Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2003
When the punk revolution first came about in the late 70's, there were a few key bands that really defined the genre (Clash, Pistols, Damned, Ramones, Dead Kennedys)
As you can see there were quite a few key players, from either side of the pond.
Well punks not dead, maybe not as fit as it used to be, bit it's still got a bit of Oi left in it yet. But one thing we're missing is a real key band to unite the scene. Enter Rancid...
Yet again they have given us an album of outstanding quality. Lyrically and musically diverse. Ok one of the great things about punk is the fact that any snotty little kid can get in the garage with two of his mates and belt out a few. But this is where Rancid differ. Like The Clash were to the Pistols, Rancid are to their stable mates. Dancing bass lines, catchy riffs, gruff vocals, they're all here. Musically superior to many in the punk family, they bring it all together to make it all sound so so easy.
Yes they do sound like The Clash, but when you consider that CLash were one of the greatest bands of all time (ok so maybe the greatest rock off all time) thats not a bad thing.
Buy this, then Out Come The Wolves..., then the rest.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2003
Ok.. This album was the first Rancid album i ever bought and that was partly a good thing and partly a bad thing. The good thing was that it was incredible and turned me into a massive Rancid fan for life. The bad thing was that since then i have been on the search for a rancid album of the same quality and i havent found it. Life won't wait literally has everything. Some people have dissed it for being too experimental with reggae,blues and punk but i think that this makes it all the better! When i first got it i thought there were about 4 great songs out of the 22, but about a year later there were 12 great songs, a year later 16 etc. That is the sign of a legendary album and this rancid offering is definetly that. The songs are all individual and brilliant and it makes you wonder how the band could make up all the different riffs and bass lines for each song when your average band have trouble makin one cool tune. I couldn't say i really have a favourite in this album but a mention should go out to '1998' and 'Black lung' (all the songs are brilliant and there different styles suit different moods. Although there's lots of blues and reggae there is also the trademark Rancid style screams and growls ('leicester square for example).
Basically GET THIS ALBUM and you will love the range of amazing and original music you have. If this album was £50 you'd be getting your moneys worth!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2002
What Rancid have done on this record which many people fail to realise is that they have simply gone back to their roots; what they grew up on and what they enjoyed. Tim Armstrong, previously in ska/punk band Operation Ivy, shows incredible diversity on this LP calling on a huge number of other artists to make this record what it is. With a fantastic blend of ska, dub, and old school punk, Rancid have put together an album of sheer class. Stand out tracks include 'Hooligans', 'Under Suspicion' along with the more punky tracks 'Bloodclot' and '1998'.
A truely great record and one that should interest all punk fans who appreciate the same diversity that the Clash brought to the genre. Brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
One of the first albums to make me sit up and listen for a long time. Love the punk/ska fusion, really feel good and bouncy. I give this album (and oh course 'Out Come....') the credit for curing my road range on long motorway journeys, which are frequent. As with a packet of Anadin, keep this CD with you at all times.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Orange Translucent double vinyl with inserts and gatefold.
This is my favourite Rancid record although "..When Out Come The Wolves" is a classic as well.
If you into ska (real good ska!) you know what I'm talking about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
This album remains one of my favourite albums, a solid punk cum reggae offering from rancid that in my opinion is an marvel for the punk genre and alternative music as a whole. Apparently they recorded over 50 songs during the sessions for Life won't wait... would be nice to see a deluxe re-issue at some point....20th anniversary perhaps?? 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
theres only 15 tracks on the picture disc compared to the other formats , youll miss some of the best songs ( coppers , lady liberty ,wrongful suspicion , corazon de oro )) on this slightly hit and miss collection of an album , vinyl fans - GO FOR THE 7 INCH SET. BUT SADLY ITS TWICE THE PRICE !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Rancid is a band, that never disappoint.The sound of the album is 50% ska,50% punk - that's the biggest difference with previous albums,which are pure punk.I like when the bands try some changes and bring something new.Highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2001
I love this album. At first I was disappointed because I expected another Hardcore-Punk album like "let's Go", what I got instead was a truly mellow ska-punk collection of Rancid's full range of talent. No album could beat "...and out come the wolves", but Tim and Lars vocals create a unique sound which is both mellow and sometimes aggressive. Some of the best songs I have ever heard are on this album but it is not like anything else that they have done.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2005
Before Rancid, I was into more new skool bands like Blink 182 and Sum 41, it was only when i heard i stumbled upon Tim Armstrong's side project The Transplants that i began to take notice of the band.
Tim Armstrong in my opinion is a true icon in the punk underground and this is very evident on Life Won't Wait. Of course this was released back in 1998 and i purchased it last year so i didn't know any song on here, but if albums like Indestructible and And Out Come The Wolves are so fantastic then surely its worth the risk.
Well that was a gamble that paid off very well, in fact this album surpasses Indestructible, its more hardcore, a wider variety of tunes, to be precise Life Won't Wait is like a box of chocolates.
There is the massive punk tunes like Bloodclot, Black Lung and Leicester Square, ska influenced songs like the title track and Wrongful Supsicion all the way to the fun funky ones like Lady Liberty and Crane Fist.
A brilliant punk album that can only be made by an awesome band. Buy!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)