Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.12+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2017
The tracks named 'Demo' are mostly labelled incorrectly. Quite annoying! Spoilt my enjoyment of this classic album, which I have owned on vinyl for years. Unhappy customer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
One of their best , buy it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Great album, Crue peaked with this one imo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
awssome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Great Album by a Great Band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I was excited to get these mini-lp style reissues but the covers have been altered to look "old" and the incorrect artwork has been used on the inside of the gatefold for Shout At The Devil too.

To make matters worse and this is the bit that really makes these TO BE AVOIDED releases....each song has a 2-3 second gap between them so where tracks like T.N.T and Dr Feelgood once seamlessly mearged they are now interupted by a few seconds of silence...and the send of the song is abruptly cut off

EMI should be ashamed of themselves for messing this simple task up in such a big way....no wonder theyre going down the tubes!
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2003
After some great years experimenting with leather, make up and satanic imagery, then sun drenched, bleached blonde good time beach music, the Motleys moved towards more of a Mick Mars inspired blues feel with this album. It's still summer listening in all honesty, but this album is probably their best since Shout At The Devil. From the sexy Slice Of Your Pie to the power anthem Kickstart My Heart to the classy Don't Go Away Mad to the tounge in cheek She Goes Down this album contains more classics than you would have thought possible, and somehow presents these diverse styles in a unified package. Unfortunately this was the last great album to be released by Crue as they went sadly astray after this - however those of us that remember the good times will always be able to put this album on and smile!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
Possibly the band's Black Album or Number of the Beast. Beginning with their first 2 harder rock albums, their evolution inbetween Theatre of Pain and Girls... into the commercial sleaze-rock they now embrace, everything came together for this release. Experience, success, a slathering fan-base and maturity all aided the transition from rocks upstarts into stadium dwelling behemoths. They weren't up to the calibre of the Bon Jovis or Aerosmiths of their era but this album was where they came very close to world domination. And for all the right reasons. Dr Feelgood is a great album, a classic of sorts and by far their best musically and technically.

The intro and title track herald their new beefed up variation of the sound they birthed on Girls... . Round, earthy riffs and sparkling high notes spar for space in an angular, metallic, yet deep-south-inspired song. At once anthemic and deep, while still retaining the fun, this was the perfect opener and intro to the album. 'Slice of your Pie' contimued with the southern swagger until exploding with a riff so dirty and full that it really does come as a surprise. The production, as you can guess, is second to none. It all sounds exactly as it should. 'Rattlesnake Shake' is catchy and fun, with a beaut of a chorus that keeps you singing for days. 'Kickstart My Heart' begins with a guitar duel as motorbike engines. And then one of my all-time best riffs hits the speakers. There's no volume too loud for this riff. The rest of the song is excellent also. 'Without You' is the obligatory ballad and it is a good one,at just the right juncture for the listener to need one.

'S.O.S' is both fun and close to perfect. There's no part of the track that isn't catchy. 'Sticky Sweet' and 'Girl Goes Down' are the filler material. They're not bad but the album would have survived their deletion. 'Girl Don't Go Away Mad' is both frustrating and great. It has a rather annoying chorus that grows into one you will not be able to forget. It's no classic but it is a good song. 'Time For Change' ends things on a 'be good to one another' vibe. It was de rigeur at the time to have these kinds of anthemic socio-ballads and probably did help to raise the view of this album a little higher-browed. And on the whole it worked.

As a complete piece of work this works better than any of their other albums. Girls... and Theatre... come close but this is their undoubtable triumph. And recently they have also stepped up to the mark again (as of 2011). Probably best to avoid the inbetween years...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
i had lost touch with a lot of the music i listened to when i was younger , but after watching a documentary on motley crue on telly couple of weeks ago the fire was rekindled a little, and well worth while i must say a great selection of tracks and great to drive to and have up loud , what makes me laugh is when i am sitting in traffic with this album playing loud people as bus stops give me the strangest looks as if to say what is that silly old fool (52) playing that music for but what the hell i found it that good i can`t think of a bad track on this and if like me you have been out of the loop for a while a great choice to get back into it pity i can`t head bang anymore as i have no hair to swish about now ahhhhhhhhhhhhh but the thought is still there !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I got this on its release in August 1989 and remember how let down I felt on the first few plays. Mick Mars contributed his best work for this album, and is always overlooked, which is a shame, as he is the real force of Motley Crue.
Nikki Sixx's lyrics, normally so damned good, are average-at-best on this album.
Bob Rock does a fantastic job on production, but the radio-friendly 'Without You' is too schmaltzy for a Crue album in my opinion.
Stand-out track for me was 'Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away) which all 4 members are really on-track with their combined performances.
After the 'Girls, Girls, Girls' CD, I expected a lot more to be honest.
Its better than 'Theatre of Pain'..........just!
Re-issue has some live tracks thrown in as well.
Overall, a necessary inclusion for your collection......but after this, the band spiralled downwards.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)