Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2011
I purchased this recording after hearing the Cantus Arcticus on radio; I was immediately captivated by it.
This composer has captured an element in music and birdsong, which is quite unique. It offers a period of time removed from everyday music, that transports one into a wonderful realm of relaxing contemplation and spacial thought with a quality that evokes the beauty of Arcticus, and the inspired addition of the birdsong.
A truly unique and fascinating piece of music for those who wish to explore deeper into it.
The addition of the concerto and symphony are a pleasant bonus.
I love it all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Heard this early one morning on Radio 3 when we were out on our narrowboat. Suddenly found I was crying as it was so moving. Not everyone's cup of tea, but it certainly struck a chord with us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Remarkable music by an intriguing composer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
Bought this on the basis of having liked most of what I'd heard on a sampler of his work and it's like sampler it's very good in places. At the typical Naxos bargin price well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
As with others the Cantus Articus was the work that got me interested in Rautavaara's music - it is magical and etherial
The Piano Concerto ok but pehaps lacks impact Finally there's the 3rd symphony, which I again liked
The CD gets 4 stars because of the Cantus dwlivered at such a low price and because there is no better introduction to this composer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
I already own this recording. This one was purchased a a present for a friend, who also loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
If you find standing up to your knees in water on a cold mud flat a profound experience, this concerto is bound to help you relive the moment. Beautifully arranged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I very much like the Cantus Arcticus, which is so evocative, but admit the rest is too 'modern' for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2008
The sounds of the birds as a backdrop to the music is very evocative. But, I doubt whether this is great music.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)