Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
78
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2017
Arguably second to 'Rising' but maybe contains some of Rainbows best. RJD is in my opinion the best of all 5 Rainbow vocalists, argue amongst yourselves who is the best of the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
perfekt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Spot on many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
One of the greatest rock albums ever !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2017
Long Live Rock 'n' Roll is an interesting album. The album has a lot of hype around it due to the fact it followed up from the magnificent Rising. Because of this, the record gets a lot of praise. A lot of which it doesn't deserve.

The thing with this album is not that it is bad, but half of it is filler material. Sure, songs like L.A. Connection, The Shed and Sensitive To Light have plenty of quality musicianship, especially from Mr Ritchie Blackmore. But it does not detract from the fact that each one of these songs are not very original, repeat already used ideas and leave the album with a big hole in it.

Long Live Rock 'n' Roll itself is held today by a group of four classics. The legendary title track, the live favourites Gates of Babylon and Kill The King as well as the beautiful closing ballad Rainbow Eyes. These four songs make the album, they are classics by the very definition of the word.

Unfortunately each song on the album suffers from poor production. The band don't sound very powerful and the music sounds thinner than a vegan. It is horribly dated and just kills a lot of the magic. The low end of the sound is completely missing making the tunes near as flat as can be. The bass and drums do not pop out like on the previous album. It is most definitely feels underwhelming.

As far as Rainbow songs go, this is not the greatest. It is worth having as it is reasonably enjoyable and does house four rock classics. But Rising and the albums that followed were far more inspired and had vastly superior sound.

Published by Steven Lornie of Demonszone
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Long live Rock and roll is a truly great album from a band at its creative peak. Arguably better than the acclaimed predecessor 'Rising' this album gives true variety, from shorter more punchy numbers such as the eponymous track and LA connection, more progressive epics such as 'Gates of Babylon' and 'Kill the King', ending on one of Ronnie's most beautiful vocal performances on 'Rainbow eyes', at least a rival for the first album's 'Catch the Rainbow'. Despite the tensions arising within the band at the time, the performances in no way reflect this, the passion of the musicians reflected in soaring excellence such as 'Lady of the lake' (a personal favourite of mine). I would recommend this album to any and all who take an interest in Ritchie or Ronnie's work, from Dio to Black Sabbath to Deep purple, or those who wish for introduction to the passionate genre of epic rock, or progressive metal/hard rock with classical influences, it's hard to condemn this band to a single genre. Long live Rainbow. I bought the album on vinyl, it was truly excellent quality, no complaints here. Don't think, just buy this album.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Unfortunately this was the last studio album to feature Ronnie James Dio in Rainbow and for me the last classic Rainbow album made. In my view the rest that followed did not reach the same very high level set by the first three studio albums. This album caused some talking points at the time such as who did which bass tracks and the later revelation that the inside cover photograph was taken from a Rush concert. I manage to see this line-up of Rainbow playing live back in late 1977 and they were magnificent.

I still have an original copy of the 1978 vinyl record on the Polydor label but it is in very bad condition after extensive playing. I have been using the 1999 re-mastered CD version, which I consider to be more compressed and flat sounding compared to the original vinyl. For me vinyl still rules particularly with rock music and to find this album released on vinyl again was a dream come true.

So to this latest version, weighed in at 190g on clear vinyl vs the original standard black pigmented copy at 116g. Personally I prefer clear vinyl as adding black pigment to PVC always adds the risks of imperfections in the record due to the in-complete dispersion of the carbon black.

The double gatefold cover is perfectly restored to the original with relevant extra support in the cardboard structure to handle the heavier weight vinyl. The cover illustrations are tastefully re-printed on the record label. Unfortunately, as so often with record companies today, the weak link in the packaging is they try and save money by using a thin paper inner sleeve. This offers inadequate protection and high risk of marking the record surface when removed for playing. Very frustrating. I always replace this type of sleeve with a thicker, antistatic plastic coated paper sleeve.

The sound quality of this new version is more compressed dynamically vs the original but with significantly lower background noise it is a much better listening experience. A back to back comparison to the CD (including a second person's listening ranking) confirms it is enhanced sonically vs the CD version.

The music is still brilliant which ever format and version you listen to and this album produced in my view four Rainbow classics: `Long Live Rock and Roll', Kill The Kill (still confusing having this track 1 on side 2 rather than side 1) Gates of Babylon and Rainbow Eyes. Kill the King is for me a track I never get tired of hearing. The shear force and speed of the guitar and drums combined with magnificent vocals made it a popular live opening song long before and after this album was released. Then at the other end of the music spectrum is `Rainbow Eyes'. This was the Blackmore/Dio writing and musical combination at it's very best. Recently this track was re-done on the Blackmore's Night album, Secret Voyage. It is a very different and interesting remake of the song and worth checking out.

In conclusion, this new vinyl release of the classic Rainbow album falls short in sound quality vs the original but is better vs the last re-mastered CD version. Therefore, if you miss the sound of speaker rattling vinyl then the new 2010 vinyl version is what you need.
55 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2003
Along with "Rising" this is surely the definitive Rainbow album and line-up. Blackmore and Dio are at the peak of their powers and in places both can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Lady of the Lake and Kill the King are balls to the wall rockers and if Rainbow Eyes doesn't bring a lump to your throat, you ain't human. I bought this on vinyl way back in the dim and distant past of the late 70's and it has remained a constant within my favourite albums.
Whilst the current trend for Limp Bizkit and Papa Roach et al is all angst ridden dispair, the sound of a lot of these "Nu Metal bans owes alot to the like's of Rainbow, Black Sabbath and indeed Deep Purple, and those ionfluences can be clearly heard resonating loudly on this classic album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The third and final Dio fronted studio album and for me its a hat trick of classic rock albums,in truth i love this as much as Rising,if you take Stargazer out of the equation you could argue this is a better more varied disc but thats for another day.

Opening with the anthemic title track(it should have been 'Kill The King') and the albums rockin from the off closely followed by the strutting 'Lady of the Lake' with sublime solo before 'LA Connection' kicks in ,'Gates of Babylon closed what was side 1 of the original vinyl and is an epic to rival 'Stargazer',all in all as good a quartet of tracks as your likely to hear,it gets better when 'Kill The King thunders in propelled along by Cozy Powells powerhouse drumming,'The Shed' is up next,it the weakest track although the opening minute or so from Blackmore still gives goosebumps while 'Sensitive To Light' is a precursor to the more commercial style that would surface in the future,which just leaves the beautiful 'Rainbow Eyes' a stunning ballad which hints at the area that Blackmore would eventually pursue with Blackmores Night.

I cant recommend this disc enough,i bought it the day it was released and couldnt believe all the negativity and disapointment expressed by fans at the time,depite the line up changes David Stone keyboards and Bob Daisley bass(although how much he played is debated as Blackmore played a fair amount on the album),the band never missed a beat.

Interesting re the gatefold sleeve photo,most fans spotted it during Rush's World tour 1980 it was in either the tour program or the word and pictures vol 1 book on sale,yet the press missed it for years
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
Fantastic Album. Ronnie James Dio thrives in this powerful album as he always had. Buy this, the memory of Ronnie James Dio as well as Cozy Powell lives on forever.

Buy & Listen to this album is more than what I can say.

Long Live Rock n' Roll
Long Live Dio!

RIP Dio.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)