Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
67
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2008
Whilst this is a "must have" album and a classic, DON'T BE DECEIVED there are no bonus tracks here, it's the remastered versions
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
The first outing from the brilliant Rainbow. A far cry from the previous Deep Purple releases, with this album Ritchie Blackmore is very much at the helm, serving up a mix of moods and musical textures, from the hard rocking Black Sheep, to the more laid back tones of Catch The Rainbow. One of the albums highlights has to be Sixteenth Century Greensleves, a hint of what was to come much later with Blackmores Night. Featuring the vocal talents of Ronnie James Dio, this is a classic album in every sense of the word. Sounds much better now without the scratches!

I can't believe that this was first released way back in 1975. Still sounds fresh and inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
It's a great album, but if you're buying this from Amazon you might want to consider getting the CD, not the download. There's an error (a blip/glitch in the sound) on the track "Temple of the King", which I did tell Amazon about, and they acknowledged I was right but they haven't fixed it. I think it's a bit dishonest to knowingly sell a corrupt mp3 file.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Rainbow's first album remained one of their best along with Rainbow rising and Down to Earth. Such classics as "Man on the Silver Mountain" "Catch the Rainbow" and "Temple of the King" were never rivalled - the wonderful mixture of heavy rock and folk elements (as in Temple of the King).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
this incredible piece of rock history arrives shortly before RAINBOW RISING which in my opinion is one of the top 5 rock albums ever.richies playing along with the power house DIO ( sadly missed and my fav singer ever) go to show that when you get a combination right you will achieve rock greatness.although many artists have come and gone through the revolving doors of RICHIE BLACKMORES castle with different styles which blackmore wanted at the time i always go back to when rainbow first started with the first 3 albums as i think these really showcased the perfect rock combination.the ante was upped though with the arrival of cozy powel on rainbow rising ,showing how masterfull he was in that drummer chair.a true rock skin master.anyway as far as debut albums go this one should on no account be missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
The first album after Blackmore left Deep Purple and with one of the finest rock/metal vocalists of all time.

As can be expected it is a great album with some good tracks on it - ok it's not Rising but it's still darned good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2008
Ronnie James Dio and Ritchie from Deep Purple has gotta be good and it is very very good. My favourite songs here are Man On The Silver Mountain, Black Sheep Of the Family (because i'm the black sheep of my family), Catch The Rainbow (classic and i just like to say that this sounds so much like Iron Maiden's Strange world i know this was 5 years before it but it really does), Temple Of The King & Still I'm Sad. This album is a classic album if you like Deep Purple or anything Ronnie James Dio has done then buy this and Rainbow's Rising i havn't got that yet but i have heard Run With The Wolf and that song alone is a masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
rediscovered new songs that I forgot about this magnificent band, black sheep of the family is one of those, you never know when are you going to listen to an album like this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Have never been a fan of Dio, but in my old age his vocals are really growing on me. Is easy to forget how many good songs Rainbow brought out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
This first Rainbow album starts off with "Man on the Silver Mountain" & I can never get tired of hearing it. Not all the tracks are written by Ritchie Blackmore & Ronnie James Dio - "Black Sheep of the Family" is by the late Steve Hammond (ex Fat Mattress) & "Still I'm Sad" is a good instrumental by the Yardbirds. Also included is the gentle ballad "Catch the Rainbow". This collection contains plenty of variety for all tastes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)