Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 29 January 2012
In or around the early seventies,i remember going to Croydon Fairfield hallsand hearing this album played in its entirety,it was magical,the sound was brilliant and the smell of Marijuana was glorious.
This has always been a pivital album of the prog rock set,it was a time of exploration in music that was to be the template of rock to come.
Manfred had a way of interpretating Dylan songs,and this contains his finest"Father of day,father of night"nearly ten minutes of majestic,ecstatic guitar solos.
There are the silly moments though"Pluto the dog" for example could have been left off,but the epic title track "Solar fire" is still magnificent.
This is the album taht shows that Manfred had moved from the timeless pop music he had made in the sixties into the more progressive seventies,even John Peel(RIP) Tommy Vance(RIP) and Nicky Horne played great swaithes of this on the radio.
Great album!!!
Getting back to that concert,we caught the 119 bus back to Bromley,"Made my way upstairs and had a smoke(hurrah!) and somebody spoke...and i went into a dream" as someone once said,i'm in that dream now!!!

COLIN PATTENDEN.....BASS GUITAR
CHRIS SLADE.....VIBES,DRUMS
MANFRED MANN.....ORGAN,SYNTHESIZERS,VOCALS
MICK ROGERS.....VOCALS GUITAR
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2012
SOLAR FIRE (1973) is an interesting concept album inspired by keyboards virtuoso Manfred Mann's love of classical music, with inspiration drawn from composer Gustav Holst's "The Planets" suite. This influential prog-rock album could be argued to be the band's first to achieve 'classic' status (although sales at the time didn't reflect this).

After wearing my vinyl copy into the ground a number of years ago, I decided to give it a decent funeral after buying the CD. Although I always set aside enough time to listen to the whole album in one go, my favourite three tracks are Bob Dylan's "Father of Day, Father of Night", also "In The Beginning, Darkness" along with the title track "Solar Fire". The 'barking' playfulness of "Pluto The Dog" feels like a light-hearted interlude between the heavier stuff - with this track IMHO being the weakest on the album, I was slightly tempted to reduce my star rating to four, but with such a minor blip I didn't have the heart or the inclination to do so.

The overall highlight of the album for me personally would have to be Mick Rogers' beautifully emotive guitar solo on "Father of Day, Father of Night" (a cropped single version of the song is also included amongst the bonus tracks). The other very welcome (and fitting) bonus track is "Joybringer" which is a dazzling reworking of Holst's "Jupiter". Written by Mick Rogers, the track was only ever released as a single in Britain & was a top ten hit in the early 70's (and I recall it echoing around my local youth club back in '73).... Ah, great memories!...great album!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2016
Can't believe the album is 43 years old.It has been a very very long time since i heard the album, although it's not mine on an individual basis as i decided to buy the album for one of my friends as i wanted to buy a huge cd/dvd cabinet and i have very little experience in building cabinets and putting them together so as a thank you, i decided to buy Solar Fire and gee what a great album it is too, and one of their finest songs the opening
"Father Of Day, Father Of Night" and what a gem of a track, it's worth it for that alone and to my surprise in the package is a bar code where you can download a short version of the opening track and an extra song to go with it, an all time classic from the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2014
Vynikající album, opravdu velmi zdařilé dílko. Na tuto skupinu jsem poprvé narazil v 80. letech kdy jsem zakoupil tehdy na západě dvě LP desky a musím uznat, že vážně stojí za zmínku. I když nedosahuje kvality jako Nightingales And Bombers jde o velmi precizní dílko. Ze strany vydavatele mě mrzí, že nevyšlo na SACD a postrádám i retrospektivní DVD na Blu-Ray.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2014
Remastered cd is great. I bought this cd early this month. Very disappointed because it's 1973 cd NOT remastered and No extra tracks as advertised. I want the correct cd but it's 3rd party selling NOT Amazon. So I need to return it which is not convenient but I have to. Very upset with this.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
no i did not like the alban i did not have joybringer on it.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2015
A nostalgia trip - worth a meander to recapture my teenage years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2016
No comments
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2002
Manfred Mann formed The Earth Band in 1972, but their greatest albums were made between 1973 and 1976 (Solar Fire, The Good Earth, Nightingales & Bombers and The Roaring Silence).
In Solar Fire we have the chance to know Manfred Mann at his best in all his faces:
- The Composer (Saturn, Lord of The Ring / Mercury, The Winged Messenger);
- The Arranger (Father of Day, Father Of Night, a Bob Dylan's song);
- The Musician (he plays superbly synthesizer and keyboards);
- The Producer (a fantastic sound).
This record established The Manfred Mann's Earth Band as one of the most interesting british bands in the middle seventies.
And if the two songs I've already refered are the best of this album, you can hardly find a bad song.
At this time Manfred Mann was accompained by Mick Rogers (vocals & guitar), Collin Pattenden (bass) and Chris Slade (drums).
Manfred Mann composed alone or collectively a great part of the record and there are only two exceptions: Father of Day, Father of Night, by Bob Dylan and Solar Fire (the title song) by Rogers & Slade.
With this album began The Manfred Mann's Earth Band glorious days and to everyone who never heard them this is the best way to discover a great band.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

SOLAR FIRE
£15.34
THE ROARING SILENCE
£14.80
WATCH
£13.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)