Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 April 2017
Great CD with lots of good songs with the master in wonderful voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
good album good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Nothing to say - just great partly because his voice is at its peak here -1961
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 November 2016
The album opens with the gorgeous Italian style ballad "There's Always Me", which Elvis was performing so effortlessly at the time with hits such as "Its Now Or Never" and "Surrender". Back in the early 1960's hit singles rarely appeared on albums as back in the day duplication of release was not the normal. This is a very relaxing album to listen too with songs like "It's A Sin" and "Gently".

The pop comes along in songs like "Judy" and "In You Arms". The Blues is provided with "Give Me The Right".

The album features the rarely hear song performed in the film "Wild In The Country", "I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell", and one which raises a smile.

The album was No.1 in the USA in 1961 and No.2 in the UK.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
What A Fantastic Gem Of An Album Such As This , Most Of Us Elvis Fans Will Know All About This Great Album And Remembered Fondly But Also Often Overlooked By Some Newer Fans , Possibly Because There Are No Singles Released From The L.P.
Which Is A Pity Because As The Title Of The Album States It Is SOMETHING FOR EVERYBODY , Great Ballads And Brilliant Rockers ( just listen to " I WANT YOU WITH ME " and you"ll Know What I am Talking About )
I want you with me is my personal Favorite Track Along With THERE"S ALWAYS ME, JUDY, GIVE ME THE RIGHT, I"M COMIN" HOME....aww heck i just love the whole album , also with this new vinyl release we even get two excellent bonus tracks that is correctly been included as they were from the same studio sessions in 1961.
This Is A Very Much Welcome New Release From WAX TIME Records (well done guys) And With A Brilliant Sound That Pushes Elvis Voice From Gentle Warm Soothing Ballads To The Crazy And Wild Rockin" Lyrics That Gave Us Fans Of The Great Man Something To Cherish And Treasure For Another 50 Or More Years To Come , erm well I Won"t Be Around Then But Maybe Just Maybe This Great Album Will Be, ....So Go On Treat Yourself To Something Special And Buy This Fantastic Album On Vinyl You"ll Be Really Glad You Did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2000
APTLY TITLED WHEN ORIGINALLY RELEASED IN 1961, THIS WAS A BIG SELLER FOR ELVIS, WHICH CONTAINED A BIT OF EVERYTHING THAT INFLUENCED : COUNTRY (IT'S S SIN) BLUES (GIVE ME THE RIGHT) AND POP (I'M COMING HOME) AND ROCK (I WANT YOU WITH ME).
WITH THE RELEASE OF HIS FIRST POST ARMY ALBUM "ELVIS IS BACK!", ALL OF HIS NON-MOVIE RECORDINGS WERE DONE IN NASHVILLE USING THE SAME GROUP OF MUSICIANS. WE CAN HEAR THE DISTINTIVE NASHVILLE ATMOSPHERE AND SOUND ON BOTH ALBUMS, AND THEY MAKE INTERESTING COMPANION PIECES. THE SOUND QUALITY IS ENHANCED BY DIGITAL REMASTERING.
LIKE MANY OF HIS EARLY HIT ALBUMS, IT HAS BE RE-RELEASED MANY TIMES OVER THE PAST 40 YEARS! THIS TIME BMG HAVE ISSUED EXTRA TRACKS AND HIT SINGLES THAT WERE RECORDED DURING THE SAME SESSIONS IN 1961: "SURRENDER" (A CASH IN ON THE SUCCESS OF THE ITALIAN OPERATIC "ITS NOW OR NEVER") "LITTLE SISTER"/"HIS LATEST FLAME! AND THE R&B "I FEEL SO BAD"
BY NOW ELVIS HAD MASTERED CONTROL ON HIS DELIVERY OF BALLADS, AND EASILY CONVEYS A KEEN SENSE OF DRAMA AND SUPERB TIMING ON "THERE'S ALWAYS ME", THE SWEET MELLOWNESS OF "GENTLY" AND THE MOODY "SENTIMENTAL ME". NO-ONE CAN SING QUITE LIKE THE KING! THE ORIGINAL ALBUM ART HAS BEEN LEFT INTACT (VERY NOSTALGIC OF BMG!) AND CONTAINS INTERESTING LINER NOTES!
44 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
I bought this CD as a birthday present for a friend of mine and she was delighted with it. The title is apt as Elvis does sing in a variety of styles on this album. The music was recorded in the early sixties at a time when, I feel, that Elvis did some of his best work. This Cd contains the tracks from the original LP with other songs that were recorded at the same time which makes the album excellent value for money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
This cd is truly title correctly it has Something for Everybody i thoroughly enjoyed this one especially the song Judy which you didn't hear much of or at all this is a great song because i think this song stands out from all the rest. I would highly recommend this one.

Anne
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2010
this in my opinion is one of the best albums elvis ever made!......( i always preffered the ballads)....... when he left the army after completing his national service most of the press said he was finished and had been away too long and that the music buying people had forgotten him.."whatta mistaka to makea" he was bigger than ever..on this album (1961) his voice is better than ever,i had it on vinyl but had to get it on cd because it was worn out...floyd cramer piano playing on ...i!m coming home is the best....
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
If you discount 'His hand in mine' this is the follow up to Elvis is back.Now to follow up an album as good as Elvis is back is near impossible but this is as close as you can get with out surpassing.I gave this 5 stars the same as Elvis is back because I thought it was better than 4 stars, out of 10 I would give this 9, Elvis is back 10.What i liked best about this album is it does't 'catch on ' right away , rather it grows on you. This truly is one of Elvis's best albums just buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse