Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2005
This is a superb album for those who have only heard "Stay With Me". It has complimentary rockers like "Bad 'n' Ruin" and especially "Too Bad", but also the softer Ronnie Lane songs like "Debris".

It's got that Stonesy, tight-but-loose, early 70's feel to it, but with a good time vibe instead of the undercurrent of menace that the Stones albums of the same era had.

Well worth buying to remind you that Rod was once great (see also "Every Picture Tells A Story") and that Ronnie Lane's stuff is well worth seeking out.
11 comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
Best of the Faces as a title speaks volumes Rod and Woody were always in the limelight but Ian Maclagan is a fantastic keyboard player up there with Jools now when Jools was just a nipper , Kenny Jones and Ronnie Lane probably one of the best rhythmn sections going together they had edsge and this compilation reflects that . Really don't know what caused the rift some say Britt Eckland who knows but Rod sold out and has slowly sunk to what he is now a shallow imitation of Sinatra , Tony Bennett , Dean Martin peddling second rate versions of the Great American Songbook .

I was quite excited to hear that Woody was trying to organise a reunion tour but when Rod said no I guess they decided bad idea plus of course the great Ronnie Lane is sadly no longer with us . If they change their mind and Rod still says no then look no further than Paul Rodgers who can get further street cred back after the disaasterous Queen escapade despite his recent return to form gigs.

Buy this album it covers a band who were an icon in their era which grew from the Small Faces , an icon of the 60s , and before Rod became a sad shadow of former glories in the noughties.
33 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2001
Not actually listened to this album, but as a Faces fan I bought all the albums and know 80% of the tracks listed here.
The blues background of the Faces is borne out by tracks such as "Wicked Messenger", "Miss Judy's Farm" and "Borstal Boys", but Rod's agenda comes out with "Sweet Lady Mary" (readers may recall that he had a solo career running in parallel). The 'laddish' culture is inherent in "Three Button Hand Me Down", "Had Me A Real Good Time", "Stay With Me", "Too Bad" and "Ooh La La" (Ronnie Wood on vox). There's even room for a bit of jealousy in "Pool Hall Richard".
I was very disappointed by the exclusion of the well-worked "I Wish It Would Rain" (flip to "Pool Hall Richard"), especially as other 'B' sides ("Debris") made it. "Maybe I'm Amazed" (from their "Long Player" album) wouldn't have gone amiss, either.
There is always "this should have been included", but the tracks that ARE on this album represent an excellent collection.
It all fell apart in the end with the three main songwriters secretly wanting to do different things - Lane wanted to be more folksy, Wood wanted to join the Rolling Stones and Stewart wanted to write romantic ballads. Jones joined The Who, but that was much later, as was McLagan's sessions with the Stones.
Interesting to note that although they produced two good singles after Lane, who quit nearly a year before the end, there were no more studio albums.
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2013
What do you get when you put Ronnie Lane, Ronnie Wood, Kenney Jones, Rod Stewart and Ian McClagan together ? Simple some of the best rockin' music ever and this cracking set more than proves that. Full of absolute goodies from start to finished. Rod Stewart has said the band never really reached their full potential, well if they didn't they certainly gave us some pretty great stuff. The box set is one of the best sets ever 'Five Guys walked Into A Bar', not cheap but absolutely essential listening, and chock full f little diamond nuggets. Here though very cleaply and superbly remastered we get a vert tasty indeed best of, and is without doubt any true rock music fan should never miss out on. The great songs, the hits, the fans favourites,This band could really play and whip up a storm live,even in the studio they knew how to get that groove and hold it. Ronnie Lane was a fantastic songwriter and possessed the voice to go with it. Ronnie Wood really for me developed into the great guitar player we have today with Faces, listen here and many of the riffs and rhythms you've had from the Stones are here and at times its that same exciting groove before the Stones latched onto it. From the opening 'Flying', through the classic,'Sweet Lady Mary','Miss Judy's Farm', 'Ooh La La','Had Me A Real Good Time' (what a great live song that is),''Your So rude', 'Borstal Boys' and on and on, nineteen absolutely fabulous tracks by a fabulous band who's only problem was they didn't stay around long enough but their legacy is the history of Classic British Bands, and what a legacy that is. They all moved onto other things, each gained success, but this for me is where it all began 's still as exiting as the day they first were released. No one but no one should miss this slice of rock history but more than that great music. As the subtitle says on this release, 'Good Boys....When They were Asleep', but it's when they were awake we were treated to this amazing and great fun music !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
a great album all the hits with rod that dont turn up elsewhere, i recommend it highly
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2008
A mate emailed me a copy of of Ooh La La about a year before we headed down to play cricket at the Alice Springs Masters Games, with the message "How good would this be for a team Walk-Out song?" The two Ronnies (Lane & Wood) probably never imagined when they penned it that a bunch of Aussie "old-fart" cricketers would proudly stride out to the middle with this brilliant song echoing around the MacDonald ranges in the central Australian outback!

So on the strength of one song; incidentally sung by Ronnie Wood and not Ronnie Lane or Rod Stewart; I bought this album. Yes, I'd heard a few tracks back in the 70's by the band and recognized a few track names on the site, but to be honest I only bought it because the compilation box-set of "Red Dwarf" was on special at the same time.

The best way I can recommend this album to anyone contemplating whether or not to go ahead and buy it, is to compare it to a really good take-away curry. Enjoyed it the first time you got into it and the next day the left-overs tasted even better. By the fourth listen you will truly appreciate the fact you've got something that will stay with you forever and not a dud you'll be attempting to break the world frisbee throwing record with at the local dump!

This was the beginning of some very talented musicians plying their trade with genuine skill and unbridled conviction. ENJOY!
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
An excellent album well worth the money, all recording are original but very clear due to being digitally remastered, I put the CD on turned it up loud plugged in my Gretsch White Falcon guitar and the Faces were jammin' in the room with me.

0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Now as a live band in a small pub they were something special. I still remember fondly the night at some small South London pub, the Red Cow or some such moniker, where Mr Stewart knocked out Mr Jones with the base of the microphone stand and Mr McLagan, bless him, revived the drummer with a pint of beer and not a note was lost in some bar room busting ballad. The sixty of us crammed into a small room went home happy! However, the albums, all scratched vinyl promised as much but somehow never quite delivered. Unlike Mr Stewart, the band's live exhuberance did not seem to translate in what came out of the studio. So when I picked this up, I was not expecting much like. Pause for reflection of how wrong I was. It is like the live sound captured and handed down and playing like the bunch of lads they were. Good time, rock and roll type music with enough Lunon in it to make it Brit rather than American. Yeah, I know Rod was from further north then me but he did have a try out for Brentford, he's not all tartan scarves and undies! Its a good mix of the ballads "Sweet Lady Mary" and the stomping "Stay With me" and all ports in-between. A worthy five star purchase for the BG collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
I never really got into the Faces at the time when they were around - My loss for sure !! I was aware of and liked the singles but never really listened to any of their other material. The CD is really great and what a talented line up they had. You can also feel the lads were enjoying themselves while performing and I would most definately recommend adding this to your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This is the kind of rough and ready rock music I prefer. Like the Damned's and the New York Dolls 1st albums you get the distinct impression that it could all fall apart at any moment, but thankfully it doesn't. I suppose like many this CD was purchased mainly for 'Stay With Me' and/or 'Cindy Incidentally', but there really are some excellent songs here. If you just want a taster then look no further. I suppose ardent fans have moaned about what else should have been included, but surely that's missing the point? This CD is good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)