Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

RZA as Bobby Digital in Stereo
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 February 2014
Decent album from the RZA. If your a fan of the Wu or Rza then you'll know lyricism isn't his strong part but where he lacks there he more than makes up for it on the beats. Old skool hip hop and not a bad 1st solo effort from the RZA
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2016
excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
I love Wu Tang but lyrically Rza is, and always has been, the weakest lyricist on any album. Rambling incoherence that merges into drawled-talking has become his trademark signature abd he has ruined many a decent Wu track - if you've ever seen Wu live you will know exactly what I mean. I wouldnt recommend this album - Only Built for Cuban Linls or Liquid Swords are far better Wu solo albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2014
RZA's first outing after the successful debut of '36 Chambers' and other solo releases by the clan, his beats are the same unique style, and his emceeing is okay in parts and dreadful in other's, but that's the RZA, he's a better producer than a rapper.

Best tracks on this album:

5. Airwaves
14. Kiss Of A Black Widow (feat ODB)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2001
I thought this was a half hearted and lazy attempt at an Wu-Tang album so i just dismissed it and listened to the other solo stuff Rza has produced for his other Wu members.Think again.This album is one of the best albums i have ever listened to.Rza never ceases to amaze me with his raw,raw,raw lyrical skills.His Brooklyn slang mixed in with his high knowledge of physics(in which he studied) is so refreshing to hear compared to other generic rap attempts.The beats are imaginative and grow on you like a bad disease,like "My Lovin' is Digi" which starts of with rather weak singing about someone "f***ing with his pussy" and turns into one of the best lyrical assults on my ears ive heard in years.Another seemingly faultless song is "Unspoken Word" which seems like one big long lyric for five minutes.All in all don't expect Wu-Tang but expect Bobby Digital.Don't expect shaolin but expect cyber-funk B.O.B.B.Y D.I.G.I.T.A.L.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2001
The man is clearly the brains behind everything Wu. This record is a mad mixture of complex beats and ingenious ryhmes. Any true Wu fan would be a fool not to have this one in their collection. Love the track "Mantis" and the collaboration with the ODB on "Kiss of the black widow". Dark, dark beats throughout make this the moodiest hip-hop album in recent years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2009
RZA is one of my favourite artists, and this album is one of my favourites. That is only because of certain songs. The album is inconsistent but it still has RZA's magic touch to it.

Some excellent beats and great songs. I would recommend this to any RZA fan or hip hop fan, but I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't enjoy it.

You will either love it or hate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2005
Its highly rated but im not really feeling this album. Rza is a talented rapper and does a great job over the occaisional verse with the clan but I thought a whole album of him would be too much. Here rza surpasses all expectations. However this really is meant to be a producer's album and for me this is where 'bobby' fails to deliver. There are signs of the classic 'wu sound' (skeletal/sampled strings). But in my opinion although different the production is miles from that of 'cuban linx' or 'liquid swords'. I really hate the stupid 'slow grind' skits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2003
This album is complete genius. The first time I heard it I couldn't quite get it but by the second time I was hooked from begining to end it is excellent and so different and original compared to the crap that was coming out in the late 90s. Rza is a complex intellegent and highly skilled Mc but he hardly ever gets the credit he deserves. The beats are also outstanding from the fast paced 'B.O.B.B.Y' to the bass heavy 'Holocaust' and to top it all off it has numerous appearences by Killarmy and various front members of the Wu. This is no doubt one of the best solo Wu Tang releases and one of the best hip hop albums ever so Pick it up you don't know what you're missing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2000
No-one in the UK or US hip hop community would deny that the Rza is a genius, his past exploits are exceptional, the tracks that he has produced and which are contained within the brilliant first five 'Wu-tang' solo albums are a testament to his status as possibly the finest Hip Hop producer of his generation.
However, I regret to inform, this, as Rza's first outing as a solo artist, is frustratingly under-par. Rza's touch as a musician and rapper is lost as he rants and raves over mediocre tracks which he must have asked his less talented 'gods' to produce while he was out filming one of his daft movies. Gone is the creativity, gone is the wild string arrangements, compressed basslines and imaginative sample breaks, seemingly the music contained within this album is too clean, too polished, like a Puff Daddy production. Gone too is the hunger, when wu-tang were starving near nobodies in 93 their productivity was at its finest.
The thundering track 'Mantis' only really shines as it contains all the former 'wu-tang' elements that made the clan stand out. 'Domestic Violence' is humorous but shockingly bad and I can imagine the other clan members sniggering in the shadows as Rza drops another of his weak lines "You wanna be a nurse, you gotta go to school first"...I would argue that all Wu-tang fans would have to admitt that this album really cannot be described as a five out of five...
I give it two for roping Lisa L'Anson in to do a skit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The  W
£5.29
Iron Man
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)