Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2016
My first Wayne Shorter album, having previously come across him with Miles Davis. A great album indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
For anyone looking for their first exposure to the music of Wayne Shorter, they couldn't do better than this album. The memorable, clever, yet affecting compositions of Shorter, and the presence of the wonderful Freddie Hubbard make this 1964 Blue Note Set one of his very best. With Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Elvin Jones in the rhythm section, all angles are covered, and the album contains no weak moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2016
One of the best Wayne Shorter albums. Wonderful playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Wayne Shorter at the top of his game as are all the musicians on this set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
wonderful tunes and harmonies. these tunes and the associated improvisation still sound fresh today. I had the LP 40 years ago, and have played most of these songs on gigs many times, but it was still a pleasant wake-up call to hear the original once more. Just phenomenal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
an excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
What to say? it is a classic! Every jazz lover should have it. I am never tired to listen to this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
I totally agree with our friend from Limerick. This is one of the truly great albums, no weak track. Each of the musicians involved was a peerless master of his craft. Those still alive remain so. Every jazz fan should have this record and share its majesty with their friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Strange to think that Wayne Shorter, at 77, is now an elder statesman of jazz. I tend to think of him as much younger than Miles, Coltrane and the other movers & shakers of the 50s & 60s, but in fact he was only a smattering of years younger. Recorded when he was 31, he assembled a dream team for this landmark record which, like pianist Herbie Hancock`s Maiden Voyage from the same year, I`ve found to be a `grower`, uncovering its beauties and felicities with each listen.
Freddie Hubbard, Hancock and bassist Ron Carter are common to both albums, but we have the energetic, not to mention ubiquitous, Elvin Jones (1927-2004) in the drum seat on this date, and he propels each track along in his usual pugilistic way, bless the man.
Hubbard (1938-2010) was something of a stalwart in those days, and he plays like a dream on these six tracks - with one extra alternate take. So does Hancock (still with us at 71) whose impressionistic, lucent piano is a constant joy to hear whenever he takes a solo, which is pleasingly often, not to mention his sensitive, gently buoyant accompaniment throughout.
Shorter himself - not always a tenor whose playing is easy to `grasp`, with an elusive, hermetic style at times - plays quite beautifully here, a highlight being his lengthy solo on Infant Eyes, a lovely ballad by the sax player. Indeed all the tracks are Shorter originals. Sometimes compared to Coltrane, I`d say Shorter has a slightly more rounded tone, is more obviously lyrical, equally unsentimental, less frenetic on the faster numbers. But why compare...?
The more I listen to this very fine disc, the fewer `highlights` there are, as all the tracks are perfect in their ways. I said a dream team, and all five musicians do indeed play like a dream, Hubbard`s trumpet rarely sounding so apposite, Jones finding colours all over the place - he could occasionally be a touch intrusive, but his drumming is so inquiringly inventive that one is grateful for such intimate involvement with the themes he`s given to work with.
I was delighted to read that both Shorter and Hancock are Buddhists. It`s tempting to see their give-and-take as symptomatic of their chosen way, but I wouldn`t press the point.
One of those many Blue Notes from the era that only grows and glows brighter with every passing year.
Beautiful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
In recent years I have been drawn to jazz from the 1950s and 1960s. This release fits in nicely with my collection and has prompted me to search out other WS material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.39
£5.38
£5.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)