Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 June 2012
I bought this album along with several others after I was contacted by the organiser of a function I was working at (as a guitar vocalist.)The function was a party for the Diamond Jubilee and she left it till the last moment to ask me to play "singalong songs in keeping with the theme of the day while you're having your break and during the meal" Having trawled through the Amazon site I decided to download this album as mp3 files. I'ts exactly what I was looking for as the atmosphere it creates is that of a pub singalong round a piano like in "the good old days." The recording is not over produced which would be counter productive but the sound is clear. All in all a good buy at a good price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
Oh what a great 'sing-song' session we had in our house when it was first played. Lovely memories revisited by the 'oldies'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2018
Great CD.
Use it for sing alongs with nursing home residents who love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2016
Really enjoyed singing along with the songs of my childhood and like how they were put together in small singalong medleys.
Would prefer more male voices and a cockney accent to get in the spirit of it all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2009
This CD has proven to be a very popular singalong for elderly people in care. It raises a smile as they remember the good old songs from the past/ their younger days. Good Value
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2018
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
It would be ok but there is a large chunk in the middle of the CD that hasnt recorded so there are about 5 songs missing. I cannot find who to send the CD back to to replace!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2017
great CD to keep the elderly very happy at social gatherings would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2013
The over 60s will remember these songs when they were sung at Pub sing a longs, On the radio, The forces would sing when being transported and on the march, Works outings they would sing all the way on the journey and back, The family sing a long where the songs were handed down from generation to generation.
The sing a longs started to die out in the late fifties as TVs became more obtainable.
The CD Album only contains shortened well known songs and how they were sung in the 40s and 50s which is very important.
These songs have an amazing response when played in homes for the elderly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2011
I purchased this for my 83yr old Father who lives in a care home and has dementia,as "a pick me up" following a recent illness, for him it was wonderful, singing along at the top of his voice, great tonic, he really enjoyed it, the old favourites Daisy Daisy, Roll out the Barrel, Long way to Tipperary, etc perfect for his era! and for me I got huge pleasure from seeing his spirits lifted and the other residents enjoyed singing alonging with him to - brillaint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)