Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2003
when i first heard Donell it was in 1999 when he released the smash hit "U know what up" which broke into every night club standing. Since then i have bought all three CD's and i can proudly say that this is the best rnb album i have amongst many. This album is full of one great song after another and whatever situation your in, its sure to lift your head high. What im really trying to say is that if your an rnb fan then this is the choice for you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2003
Quite simply, this album is a piece of art. It is feel good, has serious undertones, and fantastic lyrics. Particularly addictive are Shorty (Got Her Eyes On Me), All her Love, This Luv, Have You Seen Her, ok so all of them are great!
Musically speaking, the interplay between the lyrics and instrumentals are sublime. The tracks have been constructed such that you can hear something different every time. Trust me, you will never get bored of this timeless album. Definitely not a disappointment
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2000
If you are a fan of such artists as D'Angelo and Maxwell then be prepared to have similar sensuos lyrics matched with a funky upbeat rhythm. This album has it all for people with real musical taste. Whether it's a party with some friends or a late night in with a partner this album supplies a variety of toe-tappers and slow melodic tunes. 'Shorty' is a definite classic and 'When I Was Down' will get you moving on the dancefloor. It is hard to find a fault with an album which has shades of Al Green and boasts at least 10 possible singles. The hit 'U Know What's Up' typifies the albums ability to make you think the first time you hear a song it has been around forever. A sign of pure genius. Buy it! Trust me!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
Brilliant! similar to a lot of satisfied owners of this album, i own it because of 'u know what's up'. having said that, it's r'n'b at its absolute best! it is a reaffirmation of donell jones' musical style - see his first album 'my heart' - soulful, yet upbeat. an absolute masterpiece. BONUS: you know those times when you 'think it' but just can't 'say it', well, put this on - skip one and thirteen, save for when things are happy again - and relax. oh! i'm dancing to one of the songs at my wedding, get the album and guess which... absolute masterpiece!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2002
Believe me this is one R&B masterpiece, from the first track(U know what's up) till the last track. You will end up listening it every now and then, 'coz it tells what you're going through, and teaches you how to handle the situation. It works!!!! U gotta have it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2005
After moving all my stuff out my room while decorating i came across this CD which i thought i lost i'm so glad i never i played it last week and it hasnt left my CD player since. Donell Jones is one of those rare singer's that can bring the beats as well at the meaningful lyrics. My first encounter with Mr. Jones was back in '97 and i went to a friends house her sister had his 1st album "My Heart" as soon as i heard "Knocks Me Off My Feet" i was convinced he was a singer to pay attention to. He did turn heads at the release of this album in 1999 with his worldwide smash hit "U Know What's Up" with the late and great Left Eye he won critical acclaim and even reached Platinum status in the US. I feel that it's his more minor hits that sold me the album the brilliant lead single "Shorty (Got Her Eyes On Me)", The honest title track "Where I Wanna Be" and the last single the sexy "This Luv". There is alot of highlights on this album most notably the R.Kelly-like "Think About It (Don't Call My Crib)" and the rocky "When I Was Down" and my personal favourite "He Won't Hurt You" even the D'Angelo-esque groove of "Pushin'" will make you tap your foot!. This album is already 6 years old and it still seems as fresh as it was way back in 99 if you don't own it yet i think you should invest in this
Top 5
1.He Wont Hurt You
2.Shorty (Got Her Eyes On Me
3.Have You Seen Her?
4.This Luv
5.Think About It (Don't Call My Crib)/It's Alright
If i could give this album 1000 stars would, in my opinion this is one of the best REAL R&B album's of the late ninties!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
D Jones ( as he likes to refer to himself) has actually been on the scene alot longer than alot of people realise.
His singing style is soulful grown up RnB, his voice caresses......but the content of his songs are not always mushy, he takes his own personal experiences and day to day observations and turns all of this into great songs which you can listen to anytime & anywhere.

If you like good quality soulful, grown up R & B music you will love D Jones !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
What can I say about this Fellow? Each & every one of his Songs have
meaning to them, & it is a rare case that I stumble upon any bad Song he
has made. Why he is not in the high position in R&B/Soul Industry remains
to be seen. From Shorty (Got Her Eyes On Me), Think About It (Don't Call
My Crib), He Won't Hurt You, to Where I Wanna Be, this LP has Songs for
those that appreciate love Music.
This was 1999!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2004
What an album, there is not a song on this album which is not good. Every song has a different meanin and if you are into the soul and the RnB you will love this album. This is the best album from Donnell, if you have any of his other albums, get this one. I recommend this album. "Have you seen her" and "All her love" are the best songs. The rest are all great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2000
This surely proves that Donnel Jones is the king of r'n'b. I bought this album after falling in love with "U know whats up", but I didn't really know what to expect. Donnel didn't disappoint. A brilllient blend of r'n'b and soul, mixed together to form a tremendous album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.82

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)