Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
The Charlatans
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 December 2016
The Charlatans really hit their stride on this impressive 4th studio album. Among the highlights are the powerful opener 'Nine Acre Court', 'Feeling Holy', 'Crashin' In', 'Just When You're Thinkin' Things Over', 'No Fiction' and, best of all, the glorious 'Toothpaste', which features the juicy Hammond organ skills of the late Rob Collins, who sadly died in a car accident during the making of the group's 5th album. Definitely worth picking this Indie gem up for a reasonable price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2017
Fast Delivery And Great Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2015
Perfect!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2014
Without these guys there would be no oasis so there .they were one of the best new indie type bands and saw them last year and they are still superb live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2016
Top class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
Not bad but no where near as good as Some Friendly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 July 2013
The Charlatans' self-titled release, their fourth studio album, was the first long-player of theirs I bought. I was working in a music store at the time and they were selling cassette copies of it for just £3.99 which, with my massive staff discount of 25%, meant that I was getting a new album for just £2.99 and, given the poor state of my finances (thanks to the low wages of said music store), I would probably have bought nearly anything half-decent at that price. I'd heard a few tracks on the radio, so didn't exactly buy it blind, but I didn't expect it to be quite as good as it is. As an introduction to the band, it's a rather great one, although there was a little discontent amongst some fans at the time who preferred their earlier material and sound. Personally, I think this is one of the best albums of the nineties, certainly of the Britpop era, and it is absolutely rammed full of brilliantly catchy songs, swirling Hammond organs, Stones-like swagger and some of the most inspired lyrics and compositions of their career. Eighteen years later, it still sounds absolutely magnificent.

There are highlights by the bucket-load here. Sultry instrumental opener "Nine Acre Court" kicks off the album excellently, before the exciting drum beat brings in "Feeling Holy" and the magic really starts to happen. "Just Lookin'" is one of the most commercial offerings, but it is also a beautifully crafted and arranged piece of work and "Crashin' In" is the sound of a band firing on all cylinders, with some lovely guitar licks and melodic bass underpinning a superb song. "Bullet Comes" is one of my favourite cuts (amongst many favourites here) with the "stuck on the way you walk/hooked on the way you talk" hook, lots of fabulous organ licks and a nice piano riff which sounds like it was almost lifted from The Rolling Stones' "We Love You". The "live it like you love it" refrain is a great line, too. The gorgeously loose verses of "Just When You're Thinking Things Over" provide a sublime contrast to the more powerful choruses, the divine guitar solo and bridge. In short, it's nearly five minutes of indie-rock genius. The breezy "Tell Everyone" concludes my personal picks from this release and the quality does tail off a little towards the end of the album, but it's still all good stuff and nothing could be considered "filler".

It would be contentious to say that this is the band's best album, but I believe that many fans would agree that it's certainly up there amongst their finest work. Tim Burgess' vocals have seldom sounded better than on these songs, all of the players are on top form and the whole album, even if they have sequenced the big songs at the front of it, is a thoroughly joyful experience. The musicianship on display here is phenomenal and the quality of songwriting make any resistance to this album futile. For the marketing marvel who decided to introduce the band to thousands of new fans by means of cheaply-priced cassettes, it definitely worked. I took a gamble on a band I didn't know much about, ended up buying one of the best albums of the time and became a newly recruited Charlatans fan. Thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2011
The self titled Charlatans album is a quality album from the band which came out while I was at University. I saw them live in Liverpool and it is still one of my favourite gigs. There are so quality tunes on this album from the band and I do enjoy the keyboard work from Rob Collins, who sadly died in a car accident (replaced by Martin Duffy at the gig I attended who is also a wizard on the Hammond.)

They are well worth a listen if you liked the Manchester bands of the era or Brit pop in the mid 90's. Don't buy it, keep it for 15 years then bin it like my mate did...give it a go again!
66 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Melting Pot
£5.47

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)