Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 8 January 2011
Robin Trower took a lot of stick in the 70s as a so called Hendrix clone - I even remember getting a dozy letter published in the hallowed(?) Melody Maker in 1975, fighting his corner, bless - but he was always much better than that. After a 40 year plus career - he first made his mark with Procol Harum - this album remains his high water mark. Blasting off with Day of the Eagle (still a staple he plays in his live sets to this day), it moves through the moody title track to the wistful In This Place, where RT duels with bassist Jim Dewar's outstanding bluesy vocals (what an underrated and classy singer he was). Too Rolling Stoned (another perennial live classic) is the worthy centrepiece of the album, leading into a sensational finish with Lady Love (melodic, almost singles material, perish the thought!) and Little Bit of Sympathy, a suitably raucous album closer. Trower's fretwork is about feel, not flash, and his solos are from the heart. There's no risk in buying this one - and make sure you catch him live whilst you can. Essential listening.
33 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2013
I bought this album in 1974 when it came out and always loved it so I thought I'd buy the CD version. I'm enjoying all the magic, urgency and panache all over again. Great stuff. Unfortunately the bottom end isn't there! Overall the sound is limp. So I imported the tracks into Sonar X2, added a chunk of bottom and, a tad of mids and all is now well. Re-burned a CD of this. I can now hear the kick drum! So: highly recommended if you haven't heard it before but beware, whoever engineered it for release on CD did a very bad job in my opinion. Contact me if you want a copy of the corrected 'oomph' version!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2012
I purchased this CD along with the Best of Robin Trower (The Day of the Eagle) and whilst there is some overlap - tracks wise - I am delighted with both CD's.

I first came across RT's work on an old BBC clip, with his 'power trio' playing 'Bridge of Sighs' and I knew then that I had to hear more. With the risk of repeating myself, some have argued that Trower is derivative, being 'Hendrixesque', yet I would argue that Trower has taken inspiration from others and then crafted his own destiny. It can also be argued that, during his tenure, in the Prog.Rock, Procol Harum, he was a contempory of Hendrix's, no wonder then that RT has been claimed as an influence by and for the likes of SRV, Fripp et al.

As with the 'Best of RT' IMHO, there are no duds on this album, all tracks are superb, no solos just for the sake of them and each track, as a song, is complete with each band member fulfilling his role superbly. It is also nice to hear the orginal tracks - as far as a CD will allow - compared to the 'Bonus Tracks' BBC Sessions (John Peel 1974 and 1975). The 1975 tracks include; 'Fine Day', Confessin' Midnight', 'It's only Midnight' and 'Gonna be more Suspicious'.

Trower's guitar tone is divine and his playing considered and thoughtful, even if it is instinctive and comes from the heart, a contradiction in terms? Maybe, but have a listen and hear what I mean, there is 'space' within his work, superb riffs, with considered, integral solos, yet space too - inspirational!

With a three piece band there are no margins for error - Trower, Dewer and Isidore/Lordon are well rehearsed and a tight unit.

The title track, 'Bridge of Sighs', has a vast, spacious, sweeping riff throughout, with some wonderful licks and fills, superb vocals and simple but thought provoking lyrics. Blues rock at the heart of its DNA, yet echos of Prog. Rock too, fully incorporated, adding even more space and an other-worldlyness to the track.

Anyone into 'Tull, Zeppelin, Cream et al., in short, 'blues rock', will love Mr. Trower's work.

A nice little foreword is included by Robin Trower (as are fairly comprehensive notes on the make up on the tracks and who played what, where and when etc.) - on how the album came together - yet, I, for one, really miss the old gate-fold sleeves of the late lamented vinyl LP's, those were the days when each LP purchase was an event - in itself - to be savoured!

All in all highly recommended...
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
Never really got into Robin Trower in the 70's i was more of a hard rock heavy metal fan. I did purchase for "earth below" on cassette so that age's me. Recently saw a BBC4 episode of guitar heroes and saw Robin playing "Bridge Of Sighs" with the brilliant James Dewar on vocals. What a fantastic and overlooked singer so soulful and bluesy he makes this album. So i bought this great album and glad i did absolutely brilliant stuff. As far as i'm concerned the British holy trinity triumvirate of guitar greats of Beck, Clapton, Page should now include Robin Trower. And as for you naysayers who say Hendrix clone I think Jimi would actually be flattered.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
Massively overrated album apart from the title track which is class practically all the songs are samey I just about managed to listen to the album in its entirety and was bored to tears
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2018
This is a welcome reissue, especially with the extra tracks, but the sound, at least on my CD copy, has a harsh top end which really detracts from my enjoyment of the music. The cymbals and high notes have a really grating edge and it's not my speakers as my other Trower albums sound excellent. Maybe I just have a bad copy?

Perhaps Mr Trower's best album, but most of his records are excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
I purchased this CD to replace my original vinyl album to preserve it for longevity of life, as it is in superb condition. Personally, I think that this is Robin Thrower's best album, excellent guitar work and a top prog rock album, that you all should have in your collection. Too Rolling Stoned superb, I wish it lasted a good thirty minutes or more, as once you get in the track, you can drift off to where ever you want to be, shame it did not jam forever, perhaps if CDs were out when this was recorded, it would of been a mahoosively long track to drift away with. If you like a superb guitarist and have not heard Robin Trower get on it, as you will stay on it if you do. Long live our heroes of the seventies, there is nothing to match them at all.
Buy it and enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2016
Accidental music discovery which I listened to and enjoyed. Music would interest those who like guitar driven rock, deeply reminiscent of Hendrix and similar. Being several years later this recording sounds like it has many influences from the era. The CD like many reissued of 1970's recordings has a bunch of bonus tracks are superfluous, unless maybe you are a fan and need a marketing led reason to buy a second copy. May be I should have searched for the vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2010
This is as good as I remember it being all those years ago. The title track has a stunning riff which lodges in your head for a day or two.
James Dewar's voice is no great shakes, but suited to the material.
Surprisingly, the material hasn't dated a lot. It's still identifiable as being mid 70's, but still enjoyable for all that.
Probably the best out of the four LPs released '73-'76:- "Twice Removed from Yesterday", "For Earth Below" and "Long Misty Days". Having said that the other three are worth checking out.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2007
By 1974, there was a faint chill in the air, suggesting that the magic half decade of 1968 to 73 might just be starting to fade. This (along with the first Nutz album and Golden Earring's Moontan) was one album that suggested otherwise.

Bridge of Sighs has many fine moments, though for me mainly those in which he pulls those slow electric guitar chords with such aching passion (better than Hendrix ever did, if you ask me), whilst bass player James Dewar's vocals are loaded with emotion too. Produced by fellow ex-Procol Harum keyboardist, Matthew Fisher and, not surprisingly, justly hailed as pretty well the rock album of its year.

As issued originally, this was rather thick, sonically, but the music and atmosphere shine through, and that thickness has been much ameliorated by pretty good 24 bit digital remastering. Why they haven't bothered with NoNoise treatment to purge the tape hiss I can't imagine. Nothing else he's done (that I ever heard) comes close to this, though the follow up Caravan To Midnight was quite, um, nice.

Reg Isidore's drumming is okay, but nothing special it must be said, and overall this isn't sheer magic from end to end. But it is, undeniably, very good, especially the title track and Too Rolling Stoned which opens (what was) Side 2 of the original vinyl issue.

The roster of bonus tracks (on this edition) consists of all but one of the tracks off the studio album, recorded live at The Record Plant in LA, not long after its release. They're interesting for the purposes of comparison with the finished studio work, but in themselves not particularly interesting and sonically are pretty dreadful, principally due to the absence of any second guitar (double tracked by Mr T on the studio album). He should have had a guest guitarist to provide that on tour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)