Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
135
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2013
Not actually his official debut album but this is the Eminem we all know and love. Along came a white rapper from Detroit and knocked the rap game on it's head. This album is legendary. Personally his 3rd best album, behind The Eminem Show and MMLP but doesn't really deserve to be runner up to anything as it's that good but Eminem is musical genius. No one will ever touch this guy in the rap game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2003
eminems first album was no.1 all over the world and i can see why, his great lyrics and sick humor are a guranteed success.
my name is,dont give a..,guilty concience, the list goes on.any who calls themselves an eminem fan needs this album, you wont be dissapointed,heaven on a disc. 50 cent,2-pac have nothing on marshall mathers 3rd
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2006
What can I say to give this album it's fair dues? The Slim Shady LP is probably one of the greatest albums I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. This was back in the day when Eminem was real, raw, conflicted. The album is dark even at it's most light-hearted points (see guilty conscience). If you have become bored to distraction with commercial hip-hop these days, with all the bling-bling etc. or with eminem himself, check this album out before you jump out the window.

On this album Eminem explores topics such as drugs, poverty, love, hate, hopes, dreams.........the album is just amazing and the man's flow is unreal.

The best song on here is "Rock Bottom". The sorrow, despair and frustration is so strong it's scary. I think it's eminem's truest song and best.

Eminem, you may have lost your way but back in '99 you were on point like no other. I tip my hat to you sir.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album is amazing due to two thinks.The first
is Slim himself.He is able to create a whole story in every song.Sometimes funny,Sometimes
poignant- but at all times excellently written.
Eminem is by no means the best rapper vocally,
but when it comes to wordplay and rhyming it
seems there is none better.The second aspect that
makes this album so good has to be Dre , who yet
again has discovered a talent and has masterfully
produced a top notch album.
This is a lot better than Marshall mathers LP,and
is surely in the top 10 or 20 Rap albums of all
time...TOM,21
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2009
I picked up this disc the other day for what must be the 1000th time & STILL found something new in it! If CD's wore out, then this one should have. Long ago. Fortunately it hasn't & its contents have, as yet, failed to fade with the passage of time.

Although there are some tracks that lack power (e.g. If I Had &Role Model), most of the other tracks have amazing lyrics & such economy of language that you'll be discovering the meaning behind a word or phrase for years to come.
For instance, a friend pointed out to me that ''97 Bonnie & Clyde' was the 2nd part of Kim off The Marshall Mathers LP & suddenly 2 songs which seemed completely different (one subtle, one brutal) made sense as one piece...

There is also tracks such as Rock Bottom (about being down in the dumps), As The World Turns (a surreal day-in-the-life of Eminem) & Bad Meets Evil (Eminem as a Wild-West villain), which are the type of thing that other artists would *dream* of having on their first album. It's like watching Bruce Lee in action - all your frustrated rage finds its voice & its expression in the words &, paradoxically, you feel chilled out by something that should stress you out!

Anyways, I suppose what I'm saying is that this record hasn't aged. I look at 'OK Computer' & 'Blur'-Blur (from the same time) & they don't really compare; this record is densely & fully packed with Eminem at his brightest & sharpest before he went ad nauseam on 'The Marshall Mathers LP'.
Although fame didn't ruin Eminem, it certainly did distort his playful wit & it's a truly excellent thing that this CD is there (like Definitely Maybe or Experience) to remind us all of what good music REALLY is - raw, passionate (in the true sense) & powerful, in a way that the 'Jedward's' of this World couldn't possibly fathom...
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
So Eminem's debut album (don't count Infinite) and it's still my second favourite after The Marshall Mathers LP. There's classics such as,

My Name Is,
Guilty Conscience,
Brain Damage,
97 Bonnie & Clyde,
Role Model,
Rock Bottom,
Bad Meets Evil,
Just Don't Give A F**K,
Still Don't Give A F**K.

There's plenty of great beats from Dr Dre and the Bass Brothers, everything has a different feel to it's compared to the next three albums. More raw which works very well. It's a shame that Encore did a lot better than this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2000
This album is fantastic whether you get the explicit version or the no-explicit version. The lyrics are genius! v. funny Listen out especially for Guilty Concience, Role Model, 97 Bonnie&Clyde, As The World Turns, Just Don't Five ( a f***) Bad Meets Evil, in fact EVERY SINGLE SONG ON THE ALBUM! But my favourite has to be Brain Damage. Overall, Worth buying :o)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
This album is supposed to be absolutley excellent? I don't think so...

Most of the tracks in the album are good, especially Brain Damage which in my opinion is the best but people seriously over-rate this album. Some of the songs can get a bit boring. It's better than Encore & Relapse but that's it. The Marshall Mathers LP, The Eminem Show beat this album. I'd say Recovery is about the same level.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2005
I can still remember the first time i heard eminem way back in 1998, when a friend asked if i had heard of eminem and of course i had heard the single My Name Is but not the rest of the album so he lent it to me and the next day i went out and bought it i liked every song on the album and to this day i can still listen to the whole album without skipping any tracks. Most people will say Eminem's best album is The Marshall Mathers LP however this is too commercial.
My Best Tracks Are:
1 Role Model (10/10)
2 Brain Damage (10/10)
3 Just Don't Give A ....(10/10)
4 As The World Turns (10/10)
5 Still Don't Give A ....(10/10
6 Guilty Concience (9/10)
7 Cum On Everybody (9/10)
8 Hi My Name Is (9/10)
9 Under The Influence (8/10)
10 My Fault (8/10)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 1999
WHAT A WASTE OF TIME...! Don't bother with this, buy Eminem's REAL stuff. This might be more polite, but it doesn't really work. If your mummy and daddy won't let you have a the real version...they don't love you
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)