Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Grave Dancers Union
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 June 2017
Rocking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2001
A step above their compatriots like Counting Crows or Hootie and the Blowfish, Soul Asylum hit the world stage with this, their 1992 album, and most notably with the singles "Runaway Train" and "Black Gold".
"Grave Dancers Union" is an excellent blend of richly produced rock soundtrack, incisive self-deprecating lyrics, and Pirner's raw and angst-ridden voice, which haunts every track even when the theme is light-hearted.
The album slightly falls over in the second half, with "Growing into You" and more notably, "99%" standing out as weak, but "Without a trace" sends shivers down your spine the first time you hear it, but there are worse ways to end an album than with the clever and lighthearted ditty "The Sun Maid".
It's addictively pleasant as an album, never too dark or too rocky, but self aware enough to avoid being filed as MOR. Even if you just liked the singles on the car stereo a few years back, this is worth discovering anew.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
Grave Dancers Union is one of those albums, I think, when you just had to be there. 1992. Grunge had just broken massive and anybody with messy blonde hair was 'IN.' Step forward Dave Pirner and his band, who looked more REM than Nirvana to show people there was more than just grunge going on.

Introduced to me by the rollocking Somebody to Shove airing on MTV this album was an instant buy buy buy. I must have almost worn my copy out the amount I played it. Chock full of classic tunes the likes of which you think youve heard before theyre so catchy and familiar. Well actually nowadays you probably have heard them before but back in 92 it just seemed that way such are the timeless hooks crafted by Pirner and co.

The haunting uber hit single Runaway Train, plain rock of Black Gold or Without A Trace, the sleaze of 99% and beautiful Sun Maid are just a few of the gems in an album which doesnt really have a bad tune on it. A height they never quite scaled again despite or perhaps because of the plaudits, fame or celebrity girlfriends.

This is Soul Asylum on top rockin form.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
I remember listening to Virgin radio when 'Somebody to Shove' came on, and it was the first song in ages I had heard that had blown me a way. I immediately went searching for the album, as I hadn't even heard who the song was by.

Having found it, it was upstairs, door shut, and headphones on. Stereo set for full and joy. There are a few songs that are not as strong but the overall feeling for this album is excellent. Solid guitars, good lyrics and one I still return to when lost for what to listen to.

I can't comment on any of Soul Asylums other albums but for me this is just a solid piece of good rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
its a brrrrilliant album,full of light and dark,i used to do the cleaning of my dads office,and this was the ONLY playable album.the vocals i thaught sound alittle of tom petty..with more edge.
i hope you enjoy this grrreat album,as much as me,i haveant heard any other by them,but i heard they have recently toured,AleX(sidewalksurfer69)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
A fantastic rock album including the awesome 'Black Gold' and the massive hit 'Runaway Train'.

The original album had 12 tracks but this version has an additional 6 bonus live tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
Black Gold and Runaway train are both great songs, they actually have a menacing and feeling placed into them. The rest of the release is simply mediocre at best, as you start to realize that the singing is very poor and the guitars are very basic. It is very mediocre alternative rock, with really nothing impressive or distinguishable about it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
Have always loved this album, bought it to replace the last one that has become to old to play any more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
This was to replace a cassette, so I already knew what the album was like, 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Came on time happy with cd!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Grave Dancers Union
£22.81
Candy From a Stranger
£3.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)