Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Blade
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
17
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2001
The actual film soundtrack does not begin until track 12, so if you're a fan of the movie you may feel duped. The first ten tracks are rap, 'inspired' by the film and no doubt 'inspired' by Wesley Snipes (Album's Executive Producer....mmm). A dozen tracks from the movie are missing including the end credits tune! (I bet those artists are pleased!) The remaining techno/dance tunes have been pushed to the end. That said, when they finally arrive they are bangin' tunes. Pump Panel's "vampire bloodbath frenzy", recently revamped by Public Domain and the Warp Bros, sets the tone along with Expansion Union's "final battle". Thankfully, it's a long album so the blistering last 20 minutes will just about get your money's worth but left me feeling cynical. Approach "music from & inspired by" soundtracks with caution, they really mean "anything we want".
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2004
I went out and bought this soundtrack very soon after first seeing the film in 1999, and i have to say its a mixed bag. I think most people's overriding memory of the music in Blade would be the underground club/meat factory scene right at the beginning of the film. The scene featured the now legendary and much re-remixed remix of New Order's 'Confusion' which has really turned out to be the signature track everybody remembers from the movie (due no doubt in part to the dramatic 'blood sprinklers' bit). And yet there are some 12 or so tracks before that on the album, the first 9 of which i don't recall at all. Of course it is the nature of Soundtrack albums to include songs that aren't prominent in the movie (playing quietly on a radio in the background of a heavy dialogue scene for example), as well as heavily featured ones. But i was amazed that the first track that sounded familiar was the tenth one in!!! My overriding memory of Blade was of 4/4 dance stompers (the aforementioned 'Confusion'), and Curtis Mantronic etc. and some Big Beat type power stuff. I really don't have much recall of any Hip Hop type stuff that features on the first 8 or 9 tracks on this soundtrack. I think what i am trying to say is that if -like me- you went out and bought this album primarily 'cos you thought the 'blood sprinklers' scene's music was awesome, then you may not get into the first 9 tracks of this album. I habitually go directly to track ten and let it play out from there, as that material seems to better represent the general feel from the movie. 'Confusion' is worth the price alone though so, never mind eh?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2000
There are four excellent dance tracks that are in the film while the rest of the cd is "inspired by" rap, that seems to be catering to Mr Snipes (producer) taste rather than what fans of the film want i.e. the complete original soundtrack. Maybe they'll get round to realeasing a second volume that is what fans really want.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
Skip the first half (apart from the first 2 tracks, those are the tits) as they seem quite cheesy to today's hip-hop standards, go straight to the dance side for the fun. Including amazing works from DJ Krush, Roger Sanchez and JXL, this will get anyone ready for an eternal battle against the vampire horde.
Also features New Order's 'Confusion' [Pump Panel Reconstruction remix], which is often mis-listed online as 'Blood Rave'. This is a 9 minute club classic that will get everyone on the dancefloor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Last 4 tracks are in the film and are fantastic. The rest is bilge. I ripped the 4 and gave it away cos it was a penny plus postage or summat on associated sellers. The good tunes get a 5 * all day long but overall dragged down by dross. Out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
This is such a wasted opportunity. One of the key things about Blade is the incredible soundtrack...so where is it? After 11 tracks of hip-hop inspired by the movie, we finally get to the good stuff...except there's only four tracks of it! The songs that accompany the most memorable scenes are here but what about the post credit tunes? I also heard that DJ Krush made a few contributions to the film but we only get one song from the pool party scene. Blade 2 and 3 were given proper soundtracks so why not this one? GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 1999
As soundtracks go, this ain't bad. In my opinion there's a little too much rap, and not enough of the music featured in the vampire butt-kicking scenes. The original instrumental themes from the movie don't seem to be there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
I bought this cd only for the New Order track - the one played in the club at the beginning of the movie. The other tracks are not bad to be honest - especially if your a hip-hop/rap fan. Well worth the money I paid, pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
I have to be honest when i first heard this CD i thought i had made a terrible mistake as i felt i hardly liked any of the tracks on it.
But after listening to it a good few times it is starting to grow on me.
The main problem i found with this CD is obv when watching the movie you are only hearing seconds worth of a song and when i heard some of them in full i didnt like them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Loved the film and the soundtrack sounded excellant so i bought and it was brilliant especially full bast on stereo and drinking wine while grooving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here