Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 31 January 2017
Stevie Ray as unknown to me until I saw a clip on my laptop.
Impressed with the clip, so I ordered a CD album (2nd hand) from 'MusicMagpie' via Amazon.
The price was cheap as chips, and the CD will be one of my favourites, and I've just ordered another SRV CD&DVD from 'MusicMagpie' via Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 June 2003
The original 11-track "Greatest Hits" CD from 1995 didn't do justice to the late, great Stevie Ray Vaughan at all, but since it was replaced by "The Real Deal - Greatest Hits vol. 1", all that has changed.

Vol. 1 includes sixteen of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble's best and best-known songs, including "Pride & Joy", "Cold Shot", the sizzling high-octane blues "Texas Flood", and the rollicking "The House Is Rocking", and here you get sixteen more.
The quality is every bit as high as on volume one, and if the songs are slightly less well known, they're certainly no less excellent. We get stellar career highlights like the swaggering, piano-driven boogie "Look At Little Sister" and the riff-driven "Willie The Wimp", driving, up-tempo rockers like "Love Struck Baby" and the tough but supremely groovy "Empty Arms", and the intense survivor's tale "Life By The Drop".

This is an exceptionally strong and varied collection of songs, a terrific showcase for the never-overestimated talents of Stevie Ray Vaughan. Its only flaw, if you will, is that it doesn't really work as a proper career overview, so you'll have to get volume one as well! :-)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2000
I had the advantage of listening to this amazing disc for the first time in Austin, Texas, USA but was wowed before I knew that was his home city and he had been killed in a helicopter crash in 1990. So not won over by the 'dead legend' tag but by the brilliance and beauty of the playing. There is everything from a live blaster of a version of Stevie Wonder's 'Superstition' as never heard before to the aching beauty of the acoustic Riviera Paradise. Blues, R&B, jazz - go get it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This album title says it all, because it is. All the tracks are just wonderful, highlights for me would be the live versions of Willie the Wimp, Shake for Me, Leave my Girl Alone, and my absolute favourite I don't think is on anything else he ever released, an instrumental called Pipeline. There is also Lenny, written for his wife and the dreamy just gorgeous Riviera Paradise. I could go on more and wax lyrical about his amazing guiar playing but the best way to appreciate this, is buy it and listen, he was THE best and I really miss him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Excellant compilation of classic SRV tracks. Bought this with Vol 1 absolutely perfect set of CDs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
More of the late srv most loved tracks a good cd but not as good as as the real deal vol 1 hence only four stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I like Steve Ray band is great must listen and very good CD must buy it on your own rating 4 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Great Album, Vols one and two pretty much cover it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
on time intact reasonably priced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

In Step
£6.77
The Real Deal: Greatest Hits Volume 1
£13.92
Texas Flood
£4.87
The Best Of
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)