Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
77
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2005
If you are a Matt Monro fan and you have little of his music on CD (or vinyl) then this really is a must. The value is tremendous - 3 CDs and over 50 songs.
The only slight downside is the paucity of meaningful sleeve notes. However, in the scheme of things a small price to pay!
Seriously recommended.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
cheap as chips but in great condition these people really do sell quality second hand cd's not a mark on them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Ahhh love a bit of Matt!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
bought for wife box set three cds alot of songs i did not know some i do but the voice is pure silk very good buy for the money overall great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
His voice is among the best of the best, in fact, MATT MONRO IS UNRIVALED. If you are or have been in love, wish to be in love, or loved and lost, there is something meaningful for you in this collection of 54 songs. Matt's voice evokes emotion and is meant to be felt as well as heard, it is warm, passionate and slightly haunting, and he seems to be singing, "to you alone." He sings from his heart, his delivery is distinctive, voice lush, the warmth of his emotive voice touches my heart and it's sure to touch yours too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
When i was young sunday afternoons were spent, it seems on reflection ,listening to the radio and programmes like the navy lark, forces favourites, ed stewpot stewart and round the horne. Cetain songs from that time take me back in an instant. Because i was still only 8 or 9 i dont always remember the artist but the song is there in an second. It was only a couple of years ago that i began to look back and find out who sang those great ballards. i found out it wasnt so much sinatra or Nat king cole that made that lasting impression it was Matt Monro. Forget all the sing bus conductor nonsense this guy had a huge talent and should have been a world wide star. (Robbie williams are you listening).Songs like "on days like these" and "from russia with love" are truly wonderful. Cover versions are made his own, just listen to "michelle" and when it comes to singing a sinatraesque ballard, his phrasing manages to steer it away from any comparison and into his own fantastic style. Buy this and enjoy timeless singing that deserves to be heard by a whole new audience.Its a buy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2005
I bought this collection because of one song in the collection the beautiful "Precious Moments" the theme from The Sea Wolves ,but what value I have had ,listening to the whole collection which has several of his classics.Matt Monro had a style which was unique and it is a pity he is no longer with us,but his legacy is his splendid voice,this collection is suitable for everyone buy it you,ll love it
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2005
Matt Monro was England's gift to the world of pop singing, and is one of my very favorite singers, and the one I listen to the most. His smooth, slightly smoky sound, his amazing breath control, perfect enunciation, and classic interpretations with no vocal gimmicks, make him a master of the ballad, and an incomparable singer of love songs.
This 3 Disc collection spans the years 1960-1980, with every number a gem, except for "And You Smiled" on Disc # 2 from 1973, which is the only song of the 44 presented that sounds a little dated.
Some of the best songs throughout the years have been written for film, and Matt sings many of the best, like "From Russia with Love" which he sang in the 1963 James Bond film, the gorgeous "Speak Softly Love", from Nino Rota's score for "Godfather I", and one I adore, Michel Legrand's "I Will Wait for You", from "The Umbrellas of Cherbourg".
The big band arrangement of Irving Berlin's "Let's Face the Music and Dance" is fabulous, and will make you want to put on your Fred and Ginger shoes, and his phrasing in "Autumn Leaves" is simply astounding.
There are also many songs from Broadway shows, like "Somewhere" from "West Side Story", "Hello Young Lovers" from "King and I" and "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face" from "My Fair Lady".
Other highlights for me are Jimmy Webb's "Didn't We", and a song that is not sung enough by contemporary singers, "Love is a Many Splendored Thing"; a real treat, sung in heavily accented Spanish, is a marvelous rendition of Jaques Brel's "If You Go Away" ("No Me Dejes"). Matt was very popular in South America, and listening to this track, one can understand why.
Matt had a hard early life, growing up in the East End of London, and even did a stint as a truck driver, until George Martin (who produced The Beatles) heard him and was instrumental in putting him on the road to fame, with songs like "Portrait of My Love" which was a Top 10 hit in the U.K. in 1960.
Matt's health was compromised by his drinking habit, and unfortunately he passed on of liver cancer in 1985 at the age of 54; fortunately his recordings live on, to be heard for all time by those who appreciate the finest in singing.
The fold out inserts only have a song list, and no acknowledgements are made for the arrangements, but I would assume most of them were done by Johnnie Spence; the sound is good and total playing time is: Disc # 1, 51'52. Disc # 2, 51'41, and Disc # 3, 59'37.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Downloaded this album to my kindle so i can listen while reading. Bliss. SUCH good value. Love it, it's so relaxing and on a long journey.....perfect to while away the hours. Definitely recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I bought this boxed set as i did not have anything by Matt Monro,and i'm glad i did. This is a great 3CD Box set by one of our greatest singers who sadly is no longer with us. There are many terrific songs on the CDs that i did not know he had recorded. This Box Set is well worth buying and i would recommend this to anyone thinking of getting it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)