Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
Modern Times
Format: Audio CD|Change

on 16 November 2015
I am very, very pleased with the new series of Al Stewart reissues from Esoteric/Cherry Red. They are all beautifully packaged, and the sound is a step up from previous editions of these titles. Each disc has a booklet including both full lyrics and liner notes incorporating new interviews with Al. Each has lots of color, images of 45 rpm labels and picture sleeves, photos, and period clippings. Each disc is very nicely imprinted with the cover art. These are the kind of deluxe packages that these classic AL-bums deserve and I would say are well worth the investment if any of the above sounds appealing, even if, like me, you've owned a number of editions over the years.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2016
I have had this Album on Vinyl since the early 80's and it's great to have it on CD, Modern Times is a wonderful Album and if you like Al Stewart's music it's a MUST HAVE! along with Year Of The Cat and Time Passages for me these were his best Albums but i have most of his other Album's too, but Modern Times just has that extra little bit for me and the title track blows me away every time i listen to it !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
Brilliant cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2017
i was very pleased with this product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
Probably one of his best albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2016
Huge improvement in sound quality on this version of the CD. Those last 2 tracks now sound as epic as they did on vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2016
Good quality item as described, good price, very quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2015
OK, very good transaction, Thanks from Germany
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2015
Thank you very much. This album is one of the best ever made.
Flemming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2003
My two favourite artists are Chris rea , and this neglected singer Al stewart who only found real success with Year of the cat and time passages. I own all his albums and this one is one i never tire of hearing.
The opening carol and sirens of titan are great up-beat songs. There is some moody songs in here too- Whats going on ( in its obscure key ) , Next time and the dark and rolling sea, all of which are great, The guitar solos are amongst Al's best. The 3 tracks at the end including the reworking of News from Spain from his album 'Orange' , ( about an ended love and a strange little place called Carvajal ), Elveston place ( the B side to News.. ) and swallow wind are all good to have on this cd.
My favourite tracks are the fantastic Apple cider reconstitution about making love at a railway station and the tiltle track which after acouple of verses breaks into the best guitar solo al has done , possibly (!)
You got to buy this one, even if you've never heard of Al.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)