Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
An Diolaim
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2013
Why? sometime I just can't tell why I just love the voice the way it is all put together, the combination of the tone and the softness in which way they are singing, and last but not least I love hearing the Galic Language and the way it is by Clannad prenounced
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2014
Clannad is always good and this one is no exception to the rule. Clannad provide a really good Celtic sound where every song is different to the last, creative and inspiring music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2001
An excellent collection of Irish folk songs, both lively and soothing, showing the traditional roots of this family group. Despite most of the songs being sung in Gaelic, this in no way detracts from enjoying the sometimes haunting music. This music is excellent to relax and unwind to with a cool drink by candle light at the end of a hard day. While some of the song material may be a bit melancolic at times, the music is uplifting and a delight to listen to.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2012
I bought 'Magical Ring' and 'Banba' and thought I would give the early works a try, however this album is not for me. I prefer the more refined version of "Coinleach Ghlas an Fhómhair" on 'Magical Ring'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2016
Very nice country folk songs to relax to at any time of the day or evening
I am sure you will find one or two of there albums just fantastic...
Five Gold Star albums well worth buying now looking for number 4...

Warning... If Driving and feel sleepy playing music STOP
Pull over and have a tea break....
Sleeping at the wheel is... Not good for you....
from
SATAN
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2007
Great music. I just thought it worthwhile for byuer to know that the are only 6 new songs on this album. The rest have be released on older albums.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2006
The songs on this cd are traditional but their beauty is timeless.The music and vocals would be superb taken on their own but woven together they make a vibrant tapestry of huge proportions and highlight the depth and sophistication of Irish culture.The opening song,Dulaman,means seaweed in english.

Never has seaweed been so easy to swallow!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2014
many thank you for such speedy response, fantastic cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2011
Whilst this is a great introduction to Clannad's early stuff, all the tracks are from Dúlamán and Clannad 2. Dont be fooled by the person who said it has new tracks, it doesn't; just a rehash of tracks from Clannad 2 and Dúlamán. If you get this, theres really no point getting Clannad 2 as 9 songs are included, Clannad 2 has 11 tracks so if you love those 9 tracks, you're bound to love the 2 songs not included.

Dulaman has 10 tracks, and 5 are included so you may want to hear it on spotify to see if you love the other tracks; but I believe you will.

It's not a great selection to be honest; the better compliations are

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Greatest-Hits-Clannad/dp/B00003OP2L/ref=sr_1_5?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1294328100&sr=1-5 - This mixes old and new and shows the progress from early-Clannad to new clannad

Rogha: Best of - A good selection if your starting out

If you want the celtic stuff, Celtic Connections is one fine example

But if you want new tracks, Past Present has World Of Difference and The Hunter which is a re-working of Herne

In A lifetime - The Best Of Clannad - On this album, you get Both sides now feat Paul Young, which was on themes, released as a single but with a compliation hard to find, unless you can get themes really cheap; what will I do from message in a bottle and Christmas angels which was released as a single

Themes, most songs on here was old albums but if you can get hold of the USA version as you get an inclusive instrumental

Clannad Celtic Themes, most were on old albums, but you get Saltwater (Thrillseekers Mix)

Just a break-down of tracks and where they come from

Dulaman - Dulaman
Eleanor Plunkett - Clannad 2
Two Sisters - Dulaman
Fairly Shot Of Her - Clannad 2
Siúil A Rún - Dulaman
Dheanainn Súgradh - Clannad 2
The Galtee Hunt - Dulaman
By Chance It Was - Clannad 2
Rince Philib A Cheoil - Clannad 2
Gaoth Barra na dTonn - Clannad 2
Cumha Eoghain Rua Ui Neill (Lament For Owen Roe) - Dulaman
An Gabhar Ban - Clannad 2
Chuaigh me na Rosann - Clannad 2
Coinleach Ghlas an Fhomair - Clannad 2

The music isnt bad, it's excellent but I dont think it's fair releasing an album where all the songs are Clannad 2 and Dúlamán but if they were releasing a best-off at least add a bit a variety, have Clannad 2 and Dúlamán songs but add the new clannad as well; and maybe a few live recording/new songs or even exclusive mixes so we feel we are getting a good bargain; but I feel dissapointed that I got this CD loving the album, but feel the label didn't put much variety in there, be it new tracks, exclusive mixes, new tracks; if this happened I would had given it a higher rating.
2222 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
great album a must listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here