Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2001
Tadpoles in a jar is another classic album from big Jimmy. The title song reminds me of groing up as a kid going for tadpoles at our local river.WLTM is also another great track featuring the haunting voice of a great Scots singer Eddie Reader great combination of voices and a well written funny kind of track.Going to see him in April 01 at Glasgow. Hope he goes looking for tadpoles. If you get a chance BUY this album.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Jimmy nails 6th studio album and it doesn't disappoint. The album
is a reflection of jimmys younger years growing up in Benton and whilst
it is corny at times the title track proves to be infectious and warms the
cockles of your heart stand out tracks my friend the sun , lost and call and respond.
The best though is where do you come from which sees Jimmy at his best
reflecting on some sort of childhood angel. It is rare to see the
soft side of Jimmy in public but he is an open book in his music.
Moving and glorious at times this is an album every bit as good as growing up.
A must for nail fans and worth a look if you like music to inspire and take you
inside your soul.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
Everybody looks as Jimmy Nails outstanding shows - Auf Wiedersehen Pet, Spender and Crocodile Shoes and overlooks his superb music mostly written by the man himself.

As everybody has pointed out the title track Tadpoles from a Jar will certainly take you back to your youth, however the rest of the album is absolutely superb , there is not a bad track on the album, he seems to write and sing from the heart - this man is a pure English treasure and its about time that we see him back on our Tv screens and in the recording studio.

You have taken to much time out of the limelight Jimmy its about time for a massive return.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
As a fan of Jimmy Nail's music I came to this album only recently and I love it. This guy will never go down as one the world's greatest songsters but he is right on the nail with this stuff. Some of the lyrics are inspirational, some of the tunes sublime, the whole album is well worth a listen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Nice to hear it again as I lost the original cd. Tadpoles In A Jar reminds of the good things about growing up as I only lived 2 miles from Jimmy. Even the 37 bus to the Toon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Enjoyed the Cd. I have most of his CD's and this a bit different to some of his others: quieter more introspective. Worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
I love this album had to re buy it because my old one got damaged. would recommend it to any budding Jimmy Nail Fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
I love this album especially the title song he is great at the nostalgic ballads? I now have all his CD's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
absolute first class album, really worth having. recommend it to anybody.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Fine album, briefly > I am Jimmy Nail fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)