Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2005
For those people new to the Murphys, they're a Boston (USA) punk band with pretty strong influences from the Clash and Stiff Little Fingers but with much better material than the latter.
Existing Murphys fans who hear this album for the first time will notice that the band sound a bit different from their current incarnation. The most obvious difference is the presence of the Murphys' original vocalist Mike McColgan whose gruff singing voice is more tuneful than Al Barr's throaty roar, but still sounds fresh from the local Irish Pub. Secondly, the band were only a five-piece at this point. Guest musicians occasionally provide bagpipes or whistles but this is mainly old-school street-punk.
The most important point to make though is that this is the DKM's best album by far. Absolutely every song is a winner, from the bouncy "Caught in a Jar" to OI!-punk floor-filler "Bar-room Hero" to acoustic numbers "Boys on the Docks" and "Far Away Coast". McColgans vocals are passionate and, although flawed in places, have the real feeling of the street about them. It's a real shame he left the band to go back to a regular job.
If you only ever buy one DKM album, make it this one. I can only repeat: EVERY SONG'S A WINNER!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
This Album is a classic, With more Oi! than other larger punk bands this album grabs you from your seat and gets you jumping. The first track "Cadence to Arms" is a stiring rendition of Scotland the Brave with full bagpipes and leads into the upbeat title track "Do or Die". Other noteable tunes on the album are "Caught in a Jar" and the live classic "BarRoom Hero". If you like your punk rawcus but still musical this ones for you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2016
I love Dms first album and has a few classics on it, if you know dropkicks you'll know exactly what you're getting. Fast pumping punk rock with an Irish tinge. Although Cadence to Arms (notits real title) is actually a Scottish song, I am sure they knew that though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Great album! Almost as good as Sing Loud Sing Proud! Also this album has the classic Boys On The Docks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Top drawer from the boys, right up there with Flogging Molly, The Popes and the Pogues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
This is one of if not the best Dropkicks album. There are a couple of irish classics on this album, which they have interpreted and originalised and some amazing songs that they have written themselves. There is a mixture of music from higher tempo punk to drinking songs to more relaxed and meaningful music. A great album and a must have for any Dropkicks fan. (although the start of the album is average, it finishes with some of the best Dropkick songs in my opinion)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
first ever punk music, not for me. well packed, arrived quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2006
THIS ALBUM HAS GOT TO BE THE BEST DROPKICK/IRISH PUNK/OI ALBUM EVER MADE ITS GOT ALL THE STRENGTH OF PURE FIST PUMPIN' PUNK FURY WITH SONGS LIKE "BARROOM HERO'S", "SKINHEAD ON THE MBTA" AND "DO OR DIE" MIXED IN WITH THE ACOUSTIC TYPE SONGS (STILL VERY PUNK) INCLUDING AN EXCELLENT ACOUSTIC VERSION OF "BOY'S ON THE DOCK" ALL WITH THE ORIGINAL SINGER MIKE MCCOLGAN (STREET DOGS) WHO IN MY EYE'S HAS A STRONGER VOICE, IF YOU LIKE THE DROPKICKS YOU'LL LOVE THIS AND IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE DROPKICKS GIVE IT A GO AS THIS ALBUM IS A MUST HAVE BY ANY PUNK, SKIN OR DRUNK I BOUGHT IT WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT AND I STILL LISTEN TO IT ALL THE TIME. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG JUST LISTEN TO THE INTRO, PURE IRISH PUNK AT IT'S VERY VERY BEST (AND I'M ENGLISH) BUY 2 JUST IN CASE 1 GETS SCRATCHED YOU WON'T REGRET BUYING THIS. THE SOUND IS SLF MEETS THE POGUES BUT BETTER *****************
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
It's ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Bought this cd as a gift for my brother in law. It was of great quality and it arrived within a few days, so I was very happy with the delivery service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)