Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
Lament
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.42+ £1.26 shipping


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 March 2013
With the album's name a hostage to fortune, `Lament' was issued in 1984. I was nineteen at the time, and loved most of this album to death, playing it loud and consistently. My neighbours must have been sick to death of it but never complained.

I consider it to be superior to the previous `Quartet' but still not as good as `Rage in Eden'. There are no duff tracks, but only one worthy of five stars - `One Small Day', an anthem for the frustrated man. The album as a whole is less innovative than previous releases in terms of song formats: there are no instrumentals and all songs are now arranged in a standard pop/rock structure. It feels as if the group are playing safe and looking forward to the international stadium-filling stardom that failed to arrive.

The main difference arising from the remastering is that which can be applied to all of the albums, namely the primary focus being placed on the guitar. The remastering equally makes the sound seem more distant: over there rather than right here. But the track that is most affected by the remastering is the stripped-back production now accorded to the opening track `White China'. It is barely recognisable from the original album. A `special mix' appears on the second CD just (and only just) makes up for the damage.

Indeed, it is the seventy-two minutes of the second disc that makes this package more than worthwhile. It's chock-full of extended versions, B-sides, and remixes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2016
This really is an awesome album.I saw the band when they toured Lament,stage draped in army rope/canvas sheeting.
Man of Two Worlds(non single track) was always my fave,very Celtic.But overall the album does not have a bad track.Lament,the song is a beautiful ballad,on a par with Vienna and Visions In Blue.White China is a oft neglected classic,and ofcourse the hits Dancing WithTears In My Eyes and One Small Day are included.Please buy this album,which sounds absolutely gorgeous in this extended remastered package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2015
Ultravox at their best. Nothing else to say really. Brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2010
This remastering is of the highest quality and so much better than the original CD release.

This was the age of the 12" remix, and disc two captures the spirit of the truly extended instrumental.

Highly recommended and worthy of the Definitive Edition tag line.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
Thank you I'm pleased with the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2013
Great to hear this album again and great to see them playing live again. Been a long time since i listened to this. Still sounds as good as it did when first released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2013
A group I enjoyed listening to in the '80s and still enjoy their music now. This is an album I use to have on cassette, so I decided to buy it on cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2009
Not usually one to review in any form before the actual release date (though promos are starting to circulate) I have been eagerly awaiting the expanded treatment of "Lament", Ultravox's last album proper.

As a fan, one of the most elusive vinyl only releases is associated with this album and its singles, the US/Canadian only 12" ft "Dancing With Tears" (extended mix by Steve Thompson) and "One Small Day" (club mix by Kervorkian). These mixes have yet to surface on any compilation as far as I am aware, even if only restorable from vinyl.

Huge disappointment then as this reissue does not address this! We have the 3 UK mixes of "Day" and the standard 12" mix of "Dancing", yet with careful reshuffling of some b-sides and short instrumentals onto the 30 minutes of space at the end of CD1 these rare and sought after mixes could have been included on CD2. Even if they had to be restored from good vinyl (with a note explaining this) surely the label concerned could have given fans a truly closer-to-complete version?

This is still a great album, and based on the other recent 'definitive' 2-CD releases I am sure the mastering and presentation will be very good.

But what a golden opportunity missed (to improve sales too!). Hohum....
99 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
A must have for all Ultravox fans - very moving music a great CD which stilI enjoy listening to over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2013
Just love this album, thought I already had it in my collection, so was excited when I played it just brilliant... Midge Ure is fantastic!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)