these fillers are better than silence, and although short - are never of a lesser quality. As an album J5 can be marked as no less than an outstanding debut. J5's album is one that can span all ages, cultures and vibes without losing it's credibilty or standing as a landmark in the new wave of Hip Hop.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
The J5 LP is far more raw than the perfect pop of Power in Numbers and is not as filled out as Quality in Numbers. However, if you already own these two albums and want to hear more harmonious melodies and addictive beats then this LP won't dissapoint.

There are only a few full/ "proper" hip-hop songs on the LP (In the Flesh, Concrete Schoolyard and Improvise being the standout 3 for me). Much of the rest of the LP sounds like the two DJ's simply enjoying themselves. Nevertheless, the record has a great original, underground feel to it. I usually put it on when I've listened to Power in Numbers several times in succesion and want something refreshing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2005
This is proper hip-hop, original beats and clever lyrics. The group claim they're all about the music and this is certainly true. I have to draw attention to 'cut-chemist' the real star of the group - check out 'lesson 6' for an example of his skills. J5 are often compared to dilated people's and on the basis of this lp you've gotto say they're even better.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Love it! Classic old school sound! Lost original cd - had to buy it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Classic album, a must for every collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I have had a resurgence within myself to listen to hip hop after 'growing out of it' some years back. Jurrasic 5 do not disappoint and it's a great album.

I'm old school and like to have a physical copy of my music. Zoverstocks, the seller, are now my preferred supplier because they are quick to deliver with great service and quality CD's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2005
The line out of Concrete Playground sums it up really - "lets take you back to the concrete streets, original beats with real live MCs, playground tactics, no rabbit-in-a-hat tricks, just that classic rap from Jurassic".
Its the kind of music you can't put a date to, it stands the test of time better than the 2Pac tripe that requires Elton John or Billy Joel or some other bilge as a backing track cos no one could be bothered to write their own.
This is what I suppose people would call Old Skool, and it is a great album, and an amazing debut!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Absolutely sterling production from some real hip hop heroes. J5 are outstanding in the this edition. Be sure to check out there other album 'Quality Control'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

J5
£7.77

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)