Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Follow The Leader
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 9 January 2018
Yes was fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2016
Always awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2015
Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2014
Right I'm not a big Koran fan but I will admit this is brilliant
With the iconic song. Freak on a leash on it
This is a must have cd for all new metal fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
Doesn't work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2014
I remember listening to this album most when I moved out for the first time and I played it over and over. Its very heavy and will keep you going for a good while. Its been a long time since iv heard it so I might just pop it on tonight and do some drawing and have that journey again. I always revisit korn albums after a few years and love the memories that come from the songs.

There is a very cool "outta my damn face" theme to this album. there is also that other element that is always in korn albums which says "protect the kids" or "don't mess with the kids or they will kick your ass" vibe and I love that, I really do it gets me all amped up and empowers the listener. There are some really nice "GRRR" moments when you just want to tear the room apart, its a real buzz. I hope my room remains intact tonight, though I have my doubts ha. Mind you I'm not half as angry as I used to be...probably because iv vented it all though this album.

This I guess would be a typical sounding album from korn with the signature drums, guitar,bass and vocals but its harder and longer with some very welcome guests too. Korn are always good to their fans by always giving them that little bit extra. Hugely recommended this real treat, its an album for life.

Damn it now I'm dying to listen to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2003
This is one of those moments where your ears are telling you something, and your mind and your friends are telling you something completely different. Thankfully I didn't give into the latter and have always enjoyed music for what it is and not who it's by. As no doubt everyone knows, KoRn are a nu-metal band, more than likely, the very first, as my knowledge on them isn't exactly wide-spread. All I know about them 15 days ago, was that they performed vicious nu-metal, turgid riffs and delicate but raging vocals. The other side you hear is that they're...constantly depressed...boring...samesy...and that they're just not as people as their music portrays. Thankfully, I can, on my own behalf, eradicate 2 of the 4. While they do stick to a similar style throughout, KoRn are still pretty varied, and it certainly isn't a boring style, as KoRn's own brand of metallic groove based metal is actually quite thrilling...
And despite many people's opinion that Johnathan Davies is just a whiner, he does have a terrific voice. Or should I say voices.
There are two primary elements to KoRn's music. The metallic grooving of the guitars and the weapon in Davies' throat. The crunch of the guitars in the likes of 'opener', 'It's On!' and 'Got The Life', build up slowly and when they do start pacing at full pelt, they pull you in and don't let go, and while being hauled in, that weapon in Davies' throat is just getting ready to blow...his wide array of vocal styles adds a unique sound to KoRn without even starting on the guitars and fine drumming. On 'Follow The Leader', KoRn are almost 3D and could be standing right there in front of you, such is the visual abilites that the music lends itself out to.
It's also pure rage throughout, which I suppose is to be expected. Don't look for acoustic songs or low key moments on 'Follow The Leader' this is all about vile expression. It's also amazingly accessible, while being very harsh and obliterating. 'Got The Life' could have been a dance floor hit in rock clubs, and is very funky and still acceptable to those who just prefer downright turgid. 'B.B.K.', while being the album highlight, seems to borrow from Alice In Chains fairly well, although I have never heard a band borrow from AIC without failing, but KoRn do have those layered vocal styles that made Layne Staley's voice so appealing.
The only problem with 'Follow The Leader' is that there are tracks that just don't need to be there. 'All In The Family' with Fred Durst, might be hilarious to some, but it's like nails on a blackboard to others, especially those who don't like Durst anyway...'Children Of The Korn' features rapper Ice Cube, and is just...well, to keep it short not good. Whoever thought some of the collaberations on 'Follow...' were a good idea needs to think again. But if it was the same guy who wrote or produced the other immaculate, rather unshiney grinders, they also need a pat on the back. It does wear a little thin towards the end, but it doesn't seem to matter, as it does leave the listener satisfied.
But it's just a matter of whether you think you could stand it. If you KNOW you don't like KoRn, then why bother even looking? With 'Follow The Leader' it seems to me that if you like any of the singles, then you might just like the rest of the album. If you don't, then it's not worth it. What have I learned?
Never judge a book by its cover, and never judge a band on other ears opinions.
4 Stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2009
After the exposure KoRn gained from their first 2 albums, they really come out fighting on this glossier and more ambitious affair. The self-titled debut had sparked a whole new generation of metal bands and for a time this proved to be some of the most popular music on the planet. While Life Is Peachy wasn't a terrible record, it was nowhere near as good as it's predescessor, which is probably why this album changed this around a fair bit.

Of course, the main elements are still there. KoRn had always been popular because of their cathartic, angry songs that allowed a young, pissed-off generation of people to vent their grievances in the mosh pit. And make no mistake, this album still deals with alienation, parental pressures, injstice and hatred in good amounts. At times, such as bridge of the behemoth My Gift To You, frontman Jonathan Davis sounds like he might explode with pure rage. The brilliant guitar combination of Brian "Head" Welch and James "Munky" Shaffer still shines, providing their trademark interlocking rhythm and lead parts with grinding, clinking and squeaking sound effects. The bass and drums still clunk and slam away with unbridled energy.

But there are some notable differences. The production has improved and is now more proffesional, with a bigger emphasis on atmospherics. This is shown in songs such as Dead Bodies Everywhere and Cameltosis, the latter with it's Asian-sounding guitars and the former with its fairly quiet verses which contrast the explosive intro. Fieldy seems to have truly found his feet with his slap bass technique, the only proof needed is the hugely popular Got The Life, nuff sed. There are also more guest spots on this album, the best of which is Ice Cube's turn on rap-metal classic Children Of The KoRn. Fred Durst provides some silly-but-funny banter on All In The Family, and The Pharcyde's Tre Hardson appears on Cameltosis.

Vocally and lyrically there are differences too. Davis's lyrics may cover a lot of similar topics to previous efforts, but they are slighly less explicit now, and more metaphorical in places. The delivery is also slightly more accessible than some of the screams and eerie whispers of their debut, for example. Having said that, they are still delivered well and the lyrics are strong. The album contains some of the best lyrics he has ever written on certain songs, such as Freak On A Leash, which became a huge hit and is still well-loved.

Follow The Leader is an essential album for both KoRn fans and Nu-Metal fans, as it typifies both KoRn's commercial peak and some of the best and most memorable work they have ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2011
Well its a LONG time since this album came out, 14 years I think at the time of writing this review. But after locating it again amongst my collection I decided to write an article on what is an absolute masterpiece. After the release of their self titled album "Korn" in 1994 the so-called kings of metal had a lot to live up to with this release. The follow up "Life Is Peachy" didnt quite scale the heights, however this, the bands third studio album absolutely lived up to all expectations. With the original lineup of Jon, Fieldy, Dave, Munky & Head this album really is the pinnacle of their creative brilliance.

From the very first "proper" track of "Its On!" (the 1st 12 tracks are silent snippets) the band let rip into what can only be described as a section of sick, hard, heavy riffs with Jon Davis spouting some quite unreal vocals. "Freak On A Leash" is probably the stand out track and still to this day sounds superb. Many old-skool korn fans say this is their most commercial album, which all be told it probably is. Dont let this fool you however, it really is a roller-coaster ride from start to finish.

If your a rock/ metal fan then trust me, BUY IT, NOW !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)