Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2015
I bought this Album when it was first released and it still remains one of my favourite albums of all time. After reading some of these negative reviews, I felt I must add in my own five star review to increase its rating. Some people have something wrong with their ears!!!! I know it doesn't sound very Way Out Westy or Global Undergroundy but its not supposed to. It's a classic, it's original & unique.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2003
The perfect chillout album? This masterfully selected and mixed CD achieves the chillout nirvana of being sublime without being bland. It would be wrong to pick out individual tracks as the success of the mix it in creating a flowing mood throughout the length of the cd. The only very minor criticism being the inclusion of a (now) over familiar Moby track.
Buy, play, enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2003
Nick Warren has scoured his back cat of tunes to find anything but the norm. To be a DJ, you should appreciate, but not neccesarily play all types of music - dance or not. Here we can see how much attention Mr Warren pays to his passion and his livelihood. Stand out tracks - Autumn Leaves remix and Tears for Fears - Pharoes.
If you appreciate solitude and can relax in your own company this is the ideal drifting soundtrack to a film that was never made. Not to be missed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2001
This is a little gem to pull from the old cd rack when all that you can focus on is hearing the most excellent of chilled out beats. This album completely opened my eyes to Nick Warren and his abilities to provide "honey for the soul". If you allow this to pass you by, don't come crying to us when your fluffy post club duvet turns out to be a wet flannel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2001
Every time you listen to this album you rediscover how excellent it is. It is perfect for a post-club chill-out when the last thing you want is banging tunes. There is a perfect combination on this album: some great ambient beats, beautiful vocals, and a vague disco-ey feel.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2000
Back to Mine is a series and the idea was asking well known artists to make their ultimate chill out compilation. So this is not the Nick Warren you know. This is a beautiful personal mixture. Other beauties are Dave Seaman's version (5 stars) and Groove Armada's very unique approach (4 stars)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
This is definitely an "after party" album, when the manic stuff has finished and you need some gentle tonics to ease you back to planet earth. Nick Warren, always in touch with intelligent high-IQ music, resists the temptation to throw a lot of hair-brained chillout mixes at us, instead choosing more ethereal elements from an exhaustive catalogue of music at his disposal. Some excellent pieces here, especially Coldcut's Autumn Leaves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
This CD is absolutely excellent. Its not a banging or trance set like some, more a funky but mellow album inspired no doubt by all of those nights when you just want something to chill to.
I've never Nick Warren put out anything like this before but it really works. Everyone who has listened to this with me has really liked it, not just people into house or trance.
Well worth the money, I rank it up there with Oakenfold on Global Underground and my old Northern Exposures. You've got to hear it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
This is one of the best of the series and also one of the most consistent there isnt a bad track on it, do what I did and check out the tracks on You Tube where someone has kindly uploaded every track, you wont be dissapointed. It really is something I'd want to put on when everyone came back to mine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
Bought on the basis of previous albums under way out west.
Given a few listens and it is a grower.
Even tho it is mixed all the way thru there is plenty opportunity to be creative mixing with other material.

If your looking for tracks with elements of breakbeat trip-hop style rhythms blessed with airy syths then this is a good start.
There are plenty of interesting mixes of original versions here but this is not a typical way out west album, far from it.
It does have its suble hints but this mixture has a different kind of relative.

go buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)