Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
43
4.9 out of 5 stars
Moanin'
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 27 April 2017
A classic that should be discovered by music lovers. Previously owned the same title on the prestigious and original Blue Note label. A Blue Note 75th aniversary edition. I expected top quality, but the sound had a lot of surface noise. Thinking it was only my copy I delivered it back to my dealer and got a new copy. Same problem. I gave up an ordered this cheap DOL version on Amazon and it sounds and look stunning. I'll stick to this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Bought it for my music crazy grandson, Josh, who loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Knew it from the past. Not disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
aint moanin'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 January 2009
Every year I look to extend what I listen to within the world of jazz and much to my shame I have overlooked this wonderful album for too long. But now I'm saved, what a fabulous album, this is truly an essential cd for any music lover, and don't make the same mistake as I made, buy it now rather than wait.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 November 2009
Recorded in 1958 by jazz drummer Art Blakey and his Jazz Messengers, this has to be one of the greatest albums ever recorded. From the 9 minute opener Moanin', through the stupendous Drum Thunder Suite to the original album closer Come Rain Or shine, this is a shining example of how jazz should be done.

With Blakey setting the beat with his complex drumming, Lee Morgan blowing a clear and catchy trumpet, and the rest of the group working in harmony, this is a set of great tunes. An odd album in that when you put it on you suddenly find yourself totally drawn into the complex rhythms and before you know it the album is over and you're putting it back on again. Highly addictive, you have been warned! The standout has to be the stupendous Drum Thunder Suite - It's amazing to think that there's only one man pounding the drums, it sounds like 5 or 6 at times!

This Rudy Van Gelder edition is a masterpiece in its own right. The original album has been remastered and remixed. The sound is excellent, with all the instruments coming through clearly. There are two bonus tracks, some studio chatter leading into the opening track, and an alternative take of the masterful Moanin'. Both add to the album.

A five star release of a five star album. Recommended for any lovers of freeform jazz, such as Lee Morgan, Thelonious Monk, Miles Davis and Herbie Hancock. If you like this also check outthe other RVG releases including Like Someone In Love, Night In Tunisia, Free For All and Indestructible.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
As the modern music scene fades increasingly into mediocrity I find I search more for great music from the past. The availability of jazz such as this restores my faith in music.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
Recorded for Blue Note in October 1958. The quintet comprises of Lee Morgan (trumpet) Benny Golson (tenor), who contributes with many compositions; Bobby Timmons (piano) Jymie Merritt (bass) and Art Blakely (drums) the leader of the Jazz Messengers. The opening track Moanin', a Bobby Timmons composition, is dynamic and powerfully lead in by Blakely after some brief dialogue. It has some highly credible work all round, Timmons especially - the album incidentally closes with an alternate take of the groovy mover. The second track is the poppy number written by Benny Golson, Are You Real? Along Came Betty follows - another Golson composition - who also wrote the next two tracks: The Drum Thunder Suite (a piece with three themes), and Blues March. Highlights include the Drum Thunder Suite, Moanin', and a fine rendition of Come Rain or Come Shine. If you like Blakely and his masterful drumming, then you should really enjoy this ensemble. All round, an incredible funky hard-bop album; one not to miss.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
Moanin'

This album is funky. It wears it's influences on it's sleeve. The playing is rooted in blues and gospel. And what playing. This early Jazz Messengers line up featured the feisty trumpet playing of Lee Morgan and marvellously expressive tenor saxophony by Benny Golson driven relentlessly by high priest of hard bop Art Blakey. Plenty of great tunes, my favourites are pianist Bobby Timmons' title track and the band's sensitive reading of "Come rain or come shine" which closes the album.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2001
An amazingly inventive album, and the one that introduced me to bop. The stunning horn interplay on tracks 1/2 is particularly memorable. Some tracks, particularly Are you Real? may seem a bit cheesy but perservere and you will grow to love this album. An iconic piece, truly good, fun Jazz. A great record in my opinion, you should also try the colaboration with Thelonious Monk if you enjoy this. Near essential if you want to sample a range of bop sounds of yesteryear.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Somethin' Else
£6.99
Mingus Ah Um
£3.99
Time Out
£5.55
Blue Train
£4.72

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)