Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2013
Right from the off, `There and Beck' hits the spot. Rather like its distinguished forbearer, `Wired' this is an album of exciting and memorable jazz-rock fusion. The sound is stripped down synthesizer, drums, guitar and occasional bass. I would have to say that this set from 1980 must be in the top 5 Beck discs. The material is first rate, the production uncluttered and dynamic while the playing, especially on the beautiful `The Final Peace' reaches transcendence.

Jeff Beck for many guitarists in the know is a major creative force. His ability to create unusual tones and highly articulated solo work is almost unrivalled. Beck is never predictable yet he is seeking to go beyond the merely quirky. He is looking to extend the possibilities of his instrument and at the same time create music with drive and emotion. On `There and Beck' he succeeds, handsomely.

`There and Beck' is a must buy for fans of the genre and certainly an album that lovers of great guitar playing should consider adding to their collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
I simply cannot believe that no one has reviewed this album before now! Jeff Beck is definitely a guitarists guitarist. I know you’ve heard Silver Lining and his stuff in The Yardbirds but there is much much more to this man than that. This is a rock fusion album that should be in every music lovers collection. The real jewel in the crown for me on this album is The Pump. Just switch off the lights, slap some dark shades on and sit back and drift!
I first heard Star Cycle on an engineering video about robotics when I was at college in the eighties! The melodic mix of Jan Hammer and Beck, perfect. I managed to catch the credits at the end and went out to get the album and never regretted the impulse...
The whole album is well put together and shows Jeff Becks talents off to a tee that marry well with Jan Hammer and Tony Hymas keyboard styles. A MUST!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Missed out on Jeff, first time round; guess "Silver Lining" put me off, although it's a classic solo. Really like this album, so 4 1/2 stars would be more appropriate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
First of all, don't be confused by Amazon listing this as "There and Beck". It's a no-frills issue of Jeff's 1980 album "There & Back". There are no extra tracks or remastering quirks to distinguish this from the original release so I assume the wrong name is just a typo.

But what you DO get is one of the finest albums of its time. Here are eight tracks that rewrote the book on what happens when rock meets jazz. Jeff's creative partnership with keyboard wizard Jan Hammer reached its highest point here, with the opener "Star Cycle" - where maestros of the guitar and synth trade licks with abandon - finding its place as the iconic theme tune to Channel 4's "The Tube" music show for much of the 80s. Legendary session drummer Simon Philips, bassist Mo Foster and keyboardist Tony Hymas complete the lineup for the rest of the album, and the result was, frankly, lightning in a bottle. I remember when it came out: one muso friend after another would ask me, "have you heard There & Back yet?" It didn't matter if they were talking about the guitar playing, or the synths, or the drums - they were all floored by it. And more than thirty years later, it still blows me away.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
Cast your mind back to the early 80's. It's Friday evening and you are getting ready to go out with your mates. While you splash on the aftershave and decide what to wear you have the TV tuned into Ch4 in the background. Ch4 was woeful when it first launched but they did break the mould and give Top Of The Pops and Old Grey Whistle Test a royal kicking when they had the inspiration to parachute Paula Yates and Jools Holland into a live studio in Newcastle and bring us The Tube. And those eye-catching opening title sequences? Yes it was the superb Star Cycle by Jeff Beck featuring Jan Hammer on keyboards ...within weeks I had tracked down a copy of this album and played it relentlessly for months. Having long since sold all my vinyl - I have only recently downloaded an MP3 copy of this album and re-acquainted myself with it. I do have to say that I have found Jeff Beck a lot like Todd Rundgren and Frank Zappa in that you never quite know what you are going to get because his musical inspiration is so diverse and at times eclectic. There is a some Beck stuff that I find dull and some that I find superb... his albums can be a bit of a lucky dip with moments of brilliance interspersed with moments where he clearly goes into a mental space all of his own ... but there isn't a weak track on this particular album. If you just like good guitar playing with a few thumping tracks and a few mellow tracks, There And Back is well worth a listen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
An excellent cd very pleasing on the hear. The musicians and the music are excellent. The songs on the disc are varied with some tracks that are slow and relaxing and the odd track that are more uptempo but pleasant and inkeeping with the rest of the tracks on the disc.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
Jeff Beck is a legend ..a guitar legend--the guitarists guitar player..its all technical skil meets raw emotion..he's eric clapton's old chum..with a style all of his own...utterly unique...as a performer, a writer and as person..an inspiration....
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of the best releases by without any doubt at all the best guitarist there is in the field of rock and blues.He's been the best for many years now and every album we just see him getting better producing a level of playing we can only hope one day to aspire within a hundred miles of. You love the guitar then Jeff Beck is not to be missed, the benchgmark for the rest.This release was for a while not that easy to get hold of, now while you can get it,please don't miss an album of deep quality and ability so full of thigs to enjoy.I nwon't single out tracks because the release as a whole needs to be enjoyed,once,twice no three no as a regular dose of all that is good in music and genius, that's Jeff Beck this s 'There And Back' and quite simply a classic album by a British National Music Treasure.Umnissable totally so!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2016
Some confusion here. Is it called There And Beck or There And Back ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
I have wanted to replace the third copy of this on vinyl for a CD copy for absolutely years... Space Boogie is well worth it.

Jeff Beck certainly has the capability and flare to get the audience going now, with his amazing young bassist, but in 1980, he had Mo Foster, he also had Simon Philips (Toto) on the skins... And with Jan Hammer writing much of the album and Tony Hymas writing and playing on the rest, this is a stunning snap-shot of how the great man was in the time when 'hair perms' and 'make-up clad fools' rules the airwaves.

I have now owned this 3 times, I am not complaining, just pointing out that it is well worth the investment. I also saw this ablum live at Birmingham's Odeon in 1980 with (puke) Climax Blues Band supporting him... The man is just incredible. Forget "Wired" forget "Blow By Blow" this album rocks and rolls and thunders along.

Get it, or lose out on your listening pleasures.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.15
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)