Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
22
Tomorrow
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 May 2016
Didn't buy this LP at the time so was great to hear these tunes again after many moons. This psychedelic album missed the boat when it was released in 1968. Sgt Pepper and The Summer of Love had been and gone and we'd all moved on. Now it's part of a trippy collective past which includes overlooked gems like Bee Gees 1st and Family Entertainment. Slowly tracking these lost LSD influenced albums down is real fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
I had the original LP version of this (black and white sleeve) which I sold. This is a great replacement and the additional tracks are a great feature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
Eccentric but brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2015
Sunshine pop and Mod, mixed together = This amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2016
wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2005
A surprisingly fresh dose of late 1960s rock from the psychedelic slipstream, this. The titles and lyrics reveal a band wallowing in a "Sergeant Pepper"-like world of British nostalgia laced with something exotic. Songs of colonels and aunties sit alongside dreams, hallucinations and revolution. Musically though it doesn't travel back to the music hall. Instead, Steve Howe's inventive, crunchy, pre-Yes guitar colours the sound behind some fine melodies and Keith West's animated vocal delivery.
There's little wrong with the original album proper. "My White Bicycle" might be the only song Tomorrow are remembered for but it's by no means outstanding against the other songs. The band are better when they rock out as on "Real Life Permanent Dream" but there are no obvious weak links.
Of the bonus tracks, "Good Wizzard Meets Naughty Wizzard" would even have embarrassed Jackanory but the remainder are at worst passable. Perhaps the best of these is "On A Saturday", a well-crafted and executed pop song.
Tomorrow don't need assessing in a psychedelic context. This
stands up as fine music in its own right.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2010
Other reviewers have mentioned the mix. I am not sufficiently expert to comment on that but I did find this a bit of a let down and certainly the versions of "My White Bicycle" and "Revolution" are not quite as bright as I remember them nor as they seem to be on older compilation albums. The sub Barrat/Davies whimsey on some tracks is not my thing but others may like it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2013
Pretty crazy that sound too crazy and the time when it was recorded. Typically psychedelic sound for special days !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2016
This is a very underrated sixties band from England. It's a pity this music is totally forgotten. Listen to it. I quess it's one of the best bands of the sixties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2005
`My White Bicycle' is a good psyche opener. `Real Life Permanent Dream' is a well performed song; it is great but the sitar takes a back seat, or at very best is utilised as a mere musical co-pilot! `Shy Boy' is a very saccharine song, and (at least for me) not really Syd Barrett-esque, as it is too well-structured. Nice toon-town organ though.

The album's fifth song, `Revolution' Would Be another good - nay, Classic - song, with a pure psychedelic feel to it, though the composition (taken as a whole) is absolutely ruined by the atrocious recording quality - it sounds soooo numb, vague, unclear, hazy, muffled, blurred - get the picture. Such a shame - it has the potential to be one of the classic hippy-trippy songs of the era! Would otherwise be worth buying the album for this track alone!

`The Incredible Journey Of Timothy Chase' is a good track, with some pleasant effects, played and sung well, though never quite `getting it off the ground'. `Aunty Mary's Dress Shop' - is one of those enchanting, cheerful, quirky rock/pop songs of the age (think of much of the Kinks' almost Baroque material) which tells a tale of a clothes shop. Another reviewer wondered about the connection between bands / military - there was a lot of surplus gear from WW1 which was made available in the charity shops of the time, so it became cheap and popular with students, musicians, youth etc.

`Strawberry Fields' is one of the best covers I have ever heard, though not quite as good or acid-induced as the original.

`Three Jolly Little Dwarfs'. Sorry, but this is just too saccharine for comfort - NOT in the vein of Barrett at all. Well, the lyrics may be similar, but the style of presentation is way way off! `Now Your Time Has Come' is another poor track, definitely filler material - just doesn't sound right - not trippy, hippy or far out, just dull. Next is `Hallucinations' - so annoying how so many songs from this era have lysergic titles, but end up disappointingly dull and earthbound - this is one such track, unfortunately. `Claramont Lake' yet another disappointing track for its lack of anything remotely psychedelic, though otherwise ok. `Why' is ok - more filler. `Revolution' comes next, and I agree, it is one of the best songs on the album, and the closest we come to psychedelia for this little outing from Tomorrow.

The Aquarian Age tracks, make the album worth a purchase to my mind, being much better than the others - though 10k Words in a Cardboard Box is the inferior version (better one found on Twink's `Think Pink' album) - this is good though. `Good Wizard' is a much better track than the whimsy of the `3 Jolly Dwarves', not quite as embarrassing more trippy etc., though not perfect by any measure. More of the Aquarian material would definitely result in a more rounded, more psychedelic affair, but never mind. `Me' - perhaps this is the best tune on the entire album, that is rather sinister, and even threatening. `On A Saturday' is a superbly mellow track up there with the best of any hippy tune available, though the rest of the album is taken up with yet more filler-type, as seen earlier.

In short, the best tracks here, to my mind, are My White Bicycle, Revolution (mono), 10k Words in a Cardboard Box, Me, and On A Saturday - the rest I could gladly do without I'm afraid, considering the wide availability and quality of other alums of the era.

Also try Amazon for the following: Twink's Think Pink, or Silver Apples, or Timothy Leary's stuff (LSD or You Can Be...) Modern trippers may enjoy Porcupine Tree's Voyage 34, or KLF's Chill Out, or Trance Tripping, or The Beta Band's - The Three E.P.'s - All available here at Amazon!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)