Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
91
The Best Of Faces: Good Boys ... When They're Asleep ...
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 February 2017
Bought as a present for my dad- he loves it! Can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
Excellent. Good mixture of songs that are as good today as when they were first released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
dated but still better than 60% of present day
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2017
The best of Rod and the Faces before he went downhill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
The stuff of legends.Real rock n roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2013
What do you get when you put Ronnie Lane, Ronnie Wood, Kenney Jones, Rod Stewart and Ian McClagan together ? Simple some of the best rockin' music ever and this cracking set more than proves that. Full of absolute goodies from start to finished. Rod Stewart has said the band never really reached their full potential, well if they didn't they certainly gave us some pretty great stuff. The box set is one of the best sets ever 'Five Guys walked Into A Bar', not cheap but absolutely essential listening, and chock full f little diamond nuggets. Here though very cleaply and superbly remastered we get a vert tasty indeed best of, and is without doubt any true rock music fan should never miss out on. The great songs, the hits, the fans favourites,This band could really play and whip up a storm live,even in the studio they knew how to get that groove and hold it. Ronnie Lane was a fantastic songwriter and possessed the voice to go with it. Ronnie Wood really for me developed into the great guitar player we have today with Faces, listen here and many of the riffs and rhythms you've had from the Stones are here and at times its that same exciting groove before the Stones latched onto it. From the opening 'Flying', through the classic,'Sweet Lady Mary','Miss Judy's Farm', 'Ooh La La','Had Me A Real Good Time' (what a great live song that is),''Your So rude', 'Borstal Boys' and on and on, nineteen absolutely fabulous tracks by a fabulous band who's only problem was they didn't stay around long enough but their legacy is the history of Classic British Bands, and what a legacy that is. They all moved onto other things, each gained success, but this for me is where it all began 's still as exiting as the day they first were released. No one but no one should miss this slice of rock history but more than that great music. As the subtitle says on this release, 'Good Boys....When They were Asleep', but it's when they were awake we were treated to this amazing and great fun music !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
This is a great collection from the Faces best albums of the 70s. I'd forgotten how good they were. Best pub band in the world, maybe, but sensationally exciting. They never wanted their sound to be too polished or over-produced and they were right, as this helped them recreate a "semi-live" improv style. They never quite knew how to finish together and Ronnie was never the best guitarist in the world, but they had bags of soul, guts, love of the music...and made sure their audience were having almost as much fun as they were! Terrific. They also wrote some great rock n roll songs on the way. I'm gonna get the original full albums again, I think. I had them on vinyl, wish I still had them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 August 2015
Despite the line-up and undeniable quality of their music, I don't believe that The Faces have ever received the recognition or the fan base that they really deserved. If you are searching around for an overview of their best work all in one place, then this compilation from 1999 provides an excellent starting point.

Husky voiced legend Rod Stewart was at his beginning (and indeed, his musical prime as I personally believe) here, and performs lead vocals on 15 of the 19 tracks. Ronnie Lane sings on three, and the song 'Ooh La La' marked the singing debut of the Rolling Stone Ronnie Wood. The track 'Open to Ideas' is from the Faces' final session. Ultimately, you get ever major essential from 1969-1975 on one career-spanning disc, including the classic 'Stay with Me', 'Pool Hall Richard', and the Bob Dylan cover 'The Wicked Messenger'.

The CD's booklet contains lots of cool pictures of these men, and an extensive biography by Dave Marsh, a writer who specialises in rock music of the '60s and '70s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse