Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
Freedom and Rain
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 February 2013
Disappointed as their voices have matured over the years making this recording seem flat by comparison with their performances now. Still glad I purchased it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2012
We are Oysterband fans and this CD is a great one to add to our collection. Lots of lovely songs and of course the great voice of June Tabor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2010
June Tabor is a fantastic voice, who unfortunately tends to over-specialise in misery and gloom. The Oyster band are a post-fairport, post-Steeleye Folk Rock band, full of good musicians, lacking a great singer and lacking a bit in direction.
Put the two together and you have dynamite, you have folk-rock at its very best. This is a great Album, with the drive and energy of the Oyster band clicking perfectly with the wonderful voice of June Tabor. My only regret - it wasn't a permanent "marriage" and they didn't keep making music together. Sadly they sort of returned to where they had come from................
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
The cd had a few light marks an was not sealed, but it played perfectly. and cd arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 28 April 2013
This first collaboration between the Oyster Band and June Tabor in 1990 produced an exceptional collection of rocking, upbeat songs. The youthful exuberance of `Freedom and Rain' sets it apart from the more mature 2011 reunion album `Ragged Kingdom' which, though good in parts, contains some downbeat traditional dirges less to the taste of some fans.

No dirges on F&R. The fine opener is a cover of `Mississippi Summer' ("I hope that I don't die before the harvest comes") followed by an upbeat version of Shane McGowan's `Lullaby of London'; an intense rhythmic take on Richard Thompson's `Night Comes In', Billy Bragg's `Valentine's Day is Over' and Lou Reed's `All Tomorrow's Parties'. Trad folk songs `Dives and Lazarus', `Dark Eyed Sailor' and `Susie Clelland' are also given the rocking Oyster Band treatment and fit right in with the album's adventurous style.

F&R managed to get the formula exactly right. Oyster band never sounded better, and it's a high point in Tabor's illustrious career. Trad and unashamedly modern at the same time, it's one of a kind and a classic of the British folk-rock genre.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2012
I really enjoyed this album. I saw the combo on the Big Session tour, 2004, and then got the album. This is one of those cover albums that just "works." Each track is based around the rocking-folky back up of the Oysterband, and the world class vocals of June Tabor, with vocals also from John Jones.

Here are my thoughts on some tracks witha few quotes from them thrown in.

1. Mississippi Summer- a moody, broody track summing up the frustration of the dustbowl, and a harsh north American summer... please god, send rain! Not the sort of track I'd normally listen to, but done so well.

2. Lullaby of London. The Pogues with June Tabors upbeat vocals- the laughter and the fights- excellent.

6. Divers and Lazarus- a biblical story/hymn done as a rock song. How cool is that- a drop of water, Brother Lazarus to sooth my aching thirst....

9. Susie Clelland- A Scotish ballad. She's fallen in love with an Englishman...

This album shows that, with a bit of creativity and a fair deal of talent how good and varied covers can be.

The only slight let down is that, in my opinion, Jonh Jones' vocal (though good) are well below the standard of Tabors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2006
June Tabor is a reclusive British folk singer with a sadly regal voice that evokes world-weariness coupled with inner strength. Her credentials go back to the 70s when she collaborated with Steeleye Span's Maddy Prior on the album Silly Sisters. Through the years she has produced a number of bleak, starkly arranged albums of traditional music such as Aqaba, that made her one of the most important exponents of this musical form in the tiny but dedicated British folk scene. Here she goes popular-modern on interpretations of dramatic material by the likes of Billy Bragg (Valentine's Day Is Over), Richard Thompson (Night Comes In), Shane McGowan (Lullaby of London) and - an inspired choice - Lou Reed's All Tomorrow's Parties. There are three traditional songs, of which Bonnie Sue Cleland is the best, and two songs in a modern folk idiom where fiddle and accordion are used to great effect on a light rock beat. June's rendition of All Tomorrow's Parties is resplendent with spooky fiddle expertly complementing the wistful quality of her voice - reason enough to get this album.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2009
A young June Tabor without the depth of later vocals - but still a lovely CD. The songs just grow on you and the Oysterband playing alongside her help create some great music that you want to play over and over again.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2013
This was bought as a present too for the same person so again delighted with my choice and I was delighted to find it on Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Nightfall
£15.55

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)