Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
On Stage
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 May 2002
This excellent re-release features bonus unreleased tracks, that were not on the original LP.
Elvis live, as always, was dynamic to say the least, and this excellent sample of his Feb 1970 Vegas engagement shows the new songs flooding in, whilst rubbing shoulders with classics from Elvis, plus contemporary hits from The Beatles and Creedence Clearwater Revival and Neil Diamond.
The first song "See See Rider" became the opener for hundreds of his concerts, this blues classic is attacked hard and fast, before an excellent cover of Neil Diamonds "Sweet Caroline."
"Runaway" is the Del Shannon classic, updated here, and with some wild guitar licks from James Burton; Shannon, who is in the crowd and pointed out by Elvis, must have been loving it.
"The Wonder of You" is next and it hit #1 the year this album was released. It's an all-time classic, sing along......I know that you know the words.
With "Polk Salad Annie" business really picks up with this astounding piece of Southern funk. The spoken intro, wild bass and guitar licks add to the breathtaking performance by Elvis; which, if you have seen "That's The Way It Is", you will agree is unforgettable.
"Yesterday" performed in a medley with "Hey Jude" at the end, is very good. Elvis apparently really liked "Yesterday." I recently heard Paul McCartney say that he did'nt like Elvis' version too much.
Made famous by Creedence Clearwater Revival and covered by Tina Turner, "Proud Mary" is a real classic song. And I hate to be biased, but Elvis version wipes the floor with all others. Drums and guitars here, Elvis rockin, and relishing the lyrics.
"Walk a Mile in my Shoes" is a Tony Joe White song, again with lyrics that Elvis really digs in to. This is excellent, and it seems fitting that "In the Ghetto" follows, need I say more about this masterpiece.
"Don't Cry Daddy" was another massive hit single, it is a little sentimental, and not for all tastes.
Hit after hit here, as "Kentucky Rain" emerges, a lesser performed song, great stuff though, with story-like verses.
"I Can't Stop Loving You" is a classic, whether it's Elvis great live versions or Ray Charles' definitive version, I love this song. Elvis really attacked this in 69/70, whilst later readings are slower and country-esque, this rocks.
"Suspicious Minds" need I say more!!!!!!!!!
"Long Tall Sally", and Elvis lets rip into this Little Richard classic; actually Elvis' version from 1956 was the best version of the song, and Little Richard never performed it as good as this live.
Finally, with "Let it Be Me" the tempo slows again, with a gospel type reading of this song, that is very very beautiful; a lesson in ballad singing.
This is a great live CD, and if you are a fan or not this is a worthy purchase. Elvis was so good live, yet hugely varied; you really must hear more than one concert as the diversity and change in styles and reportoire is something to behold.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
lovely performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
given as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
The King !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 April 2016
RCA Legacy Edition was conceived as a project where two of Elvis' popular albums were grouped together, and released as a box set. In this On Stage, February 1970 set, the two albums are 1) On Stage (Billboard 13/1970 and UK 2/1970)(14 tracks with 4 bonus tracks) and 2) Elvis In Person (1970)(18 tracks with 6 bonus tracks).

After an eight-year absence from live performances, Elvis Presley made his triumphant return to the concert stage in 1969 at The International Hotel in Las Vegas. On the heels of "Suspicious Minds," "In The Ghetto," the '68 Comeback Special and the acclaimed album From Elvis In Memphis, the year that man landed on the moon was also the year that Elvis reclaimed his standing as the ultimate live performer.

On Stage and Elvis In Person are the classic live albums that capture the shows which forever cemented the long and famous association between the iconic entertainer and the sparkling desert city. This Legacy Edition contains both albums in their entirety, plus nine bonus tracks and a rehearsal take of "The Wonder Of You," the hit version of which is also featured. These transcendent performances chronicle Elvis' creative rebirth as a stage performer and showcase The King's deep connection with his loyal audience.

The accompanied booklet was very well done, with details about how both concerts came about. Elvis said in 1972: "I missed the closeness of a live audience. So just as soon as I got out of the movie contracts I started to do live performances again." In the booklet, I also learned that Colonel Parker protected his client from any last-minute technical snafus likely to take place in the brand new showroom at the International Hotel, he insisted that someone other than Elvis be the first act to appear. Guess what, Barbra Streisand, fresh from winning an Academy Award for Funny Girl, was selected to officially open the showroom on July 2.

It was also very interesting to learn how Elvis got his band together. His first choice of old band-mates, like Scotty Moore and drummer D.J. Fontana both turned down the offer. Then, Elvis chose James Burton and asked him to find the various members of the new band. James Burton is of course the legendary guitar player, who appeared on numerous hit singles, like that of Ricky Nelson. The final line-up was christened TCB band. Elvis also brought in two backing vocal groups, The Imperials and The Sweet Inspirations, to augment his creative vision. The rest of course is pure history.

In this set, you will be able to hear his rare renditions of Release Me, Sweet Caroline, Runaway, Yesterday, Proud Mary and Let It Be Me...simply priceless. His hit single The Wonder Of You was taken from this live recording.

The audio was very well remastered with no hiss. Elvis' voice was front in the center. If you should buy these two albums on CDs separately, firstly, the sound would be much more inferior, 2) there is no booklet and bonus tracks.

This RCA Legacy Edition series is very well done. Other legacy editions include Elvis (legacy edition), Elvis Is Back, From Elvis In Memphis (reviewed elsewhere) and Elvis Country, all very well done.

Elvis is our king, with 165 charted singles and 130 charted albums. This Legacy Edition set gave me beautifully remastered music (with bonus tracks) and a great booklet. The above set captured Elvis Live at his best, and is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2008
In my opinion nobody could sing live like Elvis. Throughout the 7O`s Elvis released many of his `live` songs as singles, the biggest hit being The Wonder of You, which was No 1 for 7 weeks in Britain. How many other artists would dare to release `live` songs, certainly not Britney Spears or Madonna. His voice is amazing on all of his live shows and this set is brilliant. I would recommend this album to everyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2003
This is Elvis Presley at his best.
The banter between the audience and Elvis is enough to make this CD buyable. But not only that Elvis performs with such ease while at the same time being so brillent.
The songs included show Elvis's wide vocal range. However, I didn't enjoy the HEY JUDE/YESTERDAY and that is one song I skip by.
Elvis begins with See See Rider which is one of the best songs on this CD along side Polk Salad Annie and finishes with I can't stop loving you- again, blowing me away.
If you own an Elvis collection or are starting out get this CD!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
On Stage is a great album but imo not quite as strong as 'That's The Way It Is' or 'In Memphis'. The two Beatles covers seem a little half hearted to me and slow the momentum of the album. Those tracks apart this is yet another illustration of Elvis's talent, versatility and charisma. I particularly love the two rockier numbers, See See Rider and Polk Salad Annie (if you can watch trhe accompanying performances on youtube). The Wonder of You is one of the great love songs and his version of Sweet Caroline makes Neil Diamond sound like a pub singer.

Elvis Presley. Truely the King.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
This is maybe the most entertaining Elvis record. Most of the great songs are here, Elvis is in great shape, the band rocks, the sound is brilliant!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)