Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 1999
This album is awe-inspiring in its unique range of beautiful sounds. There are songs which have been heard before (on Kiri's 50th birthday CD) and also new songs, but the exciting part is that they have new arrangements. e.g. Pokarekare Ana , which Kiri usually sings unsccompanied as an encore at her concerts, begins with birdsongs, then the male voices come in and then Kiri's beautiful soprano soars above all, and our spirits soar with her. This is innovative, thrilling, and accompanied by THE MOST BEAUTIFUL photos of Dame Kiri that John Swannell has ever taken!!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 1999
This album is awe-inspiring in its unique range of beautiful sounds. There are songs which have been heard before (on Kiri's 50th birthday CD) and also new songs, but the exciting part is that they have new arrangements. e.g. Pokarekare Ana , which Kiri usually sings unsccompanied as an encore at her concerts, begins with birdsongs, then the male voices come in and then Kiri's beautiful soprano soars above all, and our spirits soar with her. This is innovative, thrilling, and accompanied by THE MOST BEAUTIFUL photos of Dame Kiri that John Swannell has ever taken!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 1999
This CD is magic, from track one to track 16! It has so many beautiful melodies, the Maori singers are great, especially the men, and of course, Dame Kiri is beautiful. Her emotion throughout the songs is awe inspiring, as are the PHOTOS! I didn't know someone was allowed to look that gorgeous! You'll listen to this album over and over so it's a very good investment ;) BUY IT!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
We sought this out after hearing the Maori ANZAC choir singing "E para Ri" at the Menin Gate in Ypres (Belgium) on ANZAC day in April 2015. Another excellent reminder of this singer's range and power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Found in a charity shop, going back to a charity shop. There are moments of great beauty on this cd, but unfortunately the whole is a rather sanitised and poppified rendering of what I can only imagine it might have been in the raw. One gets this impression from the occasional true Maori voice coming through, which is where the spine starts to tingle. There are not enough of those moments to make it worth keeping when shelf space is so short however.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
This is a beautiful album which seems to appeal to everyone. The Classical and popular music lovers alike have commented on this music, and Ms Kanawa's dulcet tones lift the spirits.

It seems equally at home with backgound or easy listening or dinner parties or just wafting across conversation.

I am wearing it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Having travelled to NZ and enjoyed Maori singing, we made the mistake of thinking that Kiri would deliver the goods.
Sadly her trained classical voice is totally wrong for the Maori sound. My wife was very disappointed by the CD and it will be found in a charity shop very soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2008
I fell in love with Maori music when I first heard the compositions; "Huri Huri," and "Po Ata Rau (Now is the Hour)" at a museum during a Thanksgiving weekend. This is soothing sound of Maori folk songs, and this CD includes 16 compositions performed by the proud daughter of Maori people, the opera singer Kiri Te Kanawa, and it was released to celebrate the new millennium.

1. Hine E Hine"
2. "Tarakihi (The Locust)"
3. "Moe Mai E Hine"
4. "Hoea Ra"
5. "Matangi"
6. "Huri Huri"
7. "E Papa (Titi Torea/E Aue)"
8. "Ara Ka Titiro"
9. "Hoki Hoki Tonu Mai"
10. "Po Ata Rau (Now Is The Hour)"
11. "Piki Mai"
12. "Haere Ra E Hine"
13. "E Pari Ra"
14. "Akoako O Te Rangi"
15. "Tahi Nei Taro Kino"
16. "Po Karekare Ana"

The composition "Huri Huri" is rich and melodious, and "Now Is the Hour" is another popular song; well-known recordings of the song were made by Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, and Gracie Fields. The "Po Karekare Ana" is a traditional love song communally composed about the time WWI, and it was popularized by Maori soldiers who were training for the war. This is a great opportunity to listen to some great folk music and enjoy: Highly recommended.

1. The Maori Heart: Jade Eru Sings Maori Love Songs
2. Maori Songs
3. Maori Songs of New Zealand
4. Maori Chants
5. Waiata: Music of the Maori
6. Kahurangi: Music of the New Zealand Maori
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
I decided to buy this CD because of an interview Kiri gave to a Greek newspaper prior to her appearance in the Herod the Atticus Ancient Theatre in Athens on October 6, 2006. When asked if she would sing Maori songs, she answered tersely: "No". I am sure that, like us, a lot of people in Athens were hoping she would sing outside her normal "classical" repertory. However, they were disappointed. Kiri sang, the orchestra (the very competent Serbian Radio Orchestra) accompanied her and we all went home, most having paid the equivalent of 2.5 hours salary for the cheapest tickets available. Some US or British tourists left early, no doubt to get a good night's sleep before next day's journey or tour.

The CD itself has some very traditional songs which have made their way to the international repertory. The sounds are mostly very Western. The love songs, in particular were quite expressive of the expectations and experiences of youth.
All in all, it was good value for money and it went some way in alleviating the vacuum I felt after the live Athens concert.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Beautiful Maori songs KTK has an angelic voice
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.00
£8.22

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)