Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Live At Woodstock
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 February 2001
From Jimi's studio albums, he came across as a talented guitarist and competent songwriter. From his live material he comes across as what he really was. A majestic guitarist, who played the thing at times with a subtle touch that was quite beautiful, and (most of the time) faster, more amazing and better than any other guitarist that has ever, or will ever live.
Maybe not as good as his Isle Of Wight performance, it remains the best ever performance by anyone at a festival n the US. If you are too young to have gone to Woodstock (like myself) hear what you missed out on, if you were there, you probably can't remember it (it was '69 after all!) so jog your memory with this wonderful concert. BUY IT NOW
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2002
Woodstock is undeniably one of the most prominent moments in rock history. The sun rose on the third day with people leaving - sore and tried for their trip home - whilst others lay sleeping in their tents with a hangover from the music. Hendrix was playing classics such as: Red House, Foxy Lady, Voodoo Child (slight return) and the Woodstock improvisation, not forgetting the most famous performance ever of the anthem "Star Spangled Banner". The double CD release is electrifying and mesmerizing, integrating all jimi's live techniques in one concert. Despite the fact that there are features still missing from this double CD, it still remains one of the best live CD's around. Most people had left by the time Hendrix took to the stage, yet he is one of the only names people can link to the original 69 Woodstock festival. So if you want to hear a true live genius on guitar then look no further than the double CD of "Jimi Hendrix: Live at Woodstock".
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Not the best sound quality, but still great playing by the man himself. Even though my ears prefer the more direct Experience stuff. The sound quality ,two songs missing and two musicians barely audible takes away 1 star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
This quote taken from this performance adequately sums of the gest of this concert segment of the original Woodstock (filled with sin as it was). Some of my favorite guitar music comes from this. The quote above (You can leave anytime you want, we're just jamming that's all) comes from Voodoo Child, one of the songs found here (its about 10 minutes 36 seconds into the performance of Voodoo Child (Slight Return)/Stepping Stone). But before I continue I should tell you my edition is a single disc 12 track version.*

If you're looking for all your favorite songs, don't bother. But if you're looking for a phenomenal concert document of one of the greatest guitarists ever (if not THE), then this is the record for you.

This record contains a LOT of jamming. This is coming at the end of Woodstock, people are tired, Hendrix's band is unrehearsed, and he's nervous. So he just comes out in a blaze of sound and blows everyone out of the water. There are so many guitar riffs and licks just dripping from this its amazing. Since this is Hendrix largely jamming, we get quite a lesson in guitar playing. Because its Hendrix its generally fascinating - had it been anyone else the jams would be overly long and rather boring. But Jimi's the master of coaxing unbelievable sounds from that electric guitar. From about 2:00 minutes to the finish of Woodstock Improvision ranks one of my favorite of guitar music, and when you here `Jam Back at the House (Beginnings)' you have to wonder what planet Hendrix CAME FROM.. Villanova Junction will make you stop in your tracks. And we mustn't forget one of his most famous tracks of all and the most interesting interpretation of any nation's anthem, `The Star Spangled Banner'.

Of course, I have a sympathy for live music. Anything live sounds better than then studio hands down for portraying the sheer power and majesty that music can contain (for me anyway). (As a rule, I like studio albums better than live ones - but when you actually see the band play the studio can't compare). But that's only done in concert, and since Hendrix is dead this is the closest we'll get to it.

Conclusion: If you're looking for pretty self-contained short songs don't bother. If you're looking for a great live document with lots of just pure jamming (but its Hendrix so its just amazing to here him play) click BUY NOW! Of course, Mitchell and the others do well going whatever direction Hendrix wants to take the band. Don't be too down on Eddie Kramer either.

4 stars because of Hendrix's mastery with the guitar and the vitality of the performance. Anyone who wants to learn this should be required listening. 1 star taken away (although in fairness it should be mentioned this is a concert album, and its one of the beauties of concerts of a band being able to stretch out and do things they normally wouldn't on an album, like have a lot of jaming or doing a lot of cover tunes) because the jamming may wear on some listeners (those who's jaws aren't on the floor from Hendrix's skill, that is).

*My disc finds itself guilty cutting out Message to Love, Spanish Castle Magic, Loverman, and Foxey Lady, and although the liner notes mention Hey Joe its not on this disc either. The cover art differs as well. The sequence is different from the real concert (one of my pet peeves is when people go in and tamper with live concert albums -- they should be represent as played, although, of course, there are exceptions) is as follows

1. Intro

2. Fire

3. Izabella

4. Here My Train A Comin' (Get My Heart Back Together)

5. Red House

6. Jam Back at the House (Beginnings)

7. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)/Stepping Stone

8. Star Spangled Banner

9. Purple Haze

10. Woodstock Improvision

11. Villanova Junction

12. Farewell

Peace Out.

Mike London!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2008
wow this is fab wish id been there amazeing 60s was the best 60s forever!! buy it along with electric ladyland essential stuff!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
This musical moment in time defined what I consider to be the conclusion of the nineteen sixties realm and dream. I saw Jimi Hendrix twelve months later at the 1970 Isle Of Wight Festival. He was fantastic and played a corker of a set, but I wish I could have also witnessed his concert at Woodstock. His playing was very, very, different on this occasion. In 1989, my new wife Beverley and I went to Woodstock for a week as part of our honeymoon experience. It was the Woodstock 20th Anniversary celebration. The spirit of August 19th 1969 was extremely evident we seem to recall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2008
The passage of music that stretches from Voodoo Chile through Villanova Junction is absolutely astounding. The sheer spontaneous virtuosity exhibited here (which reaches it's pinnacle at Star Spangled Banner)is arguably the greatest piece of improvisation in the rock cannon. I've loved Zeppelin, Zappa, the Chili Peppers and System of a Down along the way, but 40 years on, there's still nobody who can touch this staggering half hour. The rest of the album is merely brilliant. 10 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
brings back memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2003
Wow! This CD absoloutely rocks! Although i am too young to have ever seen Jimi Hendrix, after listening to this i dont feel that i've missed out. This recording shows us that not only was Jimi an absoloutely AWESOME guitarist, he also was an entertaining and charismatic performer. The recording has some highly amusing interludes of Jimi explaining songs, introducing band members and generally talking a load of hilarious and unintelligible gobbledegook!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
I bought this album for my husband and he just loves it. We watched the documentary about Woodstock to mark its 40th anniversary and my husband just kept talking about Hendrix's performance. One of the most successful presents I have bought him - he isn't easy to buy for - so if you like Hendrix this is a must!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)