Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2002
I bought the original LP on vinyl back in 84 when the album was released. I only got eight tracks. This revamped version has all 10. Perfect Strangers (The track) blew me away when I first heard it! When they played it live on the following tour it was even better. Some great tracks from the best rock band ever, back together and back on form. The extra tracks:- Not Responsible has an excellent Ritchie Blackmore solo but Son of Aleric tends to drag a little. If you haven't got this buy it, if you've got the original stick with it. Still a great rock album after all these years.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Perfect Strangers, the 11th studio album by the band, and the fifth by the celebrated MKII line up (this meant the return of singer Ian Gillian and guitarist Ritchie Blackmore) which had not been together for 11 years. Furthermore it was Deep Purple's was first album at all in eight years.

The funk and soul elements on the previous three Deep Purple albums are gone, and the progressive and acoustic elements from Fireball are also absent. Stylistically, The album is a mixture of the style from Machine Head with some of the music from the time.

The album makes some concessions to the sounds of the 1980s, such as use of an autotuner on the chorus of single `Knocking At Your Back Door,' and some keyboard sounds and production techniques which wouldn't be found on the band's earlier music.

There is however, quite a strong collection of songs to be found on Perfect Strangers, the years had not adversely affected their musicianship and though certain sections may seem dated, the majority of the album is just well written and enjoyable rock music, with big guitar solos, flailing drum fills and furious key solos.

The album contains the concert favourite title track `Perfect Strangers,' which many Deep Purple fans would consider must listen stuff, the album isn't exactly full of filler either. The driving and hard closer `Not Responsible,' and the catchy `Gypsy's Kiss,' are both standouts and `Nobody's Home,' would fit well into any of the MKII albums from the 70s.

In summary; Perfect Strangers is a good Deep Purple album, the songs are good, the musicianship is exemplary and the only real flaw is that the production is a little too 80s in places. Highly recommended; For newcomers maybe not the first album you should get by the band, but if you already like the band this is definitely one to add to your collection.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2008
My favourite Purple album by far.

I love virtually everything about it. From the simple, yet iconic DP logo that i scrawled on countless surfaces to the thick and heavy production.

From the opening riff of the dirty, dirty 'Knocking At Your Back Door' to the sprawling very 70's-esque title track, it's perfect Purple. Heavy, hard and tuneful with a dash of experimentation. It doesn't sound like supposed 'classic' Purple and it's all the better for it; this is a rejuvenated band showing the critics that there is still plenty of fuel in the tank and fire in the belly.

Blackmore is buzzing and the writing is top notch. I'd say there is no filler at all, although the blend of styles from the straight rock of 'Not Responsible' to the slow 'Wasted Sunsets' and the recurring Eastern motif's in that epic title track may divide some purists. These are also complete 'songs' rather than a stitched together showcase for the individual talents to shine. As such, i think there is a greater overall cohesion to this album than to many of Purple's other efforts. It is very much an album from a band on form.

One word must go to my favourite track 'Hungry Daze' which recalls the story telling of 'Smoke On The Water' a style of writing Deep Purple were always very good at. For some reason it always makes the hairs stand up and makes me want to stand up, jump up, play air guitar and sing-a-long. Any album with even one song that makes you want to do that is worth the money, especially at the price this classic is going for!

So buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Great songs, great playing, great lyrics. Their best album in my book. Ritchie Blackmore superb as always and the late great Jon Lord at his finest. I preferred Graham Bonnett to Ian Gillan, but you can't have everything! If you ain't got it, add it to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
I already knew this album inside out as I 've had a tape of it for years.
I think it's a brilliant album and back to their best.When I saw the very
reasonable price I couldn't resist buying it.The tape's just about worn
out now anyway.If you're a Purple fan and don't have this buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
O my! Ive played this album to death on cassette, yes that long ago lol, and after hearing Perfect Strangers in someone else's house I knew I had to get it again. Every track is amazing. The best Deep Purple album ever, not just my opinion either. If you only buy one of their albums this is the one. I took this to Monsters of Rock in 86, mega gig that was too. You like good rock, just buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
i got this on vinyl the day it came out way back in 1984 and now on cd and all i can say is buy it its a classic piece of music its hard to think its 30 years old it still sounds fantastic you need this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
After 11 years, with the band members having varying success with other bands (Rainbow/Whitesnake/Gillan/Black Sabbath), the most famous lineup of Deep Purple would reunite in 1984 at Stowe, Vermont to rehearse and record.

The resulting album was a solid effort and proved Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord and Ian Paice still had plenty to offer as a unit.

For me the standout tracks are the storming opener Knocking At Your Back Door (with a memorable intro from Lord), the regal title track (again with a great intro from Lord) and the ballad Wasted Sunsets (featuring some great soloing from The Man In Black).

While the rest isn't quite on a par imo there is nothing substandard here. The 1999 remaster is really good and a marked improvement on the original cd issue from the 80's (which was a bit flat and lifeless). The two bonus cuts, Not Responsible and Son of Alerik are ok but not ones i really revist that much if truth be told.

The album would be quite successful (going Top 5 in the UK and Top 20 in the U.S.) and the subsequent world tour would see the band playing to sell out crowds, especially in the U.S. and a memorable show at the Knebworth Festival in England where they played to 80,000 rain and mud soaked fans at their only british date.

By the late 80's however the honeymoon was over and Ian Gillan would get the boot (for a few years at least) and another chapter would begin in Purple's colourful career.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
This was the re-union album by the mark 2 line-up that all us mad purps fans had been hoping and praying for, it only took eleven years for them all to start to be civil to each other, long enough to be able to write and record this album and do a tour as well, wow! The two competing ego`s belong to Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Gillan, who to this day,still cant stand each other. Anyway,this record has some fine songs on it,the title track, knocking at your back door,Nobody`s home,Gypsy`s Kiss and Wasted Sunsets are worthy of the earlier MK.2 albums, although i think the recording of the album leaves a lot to be desired. If your a purple fan you need this in your collection, if not just buy it,you`ll be pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
After listening to this album for the first time ever I have to say it has some really quite awesome music on it

its solid 80's hard rock, and is everybit as good as some of the older stuff not quite as adventurous and not quite as Pure BUt the songs are awesome the playing is brilliant and Gillans voice is sounding utterly brilliant, compare to the last two albums which were ok but nothing great this album is an outstanding come back.

Some excellent guitar playing, perhaps the two things that are missing, is a bit more emphasis on the bass guitar like there used to be and maybe a bit more 70's style prouction so it sounded raw, having said that its sound just fantastic , Hugnry Daze has some awesome Keyboard playing catchy little intro and some wonderful guitar licks.Knocking at your back door caught my attention too
fabulous and solid and not nearly as bad as the bad reviews make it out to be I can't honestly find anything that is sooo bad that it merits reducing its star rating.

except maybe a 70's rediculous intrumental/extended keyboard solo/ guitar solo/ bass solo <<<< that would be nice a bass solo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)